We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in the Sahara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aicha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Aicha to your Saves list
Riad Aicha
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hassi Labied, Merzouga, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 62 Merzouga B&B and Inns
Stuart, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best stay in the Sahara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a wonderful experience staying in this family owned riad. The whole family is warm and welcoming, making you feel right at home the moment you walk in the door. We enjoyed delicious home cooked meals, beautiful, clean rooms and friendly, welcoming hosts. The riad also has a beautiful rooftop terrace where you can enjoy the starts and a breathtaking view of the dunes.The family provides the PERFECT place to spend your time in the desert!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mouhou s, Propriétaire at Riad Aicha, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hello ,
Thanks a lot for your review and we hope all is fine for you .
Also we hope to see you and your friend with us here in the desert when it is posible.
Best regards .
Riad aicha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
18
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our best stay experience filled with a difference, a warm family welcome , walk in the village with the local berbers, climbing the dunes to watch the sunset and Dinner under the stars with one of the best veg tangine and harari soup we had on the entire trip in morocco, made by the owner himself in a traditional berber way. Riad is well maintained with traditional moroccon feel.Thanks to the family to give us such a memorable day in desert.Simply superb.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great experience staying here in the family house..All the people in the riad were very helpful and the younger brother of the owner Yousef gave a very nice trip of the village and the merzouga dunes for the sunset as a welcome gesture. The rooms are good and maintain their traditional looks...For the price we paid its worth a stay to experience a wonderful traditional stay and you have beautiful view of the sand dunes..
The elder brother..the owner cooked excellent dinner for us. Its one of the best vegetarian tanjines we had here..and cooked in proper berber traditional way.

Thanks...again...
Haresh Bhatia from Dubai

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mouhou s, Propriétaire at Riad Aicha, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
thank u very much for your coming to riad aicha,we hope next time to stay with us longer.

riad aicha group waiting for you next time .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our stay at Riad Aicha was the absolute highlight of our two week trip around Morocco. From the moment we arrived to when we left, we felt totally at home and relaxed. Said (& family) couldn't do enough for us and always made us feel like part of the family! We ate at the Riad on the first night and it was simply superb - home cooking at its very best! Top-class breakfast too! Thanks, Siad, for organising a camel ride and night in the dessert - it was magical & unforgettable. We really do hope to be back again sometime!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Riad Aicha, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Hello ,
Thanks for your review about our Riad and we hope to see you once again with us .
Best regards .
Riad Aicha Merzouga Maroc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece,athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We arrived at casablanca airport on 4 March 2012 and rented a mini car (i suggest to rent a car via internet is cheaper than directly from the airport offices). We drove to Meknes and then to Fes.We spent 2 nights there and then drove to Hassi Labied where the guys from Riad Aicha were waiting for us. They are very friendly and their family Riad is very beautiful.We travelled into the desert with our dromidas (some kind of camels which exist in morocco) and our guider Mombarak who is an amazing person. We spent 2 amazing nights in the desert. The sunrise and sunset are fantastic there, full of colors and privacy. Hasan, Yusef, Aziz and Momparak are fantastic guys. They played drums for us and we enjoyed the time there.Food was delicious and the sleep in the tents comfortable.we suggest you stay 2 or more nights in the desert to feel the vibe and go to meet the families who live there permanently.After the trip in the desert we took our car and we drove to ouarzazate and marrakesh.the whole trip was amazing, the road was fine, there were a lot of signs and drive within the speed limit.

thanks Riad Aicha...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEACHERFL, Public Relations Manager at Riad Aicha, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
We are so glad that you found your experience and stay at the Riad a memorable and quality experience. We hope that you give us the opportunity to share your desire of having more time in the desert. You are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Nice welcome with mint tea, very helpful stuff, extra lunch + Rissani tour.
dinner was one of the best we ate in Morocco
breakfast at sunny terrace overlooking the dunes
great camel ride with a funny Berber and overnight stay in the desert with beautiful sunset + sunrise,

We can just warmly recommend this Riad, it was just great :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

Said and his brothers made us feel like special guests in their home during our three day stay in Riad Aicha. The room was clean and comfortable with a lovely bathroom and hot water.

The situation is perfect for a camel trek out to the desert and the overnight stay that we had in the tented camp was one of the highlights of our trip to Morocco .

Our compliments must go to the chef of the family as the food we ate during our stay was some of the best we have had while travelling. Everything was made with fresh, local ingredients and had subtle spicing and good flavour.

Even in the camp I was made a delicious vegetarian tangine prepared with ingredients that we carried with us on our camels.

Great value for money and Moroccan hospitality at it's best - highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRAicha, Public Relations Manager at Riad Aicha, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Tina, We are so happy that you enjoyed all the aspects of our desert and village culture. It makes us very content to share our home in the desert with Hassan, as well as the rest of the family in the Village. Each part of your visit is an important experience of our lives, our food, our camels, and our music as a Berber. A night's sleep on the top of the dunes is something you must experience by doing. There is only one way to make that memory and we are glad you did it. Please Come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aicha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aicha

Address: Hassi Labied, Merzouga, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Aicha 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Aicha is located at the foot of the BIG Dune in the Sahara Desert, Merzouga, Morocco.The Riad offers several types of rooms in Moroccan decor each with their private bathroom. All bedrooms have their own controlled air conditioner inside their room.The riad is wireless and free to guests at any time. The breakfast,is served each morning and is included in the total room price. The Continental breakfast is made to order when you request it. Riad Aicha has a roof terrace which overlooks the dunes and a Berber-style lounge to relax in the evening. Meals can be eaten on the Roof terrace or inside in the dining lounge area along side the water fountain.Additional Moroccan Culture can be experienced by a Day Tour arranged at the Riad to the Sahara Dunes and Nomad Desert Camp. You can travel by Dromedary,or 4x4. This provides an additional opportunity to experience an adventurous play-day with Quads, Sand-boarding and Sand mashing. For those wanting to relax in the Desert, time can be spent with a campfire, Berber music with Drums, and an outstanding sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Aicha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aicha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.