We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tarisa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tarisa Resort to your Saves list
Tarisa Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coastal Road, Mont Choisy, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mont Choisy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Alright it's been a year (We visited this place in Jan 2013 - I had to select June 2013 because the option to select Jan 2013 wasn't there in the drop down) since we went to Mauritius for our honeymoon and stayed in Tarisa Resort. Yeah it's late but what the hack, better late than never! So I particularly chose Tarisa Resort after visiting few reviews on Tripadvisor and I certainly wasn't disappointed for choosing it.

OK cutting the long chase short, let me share my experience during my stay in this resort:

1). Location of Resort:

It's based in Mont Choisy (North cost) and best I'd say as it was barely few meters away from the turquoise sandy lagoon, take your towel and have fun in the water. It takes approx. an hour from airport to reach here.

2). Amenities:

You have AC, TV (including Hindi Channels), Digital Safe (Locker to keep your valuables), Private balcony, Mini bar & rest others (laundry service etc) and must say the room service is cool, and here I want to appreciate the manager of the resort for being kind to us(He was an Indian mgr and was a gentleman, was always ready to help his guests)!

3) Leisure & Sports:

Bocce ball, Mini golf, Volley-ball, Tennis court, Table Tennis, Windsurfing, Pedalo, Kayaks, Laser Boat, Glass bottom boat, Snorkeling, 2 swimming pools (1 kid's pool), jacuzzi

Hammam, Sauna, Massage, daily entertainment programs in night (you'll like it).

4) Indigo Restaurant:

The best one in town I'd say, every morning you'll enjoy the tasty fruit breakfast mix with Indian dishes and in dinner you won't miss Indian food as this resort makes sure that you eat Dal Makhani, Paneer, Bhindi 2 pyaza and almost all other lovely dishes that you eat in India.

Citrus Bar:

For all those who loves drinking will enjoy this place sometimes with mild music and at times with rock music!

5) My personal tips:

-The bus which will drop you to your hotel will stop at a local shop so that you buy SIM card for your mobile, invest more in internet enabled SIM rather buying only a calling card (Use whatspp,FB, Twitter etc and share pics with friends/family).

-Resort gives you 2 water bottles per day and else you'll have to purchase which is costly. So either buy a 5 liter bottle from market OR ensure that your bottles are refilled ;)

-Ask to change a room if at all your room has any issue the manager & staff is cooperative if there would be a room vacant they'll give you a new room!

-Don't waste time in watching TV (lol), you're here for fun so rather that watching TV go to beach and enjoy to the fullest

Enjoy your stay fellas, hope you'll have fun staying there!

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are larger and has best view from the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    154
    37
    15
    24
See reviews for
84
204
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This review comes almost a year late but better late than never. I stayed here with my family for a week. Its proximity to the beach, amazing service, courteous and friendly staff, an excellent breakfast menu with lots of options are some of the best things about Tarisa. The manager Mr.Singh played an excellent host ably supported by all the staff. When you're not out experiencing the wondrous places in Mauritius and enjoying a day of rest, you can have a swim or play sports (Tennis, Table Tennis and Badminton.. Even mini golf) to bide your time. The only negative that comes to mind is that it's far away from a few must see places in Mauritius. Overall it's a great place that'll enhance your experience of Mauritius!

Room Tip: Do not miss the SEGA dance show on Thursday nights. Try Kayaking and Glass bottom boat ride at the M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Travelled with family. Good location. Walkable distance to the beach. Rooms are average. Washrooms need improvement but works. Good value for money. Very helpful staff. Average breakfast, dinner in tandoor restaurant was excellent. Average Spa, Hammam and Sauna however good thing was that it was included in the package. Kids really liked swimming pool. Average quality of beach activities.

Negative Side: didn't understand westerners package includes dinner at pool side restaurant (continental food) and Package for Indians include Tandoor restaurant. To me, everyone should be offered a choice. Bar is expensive. Off time snacks etc are not of great quality. Exchange rates offered at resort are not reasonable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Had a overall good experience staying for 5 nights this April. I stayed 5 nights in this Tarisa Hotel. It is really best place to stay and enjoy the trip of Mauritius. This resort attached with Beach and having excellent view. Mainly Indian guests with a splattering of European tourists. It is a Indian based restaurant also having continental restaurant attached, any of these two we can choose.

Room Tip: Any room you choose it could be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were a group of ten adults and three children. We checked in on the 18th of April 2014 and checked out on 22nd april. Four couples from Lagos Nigeria and one couple from Bangalore India.
We had zeroed in on Tarisa resort based on the reviews we had read on Tripadvisor. The resort was excellent, the amenities great and everthing worked. The rooms were very comfortable and the service including the food superb. The General Manager Mr Dev and Mr Singh the F&B manager and their team made our stay there memorable in terms of the quality of service. In terms of value for money we could not have asked for more. As our flight was only at 10.15 in the night, Mr Dev was very kind in extending to us a late checkout for which we are very appreciative.
Our Best wishes to the Tarisa management and team. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable and everything in the rooms works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We booked Tarisa for our honeymoon and stayed from 10th to 17th April, the moment we landed on the front porch of Tarisa, I knew we would have a great stay.

I had specifically asked for Room 301, as I had read on TripAdvisor that this room had one of the best views in the hotel, I wasn't disappointed, looking straight i could see the beach and the pool on the left. The best thing about this room was, that it had a private balcony, whereas some of the rooms on the 1st floor have shared balcony. The room were standard size and were very comfortable, I can't say much more as, I had spent the least time in the room :) .

Tarisa doesn't have its own private beach but it's next door to Mon Choisy beach, which is the best beach in Mauritius in my opinion. The sand is really fine and the water is turquoise color.


The food served for breakfast and dinner was in two different restaurants. The breakfast was served in Indigo Restaurant and was a mix of Continental and Indian food and the Dinner was served in the Tandoor Restaurant, here only Indian dishes were served. The food in both the restaurants were fantastic, the only gripe being that the morning breakfast was a little repetitive but I didn't really mind. One tip for the Tandoor restaurant, pack some jeans as they don't allow you to prance in with shorts, capri's etc.

The service by the attendants was excellent, always smiling and always trying to help. Mr. Devbandhu( General Manager), was an excellent host. The staff were brilliant and would constantly talk to us in Hindi and would also, recommend dishes to us all the time( especially this one guy in the Indigo Restaurant, I have unfortunately forgotten his name).

I left Tarisa with beautiful memories and I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Had a overall good experience staying for 6 nights this April. Just by the beach and close to Grand Bay for shopping and markets. 2 good indian and continental restaurants and decent sized rooms. Mainly Indian guests with a splattering of European tourists.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tarisa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarisa Resort

Address: Coastal Road, Mont Choisy, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Mont Choisy
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mont Choisy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarisa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tarisa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarisa Hotel Mont Choisy
Tarisa Resort Mauritius/Mont Choisy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarisa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.