We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlas Chefchaouen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atlas Chefchaouen to your Saves list
Hotel Atlas Chefchaouen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   rue Sidi Abdelhamid BP 13, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Mohammedia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Being located at the top of the mountain, it's the best place to have the nicest view of the charming city of Chaouen. I loved the city and the environment. The hotel offers the basic facilities for your stay. If you are not demanding person it's OK.
We went for 3 days on February it was cold and sunny. We have spent our days outside the hotel, discovering Chaouen, the mountains and all the small places around. Better if you can have dinner or lunch elsewhere, because, you cannot have much choice of meals at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    24
    18
    21
See reviews for
9
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I saw a cockroach but where are we? 1700 mt high in a non deluxe touristic place so if you are not ready for the ral marocco don't travel to this cityes out of the coast and the imperial cityes.
Windows and furniture broken, shower so to so but always with A/C.
I was there the new years eve and the show was very expensive for the quality.
The vue it is realy nice indeed.

Room Tip: Check the windows quality if possible otherwise in cold months you will have to have the A/C on duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velden am Woerthersee, Austria
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

I was actually headed for the nearby campground when I enquired for the rate. There was a good promotion on so I decided to stay for the night. The my room wasn't large but with two beds so for one person more than enough. It had all the amenities of a four star place. The bathroom was small and a bit old fashioned, but clean. There was a balcony with a really nice view over the town. What was a bit of a bummer was the air condition there. It blows a constant stream of cold air at you when outside, and I guess in summer there is a similar problem with the hot air. Staff was friendly. Dinner and breakfast were included in the promotion rate and both were good albeit the breakfast rather limited. Free WiFi is available in the lobby. I found it a good place and good value for money given the promotional rate but if one pays the rate displayed at the reception one might find it rather overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

I have been travelling in Morocco for the last 3 weeks. It remains one of my favourite countries (this was not my first trip). Hectic medinas can be a bit overwhelming sometimes. My partner and I decided therefore, based on the Lonely planet review, to head for this hotel for our stay in Chefchaouen. We arrived in the evening after driving from Al Hoceima. We were particularly tired because we, unfortunately, took the road through Ketama and had an extremely unpleasant and frightening experience. (We were pursued by 2 cars whose drivers offered us cannabis and overtook me repeatedly and dangerously when I tried to get away from them. My advice is to avoid Ketama completely!).

Chefchaouen is amazingly set and the medina is wonderfully atmospheric and easy-going. Hotel Atlas looks good from the distance - set on a hill overlooking the city. When we arrived, however, we were a bit shocked. The exterior was badly in need of repair. There were some intimidating bouncers at the door. The lobby/reception area/bar reaked of smoke. There were several very drunk men sitting in the bar and talking/shouting very loudly. We asked to see the room - it was very basic (though seemed clean enough) but the bathroom was grim and evidently in need of some serious renovation. The views were good and it wasn't especially expensive but a night's stay would have been depressing and unpleasant. We stayed in the medina instead and had a wonderful 2 nights.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chefchaouen hotels

CASABLANCA
2 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

It is a pity to have such a hotel in a very authentic place , with a nice view. Some people advised to stay in Atlas chefchaouen as it has got a view on the whole city and the surrounding mountains. But we were really shocked as we arrived . the place looked deserted. Carless staff. We were lucky the taxi driver was waiting for us outside the hotel, and we decided not to spend a night there. It is truly a place to avoid .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

As a base for trekking the Atlas mountains the hotel atlas choauen cant be beaten, the accommodation is comfortable and food is of a good standard. Another thing worth mentioning is the swimming pool, there are few things better than a nice soak after a vigorous trek. The countryside and the little town itself is unspoilt and the locals are friendly. We arranged our trip through luxury-riads.com, they not only gave us the cheapest price but also answered any questions we had quickly. Remarkably knowledgeable, would use them again. If you want Morocco as it should be with a few home comforts then the hotel atlas choauen is for you. Great hotel, great service, great location – what more could I want?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Atlas Chaouen is significantly up the mountain from Chefchaouen town, which is great for an amazing view. We were lucky enough to have a room on the top floor with an excellent view, unfortunately when we turned up the power was out on the whole floor. We didn't want to leave for dinner and come back at night with the power still out, so we waited for it to be fixed, which were informed would be 5 minutes. It took an hour and a half, and I suspect only got done because we threatened to leave. The staff member who came on duty during that time was not too friendly towards us at all.
The room itself was fine, nothing special, and we had been given a twin instead of a double, but no big deal really. The walls though must be paper thin, and we were kept up most of the night by our neighbours (I'm sure you can guess why). Our sleep quality was certainly not good.
Walking to and from the town is not for the faint hearted. walking down takes about 15 minutes. Be ready to be offered hash every few metres. I'd opt for a petite taxi back up, which only costs 15dhm.
On the upside, the internet in the common area was fast and free,and the bar stocked some nice Moroccan beer.
We had booked through an online booking site, and got a lower rate than what was posted at reception. It certainly would NOT have been worth the posted rate.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atlas Chefchaouen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlas Chefchaouen

Address: rue Sidi Abdelhamid BP 13, Chefchaouen 91000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Chefchaouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Chefchaouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atlas Chefchaouen 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled atop a hill, Chefchaouen, Chefchaouen Atlas offers rooms with balconies and views of the medina or the mountains and an outdoor pool. The rooms have air conditioning and satellite TV. Guests can enjoy local and international specialties at the restaurant of Atlas Chefchaouen and relax with a drink at the bar. On site you will also find a large garden, a paddling pool and a reception 24h/24. The hotel also organizes guided tours of the city on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Atlas Chefchaouen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlas Chefchaouen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.