We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Accomodation, Nice Beach, Average Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redang Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Redang Bay Resort to your Saves list
Redang Bay Resort
Lot 93 Pasir Panjang | office: 131 Jalan Bandar, Kuala Terengganu, Pulau Redang 20100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Accomodation, Nice Beach, Average Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I took a two nights/three days snorkeling package of this resort in April 2012. I found their room is nice, with a good air-conditioner, warm shower, but yellowish tap water! and behind our room was a place to store rubbish that made outside a bit smelly. Beds were ok, bedding was clean. There is a snorkeling point exactly in front of the resort so you can enjoy your early morning or evening there. Most of the staffs are polite and friendly, a few of them not! The first lunch was very terrible, we had duck bone as the main dish and that made me to eat some plain rice and salad. The food was ok for the dinner and it was very good at the BBQ night. There is a small market around to buy your drink and some bread for the fish. I recommend it compare to the other resorts around that area!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
16
12
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed in the Redang Bay Resort for two nights/three days in April. The boat ride from Kuala Terengganu (about an hour flight from KL) was very interesting, a normal day it will take one hour fifteen minutes but on that particular day the sea was rough and took close to two hours. The worst part was after reaching the bay, we had to stay on a rocking boat for forty five minutes before the landing craft could take us to shore.
The rooms in the Resort is basic, no TV, no safe, no hair dryer or other amenities; you only get two towels but you can exchange them in the front desk anytime. We went for the all inclusive deal; the three meals were basic buffet food, with the last night a BBQ fare. The resort mostly catered to Asian clients, mainly from Malaysia, Singapore, China and Hong Kong. It is not considered as the luxurious resorts on the island. The island has about thirteen resorts including a few access by air only (They have their own airstrip).
Now the most exciting part about the trip was the snorkeling, our deal included two snorkeling trip a day, so we did an afternoon one after we arrived and two the next day. A boat will take you to a selected spot and you have about an hour to snorkel. The Marine Park was amazing and I have never seen so many fish and corrals in one trip, including our recent trip to the Great Barrier Reef in Australia. The only negative part about the Marine Park was the number of people snorkeling in the same area; it is almost packed with people. The other sites were also quite amazing with beautiful corrals everywhere; we took some fantastic photos around the corral area. The underwater photographers were also very good and they actually helped you to take very interesting photographs, each photo costs RM6. This island is a gem for snorkeling and diving, there is no road access with only a few tractors to haul luggage and customers around. The cost of renting snorkeling equipment is RM30 for the two days.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the second floor have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Redang Bay Island Resort is one of the pioneer resorts on beautiful Pulau Redang where I stayed some ten years ago. It is located on the best part of Pasir Panjang or "long beach" just in front of the best snorkelling spot on this side of the island and commands a magnificient view of the sea as one lay relaxing on the deckchair under shady coconut trees. It had clean rooms, wonderful staff and as much food as one can eat for the price we paid. It had sea activities, diving services and the night life leave one wishing that we could stay here longer.

Now ten years down the road, it was like walking down memory lane except that the 24 chalet rooms had been demolished and rebuilt with an interior that is much better than before, the canteen so aptly described had also been rebuilt when it was burnt out by a fire... the food just as great and still as much as you can eat but this time done in buffet style. The building overlooking the swimming pool still houses spacious rooms with basic amenities but then again one do not come to an island resort for the comforts of home, hmmm? Hot water shower, comfy beds ... ha! what else do we need?

The old staff have gone, replaced by new faces. Where once there were local faces, the trend now is focussed on foreign workers. Communicating with them might be a problem sometimes but be assured that their aim is to please in any way they can... therefore be pampered during your stay.

New resorts have sprung up over the years on pasir panjang, the competition is fiercer now for that piece of the pie but the heart of this resort is to serve you the best it can for an unforgettable getaway from the daily stress of working life. Come and check it out!

Room Tip: Try out the new chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I just came back from Redang Island and I was staying at Redang Bay Resort.
In my view, staying in Redang Bay Resort was quite good overall. The food was okay, rooms were clean, many provided facilities.
But, there was only one thing really made me feel unhappy till now. The staffs responsible for the reception were quite rude. They had treated us with really bad manner, yet there were still some nice staffs.
Be careful if you guys are planning to stay there with a huge number of people since the staffs there are quite terrible in Maths, especially when you guys're renting for the snorkels, in addition , the rental for every gadget isn't clearly shown.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Its a great location best part of the beach to do snorkeling ,The staff were friendly enough,The quad room we booked is basic the bedding wasnt as clean and they only clean the room after 3 days ,The bathroom is quite old & bit dirty.We would occasionally experience power cuts ,The music was rather loud at night.Food on offer was ok but not much choice for a westerner staying here.
Would i come back again ? Yes! As its value for money as we came here for the stunning beach and snorkeling and not live in luxury

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

bay resort is awesome n well known for its great service, hospitality.. And the Food is great..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

i stayed in a quad room with my family, the room is terrible and the toilet also very terrible, food is canteed food also .
not value. the front door madam tan is not having smiling face service is poor. but snokerning centre boys is helpful.
no room services. swimming pool is dirty

Room Tip: do not go redang bay resort,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Redang Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redang Bay Resort

Address: Lot 93 Pasir Panjang | office: 131 Jalan Bandar, Kuala Terengganu, Pulau Redang 20100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening in 1991, Redang Bay Resort has established itself as the most family friendly resort on the beautiful Redang Island, Malaysia. Situated along Pasir Panjang (Long beach), Redang Bay Resort is steps away from the island's crystal clear waters, abundant marine life and coral reefs. Redang island is part of the marine park that offers endless snorkeling and diving opportunities.Redang Bay Resort also offers full board packages that will satisfy even the strictest budget traveller, whether you are here on honeymoon, or just relaxing with friends. Lastly, our professional and knowledgable staff will ensure everyone will have a excellent stay in the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Redang Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redang Bay Hotel Kuala Terengganu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redang Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.