We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and inviting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez les Habitants

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chez les Habitants to your Saves list
Chez les Habitants
Tiharien About 5km Road Taouz | Ahmed amraoui Erg chebbi, Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The guest house was exactly what we needed after a full days worth of travel to get to Merzouga. Ahmed met us at the train station and took us to the guest house to be greeted by his wonderful family and generous much needed meal. The facilities were fantastic and had everything we could possibly want, including internet access. Breakfasts in the morning were also fantastic. It also gave my friends and I to meet other fellow travelers and to hear their stories. If you're going to be in Merzouga, don't pass up the opportunity to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
27
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castelldefels, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I am grateful for being able to experience the beauty of the Merzouga and the desert during my trip. However as an experienced traveler I know, It would not be the same if I would choose different place and people. Ahmed and his family made this staying so much more memorable and made me feel like a part of their family. The place he created with so much passion, welcomes travelers with the genuine hospitality. I was traveling alone and was amazed how welcoming the whole family was. You know and feel that It's not just a business, it's sharing their life and culture. Rooms are cozy, you have all you need - comfortable bed, big shower with hot water, toilet seat ( not so common in other places ;), and space to hang out. My favorite spots were tents outside, very cozy and great place to hang out and have night long conversations! I used to have a breakfast there and The food ...ohhh!!! its home made, delicious and for sure you will never be hungry :) every day we were eating together with his family and it was a soul feeding experience too! Location is spectacular , you can see Erg Chebbi sand dunes from there and go for a walk there to just lay down on the sand in the night and see magnificent sky.
Whenever you are traveling alone or with the group, Ahmed will organize you the trip of your dreams to the dunes according to your own wish list and will make sure the stay memorable. I was more into meditation and quiet experience then 4x4 adventures on the desert but you can get whatever you came there for. Ahmed is a fantastic guide and flexible to your needs. If you want to experience this area, you must stay in this place. You will never regret and have a time of your life! Thank you one more time for having me, I can not wait to be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

It was great experience at Chez les Habitants with Ahmed Amraoui family. I stayed 3 nights with them. The Shower room is large and comfortable. The clean room and sahara tent room are plenty. Their Berber Tajine and Couscuos, Pizza, Breakfast and mint tea were so delicious. Their hospitality is really great!!!

Ahmed Amraoui(He is wearing blue turban and blue clothing.)is very great guy. His father Hassan has clear eyes. His mother Fatima is understanding mom. His grand father is very strong man. His sisters and brothers are very kindly. Anyway, Thank you so much the great experience in Merzouga.

You must book on your schedule with this great B&B and their desert tour!!! :)))

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The people are nice, warm and welcoming. The food is amazing, probably the best breakfast and the best tajin I had in Morocco! Ahmed and his family are wonderfull hosts who make you feel comfortable and at home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Chez les Habitants was a lovely home after trekking through the desert with Ahmed. Washing away the sand in the clean showers felt great, and afterwards we sat down in a tent filled with cushions to eat some lovely Berber pizza and look at some photos we had made. The tent even had WiFi so some of us could check the results of their examinations.

When Ahmed saw we had a flat tire before leaving, he got in the car with us to bring us to a mechanic who could fix it up for us. When he noticed afterwards that we still had a bit of time left, he even took us to a neighbouring village to watch the beautiful music played by descendants of nomads from Mali. He truly went out of his way to make the stay as pleasurable as possible for us, and his family did the same.

We have already planned to return to Ahmed some day.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Chez les Habitants is a special place where you can explore the desert and Amazihr village life in a true way. Also, it is a place where you can explore nature at it highest. For me, the Amraoui family offers me my second home: after three visits I still can't wait to go back. Ahmed Amraoui is a passionated person and guide, eager to share is knowledge and experience with every traveller. The desert is his home and he knows a lot about the history and treasures of his environment.

In the guest house, his wonderful family welcomes you like you are a member of their own and makes your stay a once in a lifetime experience. If you want to have a special experience in Merzouga's Erg Chebbi desert, don't hasitade and contact Ahmed Amraoui!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunnik, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Being for the second time with Ahmed and his family, we felt like part of the family. Walking through the desert, eating lovely berber pizza at Youssef and everywhere you come, you feel very welcome!
Thank you Ahmed, Fatima, Hassan, Aisha and Zahra! See you next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merzouga hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#4 of 21 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
3.0 mi away
Auberge Camping Sahara
Auberge Camping Sahara
#1 of 5 in Hassilabied
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#18 of 21 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kasbah Le Touareg
Kasbah Le Touareg
#14 of 21 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
2.6 mi away
Riad Nezha
Riad Nezha
#3 of 21 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#12 of 21 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez les Habitants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez les Habitants

Address: Tiharien About 5km Road Taouz | Ahmed amraoui Erg chebbi, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chez les Habitants ! I'm Ahmed Amraoui welcome you to our family home in Erg chebbi desert. We are a Berber family, born and raised in the desert of Southeastern Morocco. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest and show you the life of the region of Merzouga and the Erg Chebbi dunes, which are beginning of the Sahara desert. Staying with us means experiencing the true life of the people here. The guest house is located after 4 km out Merzouga centre in a small village called Tiharien . Our accommodation is comfortable without losing the feeling of being in a family's home. We offer 5 rooms can accommodate 10 persons, Equipped with Berber tent to relax, a terrasse,with a small garden,Two showers Two bathrooms , you can get a tattoo henna typical. For Free : Free Wi -Fi , free private parking for your car ! We speak Berber,Arabic,English,Spanish,French,A bit of Portuguese and Italian. To experience more, you can combine nights in the guest house with a trips into the Erg chebbi dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chez les Habitants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez les Habitants, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.