We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Gabriel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dar Gabriel to your Saves list
Dar Gabriel
Bab Souk | Medina, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€10 off room rate
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Estepona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Calm oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Really an oasis of tranquility in bustling, sometimes frantic Chauoen. We planned to stay one night after a three week tour of the far south but extended our holiday and stayed three. If you want a grand hotel with liveried staff Dar Gabriel is not for you. If you want an intimate place run by a lovely Moroccan family with good home cooking and the Medina at your doorstep then this is the place. We will return.

Room Tip: Each room is very different and they are all nice. The manager, Ben, is happy to show you all that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    39
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
45
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Nice quiet dar 2 minutes from the Bab Souk door. Friendly staff gave limited advice when asked but we didn't ask (or get offered) much advice on excursions etcetera.

Our room was two singles pushed together but we took that over a double lower down in the dar. Ensuite with shower (but no dividing door/curtain, although you can't see from the bed into it). Small breakfast (a little pancake, plenty of bread, a bit of cheese, honey and olive oil with coffee and nice fresh orange juice) in relatively busy communal area.

Like Chaouen itself, Dar Gabriel is a relaxing break from the hustle and bustle of Fez etc.Good value especially with discount for 3+ nights. Would return if in Chefchouen again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have more air (effectively they are on the terrace) and more isolated from ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agrigento, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

amazing place and really gentle people there! best place in chaouen!
clean place and really good dinners (better than any restaurant there in the city)!
thanks to ben and his family that make our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Dar is a cool place to stay. The location is central and easy to find. You can hang out on the top part of the Riad and watch the neighbors.
The rooms are small and simple. The bathroom is even smaller! Ben is all knowing, so you can ask him anything and he will have an answer for you.
Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was at Dar Gabriel for 28 nights in April. I was there to work on a writing project. The family of Ben and Izza really make you feel welcomed. They are so kind. I was even invited to a family birthday party with other guests. The beds are great and very comfortable even for someone like me with lower back issues. Izza does the best tajin in Chefchaouen.

Room Tip: There are beautiful views up on the roof level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on two separate days pre and post hike in Rif mountains.
The Dar is in great location just inside the medina walls and very easy to find. There was a fantastic view from the roof and the the rooms were really comfortable. Only real negative it was breakfast was very average moroccon breakfast and since this is at the top end price range for a dar I was expecting a little more. But in summery I would defiantly recommend if you are looking for a bit of comfort and don't mind paying just a little bit extra.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same price so ask for the room with the private terrace get great viwes and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay in a really attractive town, quite different in its attractions to what you get from the big cities like Fez and Marrakech. The road is perfectly located at the top of the town with a great balcony and views over the surrounding hills - also perfectly located for sunrise and sunset photographs over the mountains.

The rooms are small, cozy and comfortable. If you want all mod cons then this may not be the town for you (tourism here is more low key, happily). But if you have read the guide books and decided to come here (slower paced, no hassle, more relaxed, smaller, prettier), then this is a great place to stay. Meals in the road are superb (my favourite of the many we had in Morocco), the hosts are a kind and generous family. Lots of nooks and crannies in the dar to sit around in, the wifi is free and reaches all but the top levels. All in all a great dar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Gabriel

Address: Bab Souk | Medina, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Gabriel is a beautifully restored boutique riad hotel in Chefchaouen, northern Morocco, with seven bedrooms all en-suite. Downstairs is a sitting room heated by a wood burning stove, a restaurant kitchen, and intimate dining room. There are four bedrooms on the middle floor, roof terraces, three more bedrooms with kitchen and chill out space at roof level. Great views across medina and the river valley, with the Rif mountains behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Dar Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Gabriel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.