We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COZY RESORT ON LOVELY BEACH WITH SOME FAULTS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Redang Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Redang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coral Redang Island Resort
Save
You added Coral Redang Island Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9 Jalan Kampong Dalam, Pulau Redang 20000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“COZY RESORT ON LOVELY BEACH WITH SOME FAULTS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Coral redang island resort:
We arrived here after our trip to Borneo and since the land & sea transport would consume lots of our tight scheduled time we paid some more and flew from KL on an hour flight with Berjaya air. Everything went smoothly after landing and in 15 min we were transported first by car to marina and then with boat to the resort on Pasir Panjang beach. We checked in in superior room with extra bed which was not big, but we all fitted in (3+child of 3). Our son slept with us in bed, friend slept on extra bed. The rooms are one year old and they are sufficient for the needs on such a small asian island. But the mosquitoes are really pain in the ... The room was full of them and you can forget about sitting on the porch at the evenings if you don't want to get eaten alive. One thing we really missed was more seafood dishes on the menu and BBQ, because this is sty we can't wait to eat while on the islands.
The staff is really a big plus here; they went all the way when my wife needed to be transported to the mainland due the medical emergency. They've found a boat in few minutes and also arranged the land transfer to hospital in KT since the ambulance was late. One of the staff personal was with us all the time, even in the doctor’s waiting room. Since we had to stay in KT (there was no ferry back to the island that afternoon) he also took us to a nice hotel where we spent a night and then arranged the return to the island next morning. He picked us up from the hotel and went with us back to the island. And at the end they didn't charged us for any of this transportation. We are extremely grateful for all the help they have provided.
Redang itself is full of chines couples and groups on snorkeling trips and most of westerns are in laguna resort&berjaya resort. But this didn't bothered us since this is Asia after all :) we were little disappointed of all the garbage lying on the beach (even big pieces of broken glass!!!) and in the water. There is also all day long beach traffic of tractors carrying all sort of things up and down and a lot of boats scattered through the entire beach which can easily make you forget that you are actually laying on one of the most beautiful beaches in this part of the world. Otherwise the waters around are really crystal clear, azure, warm and full of marine life so kids will enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    110
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
52
87
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Coral Redang fronts Long Beach, where most of the hotels and resorts are located. Unlike places such as Phuket, there is not a well developed infrastructure in terms of roads, restaurants, etc, so there is no motorized traffic, no roads, and no pier – the ferry drops you off at the beach.

The beach is quite stunning, with fine powdery white sand. The sea off the beach is shallow and sandy-bottomed, so it is quite the perfect picture of your tropical island paradise.

The Coral Redang is a low-key resort with double-storey accommodation in a new section with nice, brick buildings and an older section with rooms in a two-storey block. There is a small swimming pool and all meals are taken in the open-sided wooden restaurant which overlooks the beach. There is a small dive centre beside the restaurant.

This is a family-oriented resort, and is suitable for a quiet family holiday. I say this because there are other resorts on the beach which provide a holiday for large tourist groups, featuring live bands at night, and lots lights and night-life, so it depends on what you’re looking for.

The Coral Redang, by comparison is, relatively rustic and unsophisticated, although that’s not a bad thing in itself, with muted lighting and peace and quiet at night. The nearest thing to night-life at the resort is a TV above the bar by the pool.

My room was a Standard room in the old block – although old, it was basic but adequate, with a relatively recently-refurbished bathroom and airconditiong but no TV. Room service was generally good, with room cleanliness being well maintained. There’s an in-room safe, a fridge, clothes hangers and a desk and chair by means of furniture. In other words, the room was fine for sleeping in but not a place you’d spend a lot of time in.

The buffet meals in the restaurant were nothing to shout about, but at least there was a decent variety. The restaurant does have a striking location with a view of the beach. One thing the resort could improve is access to drinks – other than meal times, even drinking water has to be purchased – surely a free availability of water, coffee or tea isn’t too much to ask?

This is particularly felt in the dive center - most dive centers provide nourishment after a dive, at least in the form of hot drinks and some biscuits, but here, you need to buy your own, so there’s definitely room for improvement.

Commendably, the resort is partially powered by solar-power and is experimenting with wind power and eventually hopes to do away with diesel generators in the future. This is in keeping with its overall low-profile as a place from which to enjoy the sheer beauty of the island.

Thankfully, other than a makeshift floating pier on pontoons, there are no structures to mar the beach. The jungle at the back of all the resorts is relatively untouched, and I think of the resorts as a necessary evil to enjoy the stunning natural beauty of Pulau Redang.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very nice small resort with excellent food! We liked the buffet every day and the well organised snorkeling trips. We enjoyed the superioir room, very nice, we recommend this place, nice and helpfull staff, snorkeling /diving facilities are good but honestly you can snorkle (without expensive trip) just in front of the hotel, there is a super reef with lots of sealife.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My partner and I travel back to Coral Redang Island Resort every year from Australia. Fell in love with it on first visit. Malaysian style resort on beach with great staff and atmosphere. Fall out of your room onto white sand then into clear blue warm water.
My partner dives and rates it very high. Daily snorkelling trips out off a boat is available for the non-diver.
Seen lots of changes and are returning in a few months for our first stay in new bungalows.
Even ferry then boat trip is part of the adventure to get to the Island.
Then there is the friendly poolside bar which comes to life in the evenings. It has everything we need.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at one of the villas.The room was adequate, yes there were no tea/ coffee making facilities as many have complained, but everything else was fine. The rooms were failry large, there was a balcony from where you could see the sea, the beach was your own and the food was excellent. We had a snorkelling package which allowed us to go snorkelling thrice. The boat took us to lovely locations where snorkeling was a pleasure. The guide also went out of the way to show us the turtles which were shy and not so easily seen.
Only one caveat. The restaurant did not function out of the meal hours. Perhaps they felt that with such gargantiuan meals we should not need any snacks, but I could have done with an evening cuppa which I missed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed in the newly renovated suites - of which there are only two which was like a spacious one bedroom house - right on the beach. Nice decor, most importantly aircon to lounge and bedroom. I think we had to request for the spare bed which was set up in the lounge as a day bed (bit rickety but ok for a kid). Although it was nice to have this lovely cottage to ourselves - I reckon if we ever go back I'd be more than happy with the deluxe/superior room and pocket the difference. Most of our time was spent either away from the place or indoors - the few times I tried enjoy the view from the front deck I got eaten alive by mozzies.

Almost every member of staff was warm and friendly - as a malaysian born myself - I was a bit stunned at how smiley, helpful and genuine everyone was. The Dive guys were exceptional - they were so kind to my kid and spent so much time with him when we went snorkelling that I honestly think that hanging out with them it was the highlight of his trip - nevermind the fancy fish and coral !

The initial clean of our room may have been a bit of rush job as we arrived on the island before the previous guest had vacated as the bathroom wasn't as clean as you'd expect. I think overall the housekeeping seemed quite laid back - which would have been quite fine with me if they did a super job in between guests!. Still - I found it hard to get angry with everybody smiling at me all the time.

The food from the buffet was average, the few dishes we tried from the a la carte were very much better. For me, considering it was an island holiday with limited options, the food on Coral was pretty much as good as it gets. As for the bar - I couldn't fault the cocktails or the staff !

We went during the Malaysian school holidays so it was CROWDED ! Annoyingly so at the snorkelling locations. At least at Coral itself - it was not crowded during meals or at the pool. My husband had a look around and reckoned that we had probably also the best beach area.

Redang itself is still very beautiful, beautiful coral and fish, beaches and jungle but I did get the feeling that it's getting kinda wrecked. There is already too much litter there for such a beautiful place - it makes me a bit sad to see cigarette butts and plastic bags/bottles on the beach. At the moment, it's still a great place to take little kids snorkelling - the dive shop at coral is well equipped with gear and top guys. The coral and fish are pretty good either off the beach or on the little trips with the boat. I really found snorkelling with the crowds took away a lot of the magic for me so I think I would avoid the school holidays next time. We flew to Redang from KL (Subang Airport) and got a speed boat from the Jetty to the resort - I'm sure it wasn't the most economical option but it was probably the quickest from KL.

Tip: Bring your own toiletries - they don't provide the little soaps, shampoos etc only generic liquid soap in shower and basin

Room Tip: Standard rooms older - not sure what they are like inside but outside was a bit dingy Deluxe/Superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed in the superior rooms, which are effectively standalone two storey houses with one room on each floor. Rooms are very basic even though the bungalows are newly built (less than a year as of Jun 2012). No hair dryer, no hot water flask. We had to borrow a kettle from the kitchen if you want some tea at night.

Free wifi around the pool, immediate beach area and restaurant area. No wifi in room.

We were on a room+breakfast only package and it was the right choice. The menu is limited and we were glad that we had the option to eat at other restaurants on the island. From our 3 dinners there, Summer Point at Redang Beach Resort has the best food. Second was the little cafeteria at Redang Bay Resort.

Dive centre guys were great. Did one dive and spotted many turtles, moray eels. We were supposed to be able to spot baby sharks by snorkeling just off the bay, but were unlucky both times.

Beach and sea directly in front of resort was great. Fine white sand and clear water. A much better swimming beach than the other half beach in front of Redang Beach Resort.

Coral island is also a much quieter resort than the other surrounding resorts which has either live bands or disco music at night. So it'll be better for people who prefers a quieter resort.

They have deck chairs for guests but only a few has cushions. We were glad we brought our own beach mats as the sand was a much softer option for lounging under the sun.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Redang Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Redang Island Resort

Address: 9 Jalan Kampong Dalam, Pulau Redang 20000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Redang Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Coral Redang Island Hotel Kuala Terengganu
Hotel Coral Redang Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Redang Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.