We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time - great service, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Redang Kalong Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Redang Kalong Resort to your Saves list
Redang Kalong Resort
Teluk Kalong Beach, Pulau Redang, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great time - great service, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just spent 5 days at kalong radang, excellent time, fully catered food, snorkelled twice a day for over 2 hours each time. The staff really looked after us. A banquet is offered 4 times a day, inclusive of accommodation charges but when we asked if they have vegetarian food, they provided special great meals each meal in addition to the banquette meals. The team on the snorkelling excursion we very attentive to everyone's needs. They were in the water with us each time pointing out lots of interesting things. They took us to some fantastic places.. So much to see. The atmosphere is totally relaxed, so much nicer than the big resorts which are a 15 minute walk away. Whilst the accommodation is basic we found it adequate clean and cosy. The air conditioning worked a treat, two bottoms just off and on. First class service we had a great time.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth the additional charge, but if there booked out the forest view are fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    90
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
40
55
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Redang Kalong is on an isolated beach which is beautiful. It's 15 minutes walk to the long beach which has more activities as well as people. If you value peace and quiet this is the place to be. We took the 5 dive package which was a great value for money at around RM 750 with accomadation for 2 nights and food included 4 meals a day. Snorkeling is included with the stay and they take you out 2 times a day by boat. Rooms are basic, walls are thin. Great staff and very friendly boatmen and dive instructors not to mention well experienced. No remote for air con so it gets a bit cold.Buffet style food so don't expect much. I would definitely return here for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I spent over a week at the resort and had an excellent stay here. The rooms were comfortable although the air conditioning did get quite cold at night. There is no remote placed in the room to control the air conditioning but if you ask at the front reception, they'll hand you one. reason being the remote always gets misplaced.
Initially i thought i did not have hot water shower in the room, but upon informing the front counter, they immediately checked it and it was actually a switch that had to be turned on before use which i did not see.
One small complaint i did have about the room is the walls were too thin and you could hear your neighbours speak or walk in the room. Having spoken to the owners or the resort about this, i was informed that the resort was built some 15 years ago and they now intend to tear down the old structures and rebuild the entire resort as well as rectify this problem.
Food is buffet style and was delicious with plenty of vegetables and choice of a meat and fish dish at every meal sitting.
The diving is very well organised and the guides are extremely helpful, attentive and experienced. Dive sites in Redang is amazing and i must admit that this is some of the best and healthiest corals i have seen in Asia.

Overall, my stay at Redang Kalong has been more then satisfactory. I would recommend the resort in a heat beat! A definite value for money!

Room Tip: highly recommend the sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The resort meets basic needs. The sun, the beach, the sea. If you are an avid snorkeler or diver, then it is even better. You can walk around in your swimwear all day and move around barefoot. It's your holiday and perfectly acceptable.

Amenities are basic i.e soap dispenser, bathroom with standing shower. There is no TV or hairdryer or coffee making facilities in the room. There is also no room/housekeeping service but a broom is provided in each room, in case you bring sand into the room after a day at the beach/sea. Having said that, the resort and its' rooms are already generally very clean. They also have a mini safe in each room.

Wifi is available at the community/dining hall at a small fee. But since there is good mobile network coverage, there's no problem at all if you have your own subscribed 3G services. Staff are very friendly and don't be surprised to see the guy who takes the guests out for snorkelling trips, also clears the table during meals and sometimes you can see him gardening or helping the divers carry their equipment to the boat and back! But what I really enjoyed at Redang Kalong is the food! Meal times are fixed and food is served buffet style. Nothing exotic, rather it is more home cooked than anything else. Fruits and salads accompany every meal. Water, coffee, tea and fruit juice are free flow round the clock and are included in the package cost.

The beachfront is quiet and away from the more popular Long Beach where most of the other hotels are located. Apart from the daily snorkeling and diving trips, there is nothing much to do but lie back on the deck chairs or hammock under the coconut trees, lulled into sleep by the soft breeze and gentle sounds of waves lapping up the shore. Do a bit a reading, sunbathe or play with your kids on the beach. If you are looking for more 'happenings', other than the simple card games, carrom/table tennis games or holler your lungs away in the karaoke (all available for free) here at Kalong, then you can take a 20 minute walk over to Long Beach where there are more holidaymakers and hence, more 'noise' and activities. Do note that the sands at Long Beach are softer and whiter while the stretch at Kalong's is more sandy and rough. Unfortunately, I think Redang Island has 'deteriorated' a great deal as a marine paradise as compared to 10/15 years ago, due to the increase of tourists activities on the island.

I only have one complaint. Beware of paper thin walls! During my stay, my family and I could hear 'nocturnal sounds' coming from the room next door and I am not talking about chit chatting or family engaging in conversation! You can actually hear people talking and walking past your front door as well!

However, if you are looking for a laidback, no fuss, no muss, away-from-the-hustle-and-bustle-of-city-life kind of holiday AND with a reasonable budget , Redang Kalong is a good choice. Go for it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rooms are basic but consider the price paid, you get what you pay for. The walls are so thin, you hear details of your neighbor's conversation in the silence of the night. Worst if they are heavy footed, you hear them stomping around. It is difficult to get a good night rest. The air conditioning is preset with no remote control, thus you cannot set it to your comfort level. I was breaking in sweat several times in the night when the AC decide to go off for a while.

The toilet has a strange stench like bad sewage and the shower head is set so high up, when you shower, everything including the toilet roll gets wet. Hot water is not available in the night. So if you decide to stay up late having some party of your own, you have to jump in bed feeling yucky. If you wake up early, sorry no hot shower. I was checking out and had to rush out for breakfast at around 7.30am. I could not even take a shower before leaving the resort as the hot water was not available. CRAP!!!!

When you arrive at the jetty, remember to wait and lug your own luggage, there is no porter service. If you are a diver and has many equipments, be prepared to break your back.

On the first dive, a girl who rented all equipments had a faulty BCD that would not inflate or deflate properly. So, best if you have your own equipment or you would have to take a gamble on the poorly maintained rentals.

As this resort offer fullboard service, the food was not impressive but not too shabby either. There are usually a few vegetables, fish and a meat with rice for both lunch and dinner. Breakfast however is quite boring. They serve pancakes with "honey"??? And there wasn't any yummy cold butter from the fridge, but all you get is some warm room temperature butter like thing that taste like crap.

Only thing great about this resort is the location! It is isolated on a stretch of beach that is away from the other big resorts that shared a stretch of beach. It is quiet and serene.

All in all, not impressed with the stay.

Room Tip: For additional of just a few tens of dollars, just go for the sea view rooms. Not like it is a lot b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassin-la-Demi-Lune, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very beautiful resort, an island of paradise after the chaos of Singapore and KL !
Basic but comfortable bungalows, clean and functional.

Food is basic but good, don't forget that it's an island so the variety of food is limited!
Snorkeling trips are just marvelous, very quiet and a lot of fishes!

I really don't understand the people that compare it with the Laguna Resort, which is just too large and over crowded! This is a quiet and confidential place with electricity 24 hours, a luxury in Redang!

If you're not ready to travel, don't go to Malaysia, you'll not find the same comfort as in Europe..

Room Tip: Beach front absolutely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at Redang Kalong Resort with my families in July, and we had two triple seaview rooms. The room is not big but very clean with all necessary facilities. And nice seaview is the best.
All staff of Kanglong are friendly and nice. And we like Ali especially. He is good snorkelling guide, and he is pretty walmheart and always help my families to learn snorkelling. He is also a good stuff in the resort always privde good service.
Resort provide free juice 24 hours, and 3 meals with additional Tean break meal in the afternoon. The food is not luxurious but very delicious. All entertainment facilities are free. Two times snorkelling per day, and the snorkelling point that Kalong recommended is pretty good.

The most reason that I recommened Kalong to you is I very enjoy the nice, relax, quiet atmosphere at Kanlong, without noisy as Luguna. All people at Kalong looks like a big family.

The package rate is good, meet my expectation very well. Only one thing that we expected to be better is the beach.

All of my familiy very enjoied the last night that we playing Gita and singing with Ali and Koko at beach, that's really a impressed experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redang Kalong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redang Kalong Resort

Address: Teluk Kalong Beach, Pulau Redang, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Redang Kalong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redang Kalong Hotel Pulau Redang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redang Kalong Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.