We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hostel and Tiraspol a great combo.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiraspol Hostel

Tiraspol Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tiraspol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tiraspol Hostel
Save
You added Tiraspol Hostel to your Saves list
Ul. Poletskogo 4, Ap. 9, Tiraspol, Moldova   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Hostel and Tiraspol a great combo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I spent one night at the hostel first week of September and I really regret not having more time. Tim is a great host and has attracted a great group of guests. He makes you feel very welcome and does everything he can to make your stay a great time. The location is good, with his directions is easy to find and a reasonable walk from the train station. Pobedi Park is almost across the street and 25 October street is only a little further. There's a shop in the area that can take care of what ever supplies you need from good inexpensive vodka to almost anything else you might need.
You should make your way to Transnistria, very friendly, very safe, and the border crossings are a snap. Then stay at the Tiraspol Hostel. You'll love it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chur, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The owner, Tim, picked me up from the railway station with a taxi. We dropped the bags at his hostel, which is in an old partly renovated house on the outskirts of the center of Tiraspol, and then Tim walked me all the way to the center, about a 20min walk through a big park, and showed me around the main sites in town. He's a really nice guy who likes to take good care of his guests. The room was okay, the shared bathrooms good and in just in case Tim left his mobile phone number, where I could call him anytime. He also organized a taxi back to the train station. I enjoyed staying at his place, and in Tiraspol. It's a really safe place by the way, I didn't have any problems, neither in town photographing everywhere nor at the border.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Forget everything what you have read about Transnistria and Tiraspol. Yust go to Tiraspol and you will see that it is a nice city, where you can swim in the Nistru yust 200 m. away from the statue of Lenin.
It was only because I had already other appointments in Chisinau that I didn't stayed for more them five nights in the Tiraspol Hostel. Timothy (and his wife) are great hosts, Tim showed me - slowly and relaxed, exactly as the life in Tiraspol is in summer - the hole city. And if you wish also Bender.
Tiraspol Hostel is a place where you want to stay for longer time because of the host and the nice people in Tiraspol/Transnistrie. Even at the border I had a nice conversation with the border police that ends with a warm, heartfeld handshake.
Simply check it out in Tims Tiraspol Hostel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

I spent two nights at the Tiraspol hostel. Tim was very nice and took the time to show me around the city. Great accommodations and very friendly staff. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at Timothy's place for one night. He picked me up readily on agreed place and walked me to his home. It is an old soviet-style building, nothing fancy. He gave me precious info about the town. His place is interesting as a sondage to life and homes of the locals, if you're with a fancy girlfriend just book a hotel:-) Come to Tiraspol with a charged cellphone because Tim uses a Moldovan number that is impossible to reach from the local phones (I tried with three various locals after my arrival before my cellphone miraculously woke up for a minute).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

+ Timothy, an American from Nebraska, is a great host. He and his wife Natalia did everything to make me feel comfortable during my stay in Tiraspol. He showed me the whole town for free, offered me as much tea as I wanted, and in the evening I was invited to her family's private home.
+ There is a bus stop almost in front of the house, linking it with the train station and the city centre. As their place is not signposted he picked me up from there.
+ They are in the process of renovating a house to establish the hostel and expect to be ready before the 2011 season. My first impression is that it will become a very cosy place.
- In the meanwhile they put me into their private Soviet-style apartment which was a little tatty: wallpapers coming off everywhere, low water pressure in the bathtub etc. However this is life as the locals do and therefore OK nonetheless, especially given the price.
- They have some pets, so don't book if you are allergic.
+ The breakaway republic of Transnistria is a Soviet theme park, with Lenin statues, hammer and sickle on the coins and other absurdities. Visiting Transnistria seems to be much less of a hassle than it used to be. Taking the train from Chisinau, I was not seriously checked at the border.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tiraspol Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiraspol Hostel

Address: Ul. Poletskogo 4, Ap. 9, Tiraspol, Moldova
Location: Moldova > Transnistria > Tiraspol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tiraspol
Number of rooms: 27

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiraspol Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.