We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kasbah Erg Chebbi - you may never leave :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Erg Chebbi

Save Saved
You added Kasbah Erg Chebbi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Erg chebbi, Merzouga 52202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Merzouga
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Kasbah Erg Chebbi - you may never leave :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

After some good accommodation experience in bigger towns of Morocco we stayed at the edge of the desert at the Kasbah Erg Chebbi run by two brothers - Hassan and Mohammed. The whole experience was just awesome - great food, cool kasbah and some of the most friendly people (staff) I have ever met. The night in the desert was also pretty amazing. We ended up staying longer than expected as we were having such a good time. And we would have stayed longer even if we didn't have to leave for our flight. All in all, a wholesome fantastic experience of Berber hospitality, desert beauty and great people. We hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    14
    4
    11
    3
See reviews for
8
31
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very pretty riad. We arrived on December 31 to celebrate new year`s eve. Fortunately we called the hotel to ask for directions while on the way. It is indicated by a sign on this long road on the desert (beware the sand, don't go off road!). Location is great! giant dunes right in front of you. We arrived at sunset so we could enjoy a tea on the dunes. Staff was kind. Our room was simple but OK, not much hot water, no heating. We had wonderful and abundant new year`s eve dinner! there were berber musicians and a local dj (berber music was appreciated). We had a last drink outside in a berber tent and a night walk in the dunes in front of the hotel (enough to enjoy the perfect silence). We had a nice breakfast at 11 (like most of the people). We were supposed to spend the second night in a tent well deep in the desert but unfortunately it was all cloudy, so no night sky and sunrise. We decided to skip that; the owner had no problem with that. Overall very good and cheap! we spent 30 euros each for everything!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed there for only one night and I loved it, The location is perfect, with a stunning view on the dunes. The staff was really helpful and attentive, they made me feel like a princess. My room felt very cold at the beginning as it was still winter time but I was given a lot of extra blankets and a heater so I could rest very well. And there was hot water too! I'm really glad I could stay there, hope to come back one day for longer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

It's hard to know where to start, so bad was Kasbah Erg Chebbi - staff attitude and service were poor and the staff used our car as a party vehicle, leaving their empty beer cans and cigarette packets strewn around it, having taken it for a drive in our absence.

Accommodation - We booked two rooms. The door of one was not lockable, the door of the other could only be closed by locking it. The wiring was poor, with no sockets being properly attached to the wall. (As there is no electricity most of the time, this is probably of little concern!) The "balconies" advertised were non-existent. There is no hot water at all.

When we arrived we were invited to eat. The absence of choice of food was not a problem but it was disappointing that, given that the hotel claims to have a bar, the only drink available was some tepid (and far from pleasant) rose wine.

Camel trek - We arranged a trek from 10am through to the following dawn. This too was a let down, comprising a couple of hours on camels, followed by us being left in a small tent alone for several hours (the promised "meal with a Berber family" did not happen), another hour on the camels and then "staying in a Berber camp". This turned out to be a reasonable meal, after which - at 7pm - we were left alone with none of the promised entertainment, unlike every other camp in the vicinity. So after wandering around having a look at what others were being treated to, we retired for a long night, unable to sleep because of the partying going on around us. We returned to the Kasbah early next morning for breakfast, but had to wait for ages. Only two staff were around (neither of them the manager Mohammed) - one ignored us, the other was sleeping in the entrance and pulled his blanket over his head and groaned when he heard us enter.
We happened to look in our car and found that there had clearly been something of a party going on in it while we were in the desert. Many empty beer cans were on the floor (they had told us they had no beer in the kasbah!), several empty cigarette packets were lying around, along with various other detritus and it appeared to have been used as a toilet. We challenged the now woken member of staff who said that the manager, Mohammed, had used the car to pick up other guests the short distance from Mergouza as their vehicle was "kaput". (This wasn't consistent with the drop in the fuel level overnight and the amount of rubbish that had been created.)
This might not have been so bad had they said to us straight away that they'd used the vehicle to pick someone up - but to be so dishonest as to hope that we wouldn't have noticed really reflects badly on the attitude of the staff towards their paying customers. To not think to clear away their rubbish must raise questions about other aspects of them too...


The location is lovely but this abysmal hotel was the real low point in our tour of Morocco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights and days there and the whole staff was very friendly and helpful. This place is the best place to stay away from cities and crowd and nearest to the amazing sand dunes and nature. Food was good but the vegetarian. That was ok but nothing more. Mohammed, the owner of this place is very helpful, organized us an airport transfer in Fez and taxi to Ouarzazate and recommended a riad in Marrakesh and pick up at Marrakesh bus startion for free! So it's definately worth to go there

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

this beautiful kasbah in the sahara is such a great place to relax, take in the gorgeous views of the sand dunes and get to know the locals. the nice young men who work here speak so many languages and are very helpful in organizing buses, trips to the oasis, or just a sunset camel adventure. I really loved the entertainment at night in the kasbah with local berber men who dance and play the drums and I also loved the decor in the kasbah, very colorful and authentic! I felt very safe staying at this hotel and was taken care of just like I was part of the family. It is located far from the village, but if you don't have a rental vehicle, it is no problem because they will take you into town if you need something like the ATM- they are so accommodating...i will be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv,, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was very happy about choosing this Kasbah from all points of view. We were coming with Supratours bus which turned out to be late for 2 hours, nevertheless driver from the hotel (Abraham - he was nice!) met us and brought to the hotel, where guys prepared dinner, tea and showed us the room. In the morning I realised how great the location is! just stepping out from the hotel you see real Sahara with golden dunes. During the day we walked by ourselves in the dunes and then enjoyed the swimming pool. For the evening Mohammed (the owner) organized on our request camel trek to Berber camp in the desert and we met sunset sitting on the dunes and watching the best sunset ever. Afterwards was tasty dinner and night on the terrace under the stars. In the morning Abraham brought us to the bus. The only things I regret about are that we planned only 2 nights there, I wish it was longer stay and 1st night we slept in the room, although guys offered the terrace - choose the terrace, it's super sleep under the stars! Also want to admit that room was very clean, food fresh, pool - good to enjoy during the day. Not all personnel speaks English but it didn't bother us and we managed to understand each other, everybody was helpful and open trying to meet all our needs. Want to say thanks to Mohammed, Ahmed, Abraham, Moha and others for enjoyable time in Kasbah!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kasbah Erg Chebbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Erg Chebbi

Address: Erg chebbi, Merzouga 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Merzouga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 hotels in Merzouga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hotel in the south of Morocco directly at the desert Erg ChebbiAt the Hotel Kasbah Erg Chebbi you are welcome and we want you to feel as it is your home.We have 30 rooms, recently renovated, with all requested comfort (of course without tv). Our rooms are decorated in the purest Saharan style, which you will remember for a long time.Recover and recreation you can find at the swimming pool.Also we offer facilities for sleeping in Berber tents in the middle of the dunes and passing nights under the starry Saharan sky.Our Moroccan and international restaurant will satisfy you with its quality. We provide you a manifold and traditional table with fresh ingredients of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Kasbah Erg Chebbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Erg Chebbi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.