We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Bivouac Lahmada

Save Saved
You added Kasbah Bivouac Lahmada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kasbah Bivouac Lahmada
Douar lahmada,Erg chebbi, Merzouga, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 57 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Mainz, Germany
1 review
“Desert Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Nice people, good service! And musical entertainment, with african drumming lessons!

Awesome swimming pool, sand boarding possibility in the dune close to the hotel !
Would recommend the camel trek with sleeping in the desert under the stars! So bright, must see.
Dinner and breakfast is ok, Sanatary installations are ok. Service is always good, dont worry, if you need something, they will love to help!
Only 2 days enough due to the monotony of desert life, in my humble opinion.
Hard to get there , not directly in Merzouga, off the road - Just contact them to pick you up in Rissani. From Rissani with a old car it would take 30 minutes, with good Jeep maybe only 20 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
12
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We highly recommend Lahmada. We spent two nights in the desert on a camel trek. The first day was a group of about 8. We left Merzouga at 6pm for a beautiful sunset camel ride to Erg Chebbi. Our guide was really friendly, approachable and entertaining. The second night was more of an intimate trip to the black desert, just the three of us plus the guide. Overall it was a magical experience seeing the beautiful sand dunes, experiencing the kindness of the guide and the people who put us up for the second night. The people at Lahmada are incredibly generous and we intimidate sensed a feeling of warmth and knew we could trust them.

We do have a few suggestions on ways to make the experience more enjoyable and advice we would give travellers. It's good to know that food is generally served late, for us 9-10pm is quite late after a day trekking in the sun. We advice taking nuts and dried fruit. Food is good however you did feel they were cost cutting as the first meal mainly consisted of potatoes and the second mainly couscous. Generally you need to be proactive and ask questions to the guide, for example the first night we were cold as we went to bed before everyone else and didn't know and hence ask our guide for blankets. We didn't know if we needed to use the toilet that you needed to find a spot outside in the desert. We had questions about how 10 people who need to use the toilet manage this without making the place smell and covered in toilet paper. We recommend bringing wet wipes and expect no showers until you return to Merouga. It's not a problem but just be prepared. Be cautious when buying fossilized rocks from Lahamada. The person we met there although really lovely he sold us 'fossilized volcanic rock' from the black desert which on second viewing isn't the case as two days later my necklace crumbled and was clearly not black volcanic rock. Having said that we have no regrets, the experience was very special and we're convinced that anyone who decides to go with Lahmada will have a memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Love love love this place! It is more remote than I thought it would be, and much less touristy, which was great to get out of the hustle and bustle of the Fes medina! There is not much to do during the day other than relax, swim in the pool, hike to the dunes about 15 minutes walk away, and sit on the terrace to take in the blue sky and sand. The camel trek into the dunes to go camping is UNBELIEVABLE. Quiet and beautiful. The food is so authentic and delicious too! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Excellent night in Sahara with better than expected tent room including hot water shower and toilet. Far from perfect but so much better than a similar experience in Jordan that we were very pleased. Welcoming Berber music was followed by excellent food.
Only negative was the flies which were oppressive the next morning. Couldn't finish breakfast quickly enough to get away from them. Suggest owners do a better job of removing trash and litter.

Room Tip: All rooms the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Very interesting experience. First time in the Sahara. Go with a group and spend a night in the bivac. Very welcoming and nice people. You can also go for a hike in the dunes. Just book the hotel and some extra tours. Perfect also for the winter holidays

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

we had great time in kasbah bivouac! people there are very kind and helpful. the rooms were clean and excellent food. we made a trip to the desert, where we spent the night, under the stars. amazing experience, recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a great place to get away of the typical busy city life... here you will be alone (almost) in the desert... I have to say, I went there in "low season" so I WAS almost alone which was great :)

The hotel has the look and feel of a kasbah in the desert (but with some amenities) but do not forget you ARE in the desert so if you are thinking about A/C, wi-fi, etc do yourself a favor and just go to a hotel near the city (Rissani is the closest one).

Having said that, just as depeche mode would say "enjoy de silence" and if the kasbah is not silent enough just wait until you take the dromedary into the desert and stay in the tents (food courtesy of the great and very helpful staff) and wake up to the sunrise on a dune... i think that will be silent enough ;)

As I said the staff are very friendly and helpful and lots of fun to talk to :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kasbah Bivouac Lahmada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Bivouac Lahmada

Address: Douar lahmada,Erg chebbi, Merzouga, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
kasbah bivouac lahmada is a charming traditional kasbah located between the arms of the sand dunes erg-echebbi, double rooms with private bathroom, nice panoramic views and facilities .camel trek ,excursion 4*4.kasbah bivouac lahmada had a good location in most attractif area in morocco,located between the golden sand dunes ,the green oasis and the black desert .beautiful panoramic view ;sunset,sunrise,oasis of palm tree and high dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kasbah Bivouac Lahmada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Bivouac Lahmada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.