We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Employee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Redang Kalong Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Redang Kalong Resort to your Saves list
Redang Kalong Resort
Teluk Kalong Beach, Pulau Redang, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Regina, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Employee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The resort is built for diving or relaxing on the beach, there is not too much else. The only Tv is in the dining area, and at times you may have to watch what the majority want, even if it is not in a language you understand :)
The boys were great at keeping the place going and all the staff was great.
It sounds as if the food is better now, they used to have chicken wings every 3rd night and they were not precooked, just cooked on the bbq and I usually had the runs one or two times a week afterwards, don't eat the thicker drumlets.
AB Lee is the only divemaster/instructor who is a constant, others usually don't stay for one full season. He is a great guide if you are into photography, but can be abrasive, to put it nicely..
All in all, it is a great dive resort and would recommend it. Just avoid the titans, people have lost fingers and ears to them!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    90
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
41
55
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were looking for quiet relaxing beach holiday and after doing research on the hotels available in Redang, we finally settled on Redang Kalong Resort and stayed for 4D/3N.

Resort
The resort is small and cozy and the staff's friendly and speaks multiple languages. The rooms are basic but clean and en-suite toilets are clean, has hot water, air con and the bed is comfortable. If possible, get the sea facing rooms! The rooms has 1 x double bed and 1x single bed and a small cupboard. There was a safe in our rooms, but we did not use it as the locking system was busted. The only fallback about the rooms are the walls - the walls are super thin! So you can hear everything that your neighbour does! Towels are provided, but bring your own amenities! There is no fridge and no TV. The only TV available is the one in the common dining area.


F&B
I have no complains about the food at all! Actually, we all looked forward to meal times! :) They serve really tasty halal chinese-malay food as well as some western dishes. The full board comes with 4 meals a day -bfast, lunch, tea and dinner. Hot drinks, water, juice and bread (with jam, butter or peanut butter) is served all day. You can also purchase soft drinks and beer from the counter. Beer prices starts at RM 8 for Carlsberg and RM 10 for Anchor beer. Mineral water cost RM 4 per big bottle. If you choose to bring beer from the mainland, you can purchase a bucket of ice for RM 5.


Beach
The sand in Redang Kalong is coarse (not the white sand type) but water is clean and you get the entire stretch of beach to yourself! You can swim here but be careful of the corals! There's the house reef nearby that is worth going to.
If you are looking for white sand beach, take a 15min walk through the jungle to Laguna Redang resort and head to the beach. The sea is super clear and great for swimming but can get really really crowded over the weekends and public holidays as all the resorts on Long Beach share the same stretch of beach!



Overall, Redang Kalong is nice and quiet and away from the loud music and crowd you get at Long Beach. However, Redang Kalong is very basic and suitable for snorkelers and divers. The Dive center is bustling and has great instructors! Redang Kalong is suitable for those travelling solo, couples and friends. Suggest to bring a pack of cards or board games to entertain yourself at night.
If you have a family with young kids, best to head to one of the resorts in Long Beach for some entertainment.

We had a lot of fun on this trip and did not have any regrets staying in Redang Kalong! Its a great place to spend quality time together!

Room Tip: pay a little more for the sea facing rooms and try to get one next to an empty room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortenhoef, The Netherlands
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Best place on Redang if you're in to diving and snorkeling. Very good diving instructors. Good food. Not luxurious, but the room right on the beach more than compensates for that. Hope to come back here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed there 5 days 4 nights during 1st May to 5th May 2012. The place is clean and throughout our stay, they make affort to let us go for different snorkling places as they know that we are there for longer than normal 3 days 2 nights.

The staffs there try their best to attend your every single request. The food was very good and did not repeat for my whole stay. They also try to have Chinese mex western to fullfil everyone's need as there is mixure of local and westerner.

I am not a diver but from the equipment that they have and from my personal experince since I have been to many dive centre, this is one of the most well equip in Redang. The master is very patient and experince too.

The room was far more than i expected, is clean and for the price that you are paying and the service, food + room that you are getting, worth very single cent.

We would like to add extra for the seaview but it was full, as per promise, they has arranged us to the room that very close to sea.

Everyday the co-owner tim will offer my kids ice cream and they were very happy about it. When we went for snorkling, the staff has also help us to take care my 2 and 4 years daugther. My 2 years old daugther was so happy and she was not afraid of water anymore. Really appreciate the affort that those staff putting in.

This resort is also the only resort at that beach and it was quite quiet at night, you can purchase the alcohol drink with very small fee too. Very suitable for those traveller who looking for quality time at beach with family.

We will definetely go back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I had an amazing time at Redang Kalong. The price was fantastic - MYR$490 per person for the entire 3D/2N in mid Aug is an amazing price. The rooms are basic but clean - there is hot water and comfortable beds but our sea view was well worth the extra we paid for it.

I found the food tasty (halal Chinese food) and healthy, and the restaurant staff made an extra effort to prepare vegan (no meat and diary) food for my friend. If you are looking for a spa holiday don't come here - but if you want an inexpensive, memorable, relaxing holiday at a resort with friendly (particularly if you speak Chinese) staff with a knowledgeable dive staff, read on.

The beach is quiet (its the only resort there) but the sand is more rough than the other beaches we went to. Its not ideal for swimming because the house reef comes all the way to the shore and the rocks can get painful.

Things to note:

1) There is a friendly cat called mimi. She has five kittens (who would have grown up by the time you come here) who are very naughty.
2) There is a fat guy who can do magic card tricks
3) There is a guy who plays guitar
4) Alcoholic beverages are extra but inexpensive
5) Bring your own toothbrush and soap, you can also buy these essentials at the gift shop
6) If you want to go to Laguna Resort at Long Beach you can take the jungle path to it, takes about 15 minutes and passes a trash dump

Basically, they take you out snorkeling twice a day and feed you before and after. The reefs they take you to are good - corals are still alive and lots of fish.Very satisfying.

The HIGHLIGHT of our trip was when they took my friends and I out to the house reef to find sharks and turtles. We saw one small baby black tip shark and a huge Olive Ridley turtle.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Redang Kalong Resort is one of the best places in which i have ever been so far!
If you love the sea this is the place to be, if you are looking for something more relaxing in a luxury resort I suggest you to looking for  something else (maybe in longbeach).
The rooms are simple: comfortable beds, small closet, air-con, basic bathroom with hot water. But I used the room literally just to sleep so for me it wasn't a big deal!
The food is good (i think is chinese), there isn't a big choice but i think is enough to enjoying it for couple of days! (four hot dishes, hot soup, salad, fruit and one dessert)! They also give you some snacks around 11am and 5pm and tea, coffe, and juice all day!
The best part is the beach and the diving/snorkeling!!
This resort is the only one in this beautiful small beach (if you go in longbeach you can find i think more than 5 different resorts, so you can imagine how crowdy it is over there)! 
The staff is friendly and accommodating!
I had a problem in Kuala Lumpur and i couldn't reach the resort the date that i booked for, they changed my reservation with just two days notice without charging me anything (who travels a lot in asia knows that this ain't a normal behavior)!
My dive instructor AB Lee  is a legend! He might look a bit rude at first sight because of his sense of humor (he was calling me Godzilla lol) but he is a good laugh and probably the best diver and underwater photographer that i ever met! His photos are unbelievable, ask him to show you some of them, he will be glad! 
If you don't dive, don't worry because the snorkeling trips are amazing as well! Tim and his crew are gonna bring you in beautiful spots and even show you fishes and stuff while you are in the water!
Thank to Tim i saw turtles, moray eel, reef sharks, ray fish, nemos....And lots more!
After four nights I didn't want to leave Redang Kalong and the beautiful people that I met there but I will definitely go back asa I can!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murska Sobota, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

It is a basic resort. It is smaller, around 30-40 rooms. All on the beach.
Room:
In the room you have safe, but no TV. Shower is very basic, like the room. But it is clean.
Food:
The food in the restaurant is 7,5/10. We stayed there 4 nights, and you don´t get bored. You must go to the breakfast very early, if you want to have choice. Water and juice is unlimited for the whole also, also the toast with butter, jam or butter.
Beach:
It is the only hotel on this beach, so the beach never gets crowded. It is very good for swiming, because there are almost no waves (like on Long Beach).

Sand on this beach is not white and soft, like on the Long Beach (15 minuts away). But here you can swim. Here is also very quiet, so if you like a quiet vacation is a nice place. If you like party, then go to Long beach.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are renovated - a little bit better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redang Kalong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redang Kalong Resort

Address: Teluk Kalong Beach, Pulau Redang, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Redang Kalong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redang Kalong Hotel Pulau Redang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redang Kalong Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.