We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Berber Humanity.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez les Habitants

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chez les Habitants to your Saves list
Chez les Habitants
Tiharien About 5km Road Taouz | Ahmed amraoui Erg chebbi, Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Tokyo
1 review
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“It's Berber Humanity.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

It was great experience at Chez les Habitants with Ahmed Amraoui family. I stayed 3 nights with them. The Shower room is large and comfortable. The clean room and sahara tent room are plenty. Their Berber Tajine and Couscuos, Pizza, Breakfast and mint tea were so delicious. Their hospitality is really great!!!

Ahmed Amraoui(He is wearing blue turban and blue clothing.)is very great guy. His father Hassan has clear eyes. His mother Fatima is understanding mom. His grand father is very strong man. His sisters and brothers are very kindly. Anyway, Thank you so much the great experience in Merzouga.

You must book on your schedule with this great B&B and their desert tour!!! :)))

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
26
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The people are nice, warm and welcoming. The food is amazing, probably the best breakfast and the best tajin I had in Morocco! Ahmed and his family are wonderfull hosts who make you feel comfortable and at home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Chez les Habitants was a lovely home after trekking through the desert with Ahmed. Washing away the sand in the clean showers felt great, and afterwards we sat down in a tent filled with cushions to eat some lovely Berber pizza and look at some photos we had made. The tent even had WiFi so some of us could check the results of their examinations.

When Ahmed saw we had a flat tire before leaving, he got in the car with us to bring us to a mechanic who could fix it up for us. When he noticed afterwards that we still had a bit of time left, he even took us to a neighbouring village to watch the beautiful music played by descendants of nomads from Mali. He truly went out of his way to make the stay as pleasurable as possible for us, and his family did the same.

We have already planned to return to Ahmed some day.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Chez les Habitants is a special place where you can explore the desert and Amazihr village life in a true way. Also, it is a place where you can explore nature at it highest. For me, the Amraoui family offers me my second home: after three visits I still can't wait to go back. Ahmed Amraoui is a passionated person and guide, eager to share is knowledge and experience with every traveller. The desert is his home and he knows a lot about the history and treasures of his environment.

In the guest house, his wonderful family welcomes you like you are a member of their own and makes your stay a once in a lifetime experience. If you want to have a special experience in Merzouga's Erg Chebbi desert, don't hasitade and contact Ahmed Amraoui!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunnik, Utrecht, Netherlands
2 reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Being for the second time with Ahmed and his family, we felt like part of the family. Walking through the desert, eating lovely berber pizza at Youssef and everywhere you come, you feel very welcome!
Thank you Ahmed, Fatima, Hassan, Aisha and Zahra! See you next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My experience with Ahmed, his family, and Chez les Habitants was completely unique and the highlight of my stay in Morocco. I left Merzouga feeling that I had truly experienced Merzouga and desert life. For anyone seeking a hand-on, native cultural experience, this is it! Yes, I will come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

For starters it's not located in Merzouga but a smaller nearby village Tiharien which has, in my opinion, a more genuine feel to it. You don't see any tourists here. You get to know the family, the father who's always smiling, the mother who makes the best Berber pizza en his little brother Mohammed. After 24 hours in the desert you can take a great shower here and relax afterwards in a beautiful tent in the courtyard. I will definitely return Insha'Allah.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez les Habitants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez les Habitants

Address: Tiharien About 5km Road Taouz | Ahmed amraoui Erg chebbi, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chez les Habitants ! I'm Ahmed Amraoui welcome you to our family home in Erg chebbi desert. We are a Berber family, born and raised in the desert of Southeastern Morocco. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest and show you the life of the region of Merzouga and the Erg Chebbi dunes, which are beginning of the Sahara desert. Staying with us means experiencing the true life of the people here. The guest house is located after 4 km out Merzouga centre in a small village called Tiharien . Our accommodation is comfortable without losing the feeling of being in a family's home. We offer 6 rooms can accommodate 11 persons, Equipped with Berber tent to relax, a terrasse,with a small garden,Two showers Two bathrooms , you can get a tattoo henna typical. For Free : Free Wi -Fi , free private parking for your car ! We speak Berber,Arabic,English,Spanish,French,A bit of Portuguese and Italian. To experience more, you can combine nights in the guest house with a trips into the Erg chebbi dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chez les Habitants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez les Habitants, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.