We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the beach. Suitable for staying for long periods.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mon Choisy Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mon Choisy Beach Resort to your Saves list
Mon Choisy Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Royal Road (Coastal Road), Mont Choisy, Mauritius 230   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Mont Choisy B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Close to the beach. Suitable for staying for long periods.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This resort's location has its strengths and weaknesses. It is located few meters from the public beach and at the northern part of the island, close to most aquatic attractions. It is located rather far from the airport (1 hour taxi drive) and far from supermarket and restaurants. The buildings are modern. The accessories variety is decent, yet not spoiling. The highlight is fully accessorized kitchen. Combined with modest daily rate, it makes this place a good choice if you want to stay for a longer period and you are most interested in going swimming/surfing/diving.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    53
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
25
169
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We stayed at the Mon Choisy Beach Resort for 7 nights (too long). Wish I had paid the extra money and stayed at a Resort. This is not a resort style hotel. It's just a room where you can cook up something if you don't want to eat out. It's clean, comfortable and breakfast is very nice. Staff are polite. The towels are a bit tired and don't bother with the laundry facility. There was a lady who politely told us that she would do our washing if we supplied the detergent, unfortunately, the shirts all shrunk and the whites were no longer white.
If you want value for money, somewhere to park yourself after spending your days out and about then yes, I would recommend this hotel. There is no restaurant, or cafe near by. Your breakfast is delivered to your room. It's a good place for a few nights stop over.

Room Tip: choose a ground room. Too many stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, Directeur général at Mon Choisy Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback after your stay with us.
It is regretful that we have not been able to meet your expectations. I am also very sorry for the bad experience encountered with your clothes. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.
We are grateful that you have mentioned the fact that we are not a hotel but a residence. Our guests are free to come and go while visiting Mauritius.
Thank you for recommending us as a "clean and comfortable" residence, offering a "good value for money".
We would be very happy to welcome you again, even for "a few nights stop over".

Sunny regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

I came to Mauritius on a business trip for a few days and I wanted to stay somewhere cosy yet very beautiful. A friend of mine referred me Mon Choisy Beach Resort and I knew I could count on him. He was right, I booked a room near the pool which was beyond my expectation. You only had to walk 5 steps and the pool was right there. Plus the beach is another few steps away.
The staff was incredibly nice and it was easy to communicate with the reception and the cleaners, they could understand and speak English which is always helpful as I can only speak English and German.
I am definitely coming back to this little heaven on earth on my next trip to Mauritius and this time my little family will be joining me and staying in the resort!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, Directeur général at Mon Choisy Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
It really is a pleasure to know that we have contributed in making your business trip agreeable.
We are grateful for your trust and nice comments towards our staff.

We would be very glad to welcome you on your next visit. We will do our utmost for you to enjoy some quality time with your family.

Warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We loved everything about our 10 days stay in Mont Choisy beach resort.
This resort is one the most beautiful in Mauritius and excellent in every way.
The beach is spectacular,there is a lovely pool,the rooms ,or should i say the apartments are beautiful, spacious and beautiful furnished
Great breakfast ,the staff is professional and very friendly
Overall we would definitely recommend the Mont Choisy beach resort as the nicest resort in Mauritius especially if you are looking for peace and quiet

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, Directeur général at Mon Choisy Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with the Tripadvisor community.
And most of all, thank you for this gratifying review. It is a pleasure to read that your stay with us has lived up to your expectations.
We will pass on your appreciation to all our staff.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Sunny regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

My definition of luxury is not one bar of soap/stay, and replenishment of toilet rolls. Not even a bottle of water was available. We booked this based on trip advisor reviews, and for us they didnt correlate with what we found. It was clean, and freshly decorated, but that is where it ended. It is not a hotel, not apartment but room with kitchenette, bathrroom and balcony. The drilling, digging and shouting coming from the building site woke us up at 8am, and continued throughout the day. We attempted to stay by pool, but the noise was headache inducing and not letting you think or relax. We felt misled and disappointed. So we checked out and went to stay in a hotel ten times better, for the same money that we spent at Mon Choisy.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, Directeur général at Mon Choisy Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback after your recent stay with us.

We are very sorry to read that you have not been able to fully enjoy your holiday.
However, I would like to emphasize on the fact that our Residence is not a hotel. As opposed to the variety of hotels on the island, we have chosen to promote our award-winning concept of self-catering beach studios. Maybe this was not the choice that best suited your expectations.

What's more, I have to point out that the construction you have mentioned is over 90% completed. I nevertheless truly regret the issues you went through.
However, we cannot be held hostage to provide discount on rooms and other items based on threats from clients. This is not the spirit and vision of Tripadvisor and such behavior can only damage the essence of it.

Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014 via mobile

lovely place to stay we had a sea view room was lovely to watch the sun go down at night . Room was clean everything you wanted was in there and cleaned every day yes there was construction work going on but it didn't bother us . You do need a car to get a round unless you want to take taxis every where . We found a great restaurant in grand baie gourment grill food excellent highly recommend .

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, Directeur général at Mon Choisy Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your warm recommendation on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay among us. We are also grateful for your rewarding comments on our Residence and its facilities.

We now hope to welcome you again... For another sunset in the Indian Ocean!

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We found this place on Tripadvisor and what a great find it was! Before going there we had spent 4 days at a 4 star hotel in the south. I have to say that although there is no bar or restaurant here everything else was so much better. The team was very welcoming. Thank you to Justine for the great tips for the dolphin excursion. The room were very spacious and cleaned every day by the lovely Shirley. Thank you to her for our special treatment. The swimming pool is just great. Yes there is a construction next door but to be honest it is nearly finished and this did not bother us at all. Best of all was its value for money which was fantastic. We HIGHLY recommend this place. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are much better value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Adamjee, Directeur général at Mon Choisy Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Mon Choisy Beach Resort and thank you for recommending us on Tripadvisor.
During your stay with us, you have appreciated the facilities, services and cleanliness of our resort and you have even chosen us over a four star hotel. I must admit that your comments are truly rewarding!
I will make sure to pass them on to our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you on a next visit!

Warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mon Choisy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Choisy Beach Resort

Address: Royal Road (Coastal Road), Mont Choisy, Mauritius 230
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Mont Choisy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mont Choisy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mon Choisy Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the magnificent lagoon of Mon Choisy, Mon Choisy Beach Resort is next to the one of the most beautiful and longest beach where you can swim, snorkel, sail or soak up the north coast sun. A short walk will bring to a number of activities such as water sports, tennis, horse ridding, deep sea fishing or enjoy a drink in the nearby friendly restaurant. This Residence offers the perfect sun and fun holiday with the swimming pool and beach to laze around, whilst the more fun lovers can head further north, a 10 minutes drive to the cosmopolitan coastal town of Grand Bay renowned for its restaurants, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mon Choisy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mon Choisy Beach Resort Mauritius/Mont Choisy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mon Choisy Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.