We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience in Morroco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christina's House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Christina's House to your Saves list
Christina's House
Rue Ibn Khatib 26, Asilah, Morocco   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Asilah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best experience in Morroco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Asilah was the last top of my trip and I stayed at Christina's house for 2 nights, by the time I arrived there after various experience with Moroccan hotels, I almost did not believe a hotel like this exist. This is a very stylish house with both modern and Moroccan elements. You will not feel like you are in a hotel at all. It's one of those home stay experiences after which you will call your husband and say "hey, we need to redecorate our whole house."

I stayed in a single room with shared bathroom, but the bathroom was beyond my expectation. It was nowhere near the shared bathroom I experienced in my travel history. It's clean, well organized, and I enjoyed my shower as much as I would at home. It has a fully equipped kitchen to make everything you feel like and enjoy your meal in the small garden. The delicious breakfast is set on the second floor's dinning area and the coffee was good!

I was worried about finding the place at the time of booking, but shortly after I confirmed the booking, Christina sent me an email with a well illustrated map showing not only the location of the place but also everything else in Asilah. I didn't even need to take a taxi and just walked to the place without any problem, and for the first time, I walked around in town without my Lonely Planet because the map Christina sent was much better.

Final note: Female solo traveller friendly, English friendly. I paid 150DH for a single room, and it far exceeded what I paid for 150dh or even more elsewhere in Morocco.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
22
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I enjoyed staying at Christina's house and thought it was very good value. The ambiance was casual and friendly and I was made to feel very welcome which I particularly enjoyed since I travel by myself. The accommodations are simple but with the Moroccan twist using local materials. The owner is charming and speaks English and Swedish beautifully. She was a good source of information which allowed for a more enjoyable experience in Asilah. The best part of the stay is the roof top terrace where one can have breakfast consisting of local baked goods. The location allows for experiencing a real neighborhood with its shops, markets and cafes. It is a short walk to the medina.

Room Tip: there are 2 floors in the building, the upper floors are brighter but near the common areas. The bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here for a night. The place is homely and the owner is a really nice lady who gave us good advice on where to eat and what to do in Asilah the next day. Bed, breakfast, bathrooms, communication beforehand etc were all good. The only downside might be, that when you arrive for the first time, the location seems a bit weird, hidden away in a tiny passage, but once you settle in, you won't mind.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Fantastic stay again beautiful terrace great hospitality and very helpful only let down which was not the owner but another guest I met suggested a italian restaurant outside of assilah in bruiache which was truly terrible should have listened to christina and stayed local tried garcia great dock 15 brilliant and terrace bistros great also the italian icecream palour which was lush but it was great chilling out at christinas with a glass of wine on the terrace. Room was spotless everything I needed was there see you next year

Room Tip: Try the hamman around the corner great to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had just arrived in Morocco and this was our first stop. Turned out to be the best place we stayed on our trip. The private room was clean and cozy (towels provided) and Christina, the Swedish landlady, was both easy-going and welcoming throughout our stay. Breakfast is provided and although simple it was satisfying and served with fresh watermelon juice. The roof terrace is the best bit, beautifully decorated (not in the typical kitsch Moroccan style, but with some stylish Scandinavian elements). The only tiny complaint would be the cold showers, but considering it was 28 degrees outside, it didn't matter too much. Not sure what Antonio S is complaining about regarding price, we thought it was really good value for a private room with breakfast. All in all, great little hostel, amazing landlady and roof terrace. If I'm ever back in Asilah I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakesh
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My daughter and I were recommended Christina's by a friend as we were coming from Tangier to tour Morocco. It is a pleasant drive down from the seaport where we had landed from the ferry. We found it with a lot of assistance from the locals and Christina herself who came out on foot, after 3 phone calls to guide us in. There was a guarded carpark a short walk from the guest house. We had a ground floor room next to a kitchen which was very welcome as we could make a cup if (English) tea when the mood took us. The breakfast was the usual bread and jam with pancakes and honey with lovely coffee and fresh juice.
Christina has made a special effort to equip and decorate the whole house with authentic and beautiful artefacts and decoration. We liked the town although didn't see much of it - since it was dark when we arrived and we set off relatively early.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Christina's House was a welcome break from some of the more crowded hostels throughout Morocco. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable and spacious. The bathrooms were large and had fresh towels daily. The breakfast was fantastic!! It was a full spread of bread, swedish pancakes, jams, fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, and freshly brewed COFFEE. By far one of the best breakfasts I had in Morocco. The location was perfect- a bit tucked away from the noise and business of the main streets, but just a 5 minute walk to the beach. The sea breeze cooled you down a little at night, too. The service was solid, though sometimes Christina was a bit cranky or rude. I would definitely suggest Christina's to anyone who wants a comfortable vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christina's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christina's House

Address: Rue Ibn Khatib 26, Asilah, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Asilah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Asilah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christina's House is a comfortable and relaxed place to stay in Asilah with a young and friendly atmosphere. Located just 5 minutes from Asilah's Medina, there's a great variety of shops, cafes and restaurants close by.We have been providing quality, affordable accommodation to guests from all over the world for more than six years and have a variety of rooms available (including en-suite, single and quad rooms).The rooms are charmingly decorated, incorporating Moroccan style and modern comforts, some with private shower facilities. The common areas have comfortable seating and there is a guest kitchen with complementary tea and coffee. WiFi is available throughout the house, even on the terrace! We take pride in maintaining all of the areas to a high standard and cleanliness is a priority. Our breakfast, highly appreciated by our guests, includes fresh bread and croissants, freshly squeezed orange juice (seasonal) and tea and coffee. Our staff are here to make your stay as comfortable as possible and can assist you with you with travel planning as well as recommending places to visit, including beaches, historical sites and markets. We look forward to welcoming you into our home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Christina's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christina's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.