We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez les Habitants

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chez les Habitants to your Saves list
Chez les Habitants
Tiharien About 5km Road Taouz | Ahmed amraoui Erg chebbi, Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Diest, Belgium
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My original plan was to stay only a few days at chez les habitantes and do a quick trip to the dunes. but I loved everything an ended up staying for almost a week! Ahmed and his family are great hosts, really making you feel like you're part of their family. The food was great, room was big and clean and you can use the kitchen at all times. Ahmed is a wonderful guide, with lots of knowledge and stories, and he wil show you real village life, away from all the busy and tourist packed cities. Enjoy the peace and tranquility and the millions stars you get to see at night, I know that i can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
26
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you are looking for an authentic Bedouin, but comfortable stay, go to Chez les Habitantes. I was here with my boyfriend and we enjoyed both the stay guest house and the tour in desert a lot. The guest house is newly renovated and Ahmed is a great tourist guide. I think with him you experience the real desert life!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our best stay experience filled with a difference, a warm family welcome , walk in the village with the local berbers, climbing the dunes to watch the sunset and Dinner under the stars with one of the best veg tangine and harira soup we had on the entire trip in morocco. The Guesthouse is well maintained with traditional moroccon feel.Thanks to the family to give us such a memorable day in desert.Simply superb.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Chez les habitantes was a great place to stay in desert of Marocco. I spent there with my son a few days and enjoyed of very friendly and nice atmosphere. We both highly recommend the guesthouse! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirleft, Morocco
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

last time we visited merzouga we met ahmed . really a very nice and open mind person, he show us soo many interesting things about the desert ,we learned from him a big history and cluture about the desert ...if anybody want to visit merzouga "chez les habitantes " is the deriction

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin, Poland
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We (me and my boyfriend) stayed in Merzouga for two nights and it was incredible time. I can´t wait to return! Dont bother looking at any of the other accommodation options in Mezouga. My boyfriend and I spent hours with our friends, learning about Moroccan history and Bedouin culture. We eating delicious home cooked meals, food was brilliant at all times! :) We met wonderful family (beatiful Aicha!!!) and we are confident that we can recommend the place!!!

Ann and Jacob

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Very professional, very dedicated, yet very relaxed experience. Ahmed has a wealth of local and historical knowledge and enough contacts to do or get whatever you want.

According to Ahmed, all camels in Morocco are named either Bob Marley or Jimi Hendrix, at least where tourists are concerned. Our Bob Marley was a bit fussy at first but fairly good-natured after we got underway. Note to future travelers--don't wear flip flops. There are a few places, including around the Oasis, where the continued presence of camels means the surrounding area is a veritable minefield of "Chocolate truffles." They're kinda like dried mud balls, so it's not actually smelly or gross, but if the idea of getting camel poo stuck underfoot is a turn-off, pack appropriate footear.

Also, you may yourself have to poop in the Sahara as there is no toilet in the desert just a giant sandbox.The experience is, however, oddly relaxing-- in the middle of the night, under the stars, in a hole in the sand you just dug. Bring a flashlight.

Otherwise, weather cooperating, Inshallah, camping out underneath the stars at the Oasis will be one of the coolest experiences of your life. As the man himself commented, "Why do tourists pay hundreds of dirhams to stay in 4 or 5 star Hotels when they can be enjoying this Billion-star experience?" The man's self-taught English is very good and he knows a smattering of spanish and a little german.

The Coca-Colas at the Oasis (run by a different company) are a bit steep at 15 d's, but the one you guzzle after the grueling (and dehydrating) climb atop the giant dune will be the best drink you've ever had.

After the trip back to the house and a quick nap Ahmed arranged transport to the local giant lake with flamingos. It was a bit disappointing that I couldn't sneak up on the local fauna and get a better look, but wild animals are wild animals. I declined the trip out to the local African musical village but I understand that's an option as well. These two trips were not part of the original package (although I had the pleasure of Ahmed's company and knowledge throughout) so be prepared to shell out 15 Euros for a trip to one or 25 Euros for both. My bus was four hours late and Ahmed hung out with me until it arrived, after figuring out that I had no phone and would be stuck in Merzouga with no place to sleep if the bus never came (it eventually did).

Chez les Habitantes is Ahmed's passion so booking a trip out to the Oasis or camping out in ancient ruins felt like not only fulfilling my dreams, but his as well.

Honest, generous, and a good cook.
Throw in very reasonable prices and a hot shower; what more could you ask more? (actually, i asked if he means to put in a jacuzzi but he declined, with a straight face, reasoning that it would spoil the experience)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez les Habitants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez les Habitants

Address: Tiharien About 5km Road Taouz | Ahmed amraoui Erg chebbi, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chez les Habitants ! I'm Ahmed Amraoui welcome you to our family home in Erg chebbi desert. We are a Berber family, born and raised in the desert of Southeastern Morocco. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest and show you the life of the region of Merzouga and the Erg Chebbi dunes, which are beginning of the Sahara desert. Staying with us means experiencing the true life of the people here. The guest house is located after 4 km out Merzouga centre in a small village called Tiharien . Our accommodation is comfortable without losing the feeling of being in a family's home. We offer 6 rooms can accommodate 11 persons, Equipped with Berber tent to relax, a terrasse,with a small garden,Two showers Two bathrooms , you can get a tattoo henna typical. For Free : Free Wi -Fi , free private parking for your car ! We speak Berber,Arabic,English,Spanish,French,A bit of Portuguese and Italian. To experience more, you can combine nights in the guest house with a trips into the Erg chebbi dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chez les Habitants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez les Habitants, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.