We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to start your travels in Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Azaouia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asilah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Azaouia
Save
You added Riad Dar Azaouia to your Saves list
Rue 6 nr 18 | Quartier Moulay Idriss, Asilah 90050, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 17 Asilah B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best way to start your travels in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

A traditional riad with a European touch! A stunningly beautiful place to stay, matched with the most generous of hosts, Caroline. A Belgium woman who has called Morocco home for the past eight years. She is a wealth of knowledge and I recommend that anyone arriving into Casablanca head straight to Asilah to visit Caroline. She will help you prepare your itinerary, give you contacts for great riads along the way and give you the lowdown on the local way of life. The riad was pure luxury. Each of the four rooms is uniquely decorated with their own bathrooms. Breakfast is served on the rooftop and in abundance - absolutely delicious. Mud masks tools are supplied in the bathrooms which have hot water and are incredibly clean. It is located just two minutes walk from the kasbah and the heart of Asilah. It truly was a luscious experience and I cannot recommend it highly enough. After just two nights, we were sad to say goodbye to Caroline.

Room Tip: All rooms are simply stunning and unique. You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    11
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
47
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mohammedia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The view is nice however what is described in the website is not available once you are there
We paid an expensive room without air conditionning TV or wifii
The host was not kind or welcoming as every body could expect
If you want to stay in Assilah in this place check every thing before you pay your bill

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meknes, Morocco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This place is falsely advertising their price.
I called to make a reservation with 15 Euro discount offer(which is valid) that they advertised on Tripadvisor. However, the owner on the phone said, she would not honor it since they had only one room left and they wouldn't have a problem to sell it. That's wrong and we are not going to give them our business.

They might have a great place but they should know honesty will last in the long run.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We spent 2 nights on an impulse visit to Morocco. Dar Azaoula in Asilah was recommended and booked for us by Zoe and Erika in Tarifa. We had no idea even where Asilah was or what to expect so were thrilled when we arrived to this truly authentic Moroccan guesthouse (Dar) and so warmly greeted by Moustafa with a relaxing mint tea on the Terrace.

Our room was picture perfect Moroccan decor and we loved the bathroom which was spacious with so many artefacts to make it very interesting. There are 3 terraces with typical Moroccan views and also lovely sunsets over the ocean. We spent nearly one whole day just relaxing on the terrace with Mustafa bringing us Mint teas or beers as we desired. Breakfasts on the terrace were also delicious.

Asilah is a lovely arty type Moroccan seaside town with the delightful old Medina being just a few minutes walk away on the coast. The Medina has "To die for views" of sunsets and colourful old buildings many of them decorated by local artists. We also loved the nightly fresh fish markets in the streets and had great fun following an exuberant late night wedding procession.

We can't recommend Caroline and Mustafa the owners highly enough for creating such a beautiful Moroccan experience and thank them for their warm hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent our last night in Morocco at Dar Azaouia in Asilah and wished we were able to stay longer. The riad-like small hotel is beautifully appointed with natural woods, tiles, stone and antique finds throughout. The innkeepers Catherine and Mustapha couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. Catherine arranged a memorable trip for us to ride camels at a remote beach we would have never found on our own, while Mustapha hosted us upon our return with a wonderful spread of wines and snacks on the rooftop patio just after sunset. Catherine, who is from Belgium but has been running this hotel for several years, knows everyone in town, speaks many languages and can help you with anything you need -- including getting my daughter in a cab at dawn to catch an extremely early flight out of the Tangier airport. The breakfasts are incredible - fresh smoothies, Moroccan cheeses, fruits and olives, assorted breads and juices. All the bedrooms are nicely decorated, but it is well worth the ten extra euros to book the top floor suite, where soaking in the enormous stone bathtub is like an out-of-body experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed two nights in the terrace suite (well worth it if it's available). Our host was so welcoming and kind, talented and interesting...we expect to stay in touch for a long time. We ate at some excellent restaurants in Asilah, but the dinner we enjoyed at Dar Azaouia was far and away the best – one of the best we had in our two weeks in Morocco. I don't think you could hope for better accommodations in Asilah – in fact Dar Azaouia is great reason unto itself for a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asilah, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The owner and her husband are warm and welcoming. The mid afternoon "welcome tea" was tranquil and so much more warming on the roof top terrace. They were so cooperative with parking (we arrived on motorcycle), that it made us feel completely safe about leaving the moto.

Both of them gave us a tour of the town, bringing us down to the beach area, and indicating the restaurants that they themselves frequent.

There is no better evening to have been had, returning to the Riad under a clear star covered sky, having a gigantic 300 year old bathtub that was 8 feet long and 3 feet deep being filled, incense gently burning and a fireplace that was in full force . . a nice 1st evening in Morocco

Room Tip: While all of the rooms appeared the be as nice as the one that we enjoyed, ask for the rooftop room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Azaouia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Azaouia

Address: Rue 6 nr 18 | Quartier Moulay Idriss, Asilah 90050, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Asilah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Asilah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Azaouia is a charming relaxing house with a quality service and plenty of private space and lounge for hanging out. A meeting point for curious dwellers who are wanting to discover the secrets of Morocco. We are sensible to all our customers' needs and wishes and provide the best soul food, always prepared with care and taste. Breakfasts are served at any time our guests prefer and there's choice in teas, pastries and breads, homemade jams and herb cheeses, fresh fruit and smoothies. The house is at 5 min. from the beaches and has a free parking in front and easy access with a car. You can enjoy your own music and we offer fast wifi. We have 4 rooms, 1 suite and 3 with triple beds. Each room has his private bathroom with toilet and hot water showers and working chimneys. In summer we serve on the covered terraces. There's view on the sea with a marvelous sunset. A hot Saharaoui-tea and a water pipe with another traveler's story... Welcome to discover. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Azaouia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.