We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Resort On Long Beach Redang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Redang Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Laguna Redang Island Resort to your Saves list
Laguna Redang Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pasir Panjang, Redang Island | S-5, Wisma Tenang, Jalan Sultan Sulaiman, Pulau Redang 20000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Best Resort On Long Beach Redang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Though the crowd in the resort is overwhelming, but the arrangement of check-in, snorkeling trip, meals, check-out & etc was nicely organised, a welcome drink is offered when u reached the lobby, the sour taste drink indeed help to soothe the discomfort after the ferry ride.
There are few room types in the resort, all are scatter surrounding the resort lobby & restaurant, except the standard room which is selling relatively cheaper and is located near to the jetty which is around 5-10 minutes walking distance to the resort lobby.
We stayed in a deluxe garden room which is fronting jungle, make sure u close the windows and doors or you might find a monkey wearing your bikini. Room is decent and clean with 1 double bed and 2 single beds and good for four person.
The resort lounge with live band performance situated in front of the beach offers a great place to hang out during night time, or you could search for blue sand at night, we found plenty of it at the beach @ the far right corner in front of the resort.
The buffet spread is good and we actually stuff ourselves so full on the BBQ buffet night.
There was 3 snorkeling trip during our 3d2n stayed on Redang, 2 trip to open sea and 1 trip to marine park. One of the friendly boat man actually brought us to snorkel at the corner in front of Redang Reef Resort and thank to him we managed to see many sea turtles, but make sure u r a good swimmer to try this, as the distance is far and wave could be strong.
Overall, I can't find any fault on Redang Laguna Resort, I'll definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    289
    97
    25
    19
See reviews for
155
205
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I remembered the last time i went to this place years ago, the bar wasn't that nice. So i was wondering if anyone would actually tell me more about how this place has evolved? For example any new things that could be done at night?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Having been from Malaysia orginally, everytime we visited Malaysia, we would visit our family and eat. Now that we have a young family of active boys below 6, we wanted to go to an area of Malaysia that we have never been before, our friends recommended Laguna to us as well as Redang Island. The trip there was easy but we didn't enjoy our overnight stay over at Terrenganu...the hotel was most unpleasant. We also wish that the journey to Redang Island was shorter but when you arrive at the Laguna Resort, all the unpleasantries dissappeared and your are greeted with clear blue waters and you understand why its so far from the mainland, I have never knew that Malaysia Islands were so nice! I highly recommend you booking the deluxe package (3 days 2 nights) as they really go the extra mile to make you feel like a VIP. They picked us by a personal buggy and gave us a private priority check in as well as some cocktails and juices...
The day is pack out by endless activities of snorkelling, they had 3 different snorkelling style (deep sea, coral reef and a marine park - great for the kids) throughout the trip that is always packed with lots of people but well organised.

Food wiise, the lunch was also great with the endless amount of Malaysian delights mixed with Western food. But what makes the Deluxe package is that you get to eat at any of the restaurant, the ones downstairs is devine! its away from the buffet section above from where all the other guests eats, and we get to order anything from the a la carte menu which was soooo goood! The kids thoroughly enjoyed it...especially all the dessert!

The main beach was also beautiful and the kids really enjoyed the rock pools at night and day...we had a pool room and the staff took great care of us, we were very sad to leave after 3 days of enjoyment and we will definately be back again soon. It has been 4 years but the kids still enjoy the photos and still talk about it! Thanks Laguna team for taking such good care of us Pre Trip, During the Trip and Post Trip.

Room Tip: If you have young family choose the pool side rooms and once again, go the deluxe package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

i remember clearly my vocation view years ago at laguna redang, and it always remind again and again, that journey i can stated is the best journey i have ever had. i booked the hotel and go with my buddy and friend. the beach, the blue sand shinning, the fish and the hotel, not just that, the smile, the cheer, the friendly staff. all is that make my trip meaningful. i just spend a rp 3.500.000,- rupiah for whole trip, include flight ticket accomodation and transit (all in).

if u want to go for honeymoon. i fully recomended.

Room Tip: take sunblock
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Friendly Staff, service is good. Beautiful place. Ideal for beach lovers. Went on a business trip with my colleagues. Enjoyed the promotional package provided to us. Experienced great snorkeling (Marine Park and Deep Sea). Rooms are big with clean towels and sheets. Beds were very cozy. 4 adults can easily sleep in one room. Good amount amenities provided.

The island is splendid... very scenic. Awesome buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. Couldn't stop eating. There was a wide selection of cuisines. Never faced problems with seating as it has a very spacious dining area. Swimming pool was great. Had an awesome time on the beach, having the meals and snorkeling. Enjoy your drinks at the beach bar!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

What a gorgeous secluded resort. The sand is so white and the water is amazing. A great deal! Just gorgeous!!!!!!! Glad we stayed the extra day and added to the package. The resort itself is clean, simple & spacious.

Room Tip: Pool-view rooms are quiet and easy to get to. Only a minute walk to the buffet/restaurant and other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Redang Island is a beautiful place...and if you are a beach lover ..you will enjoy this place. We got a very good promotional package from the resort itself which included room rate + snorkeling (3times) + buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner + ferry service. So it was completely worth it.

You can book with your hotel package shuttle service from From Kuala Terengganu bus station or airport to the ferry point. From the bus station, it takes about 45 mins to reach the ferry point. Ferry hours are in the morning only so make sure you reach their on time. You will need to pay 5RM for Marine Park Reserve fee. The ferry takes another 45 mins to reach the Island.

The Island is beautiful, scenic and everything is just walking distance. I had my first snorkeling experience here in Marine Park and Deep Sea. If you haven't done it before make sure you try it here...you really don't need to know swimming as you have your life jacket on and snorkeling gear which can be rented from the resort activity centre for 30 RM. You can also ask for assistance / help from the staff divers.

The buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner is amazing and very tasty with wide selection of cuisines and huge spacious dining area. I never skipped a meal..!!

Room was with swimming pool view ..pleasant, tidy, spacious with clean towels and sheets. Beds were very comfy and we could easily accomodate 4 people. Most amenities provided. Swimming pool is very nice... but we ended up spending more time on the beach, snorkeling and eating. There is a karaoke and disco club too.

Staff was friendly, service provided was very good. Enjoyed our stay here :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Redang Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Redang Island Resort

Address: Pasir Panjang, Redang Island | S-5, Wisma Tenang, Jalan Sultan Sulaiman, Pulau Redang 20000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laguna Redang Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Laguna Redang Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Redang Island Hotel Pulau Redang
Hotel Laguna Redang Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Redang Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.