We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beach and crystal clear water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort to your Saves list
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 126, Main Post Office, Pulau Redang 20928, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing beach and crystal clear water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

We used Berjaya Air to get to this stunning island and then got on a bus to the resort. Here is a summary of our stay:

Beach and Open- Water Diving Course
The beach is truly amazing and the water is crystal clear. It is unbelievable! Even clearer than the pool. The only reason we were in the pool is because we booked the open-water course and had to do a couple of dives in the pool. Kim, the diving instructor was great and there was only 1 other person with my husband and I at the course. So we felt we got personal training. The sea dives were amazing, the coral was very alive and the array of creatures observed was very diverse.
The beach was not crowded when we were there and the loungers were plentiful. The sun is strong (although there was always a nice breeze) and tanning is effortless. Kayaks and paddle boats awere readily available and I think we used them for free.

Service
The service was good. Staff smiled and greeted us, however some staff were not as friendly. We got a complimentary chocolate cake on our second night (possibly because we were honeymooning), which was delicious and we thought it a very nice gesture.

Spa
The spa was nice and the masseurs were skilled. My husband had a strong massage and I had a scrub and we both enjoyed our treatments.

Accommodation
We booked a sea-view room and while the view was breath-taking, the room itself was outdated and occupied with very basic furniture (not a 5* room in my opinion). I do not advise this room if you are looking for a luxurious amenities. The bathroom was separated with blinds so the view can be seen from the shower and bath-tub which was great for us. The bathroom itself was not great though.

Food
The food was bad until we discovered the restaurant at the back of the resort which was pricier but provided considerably better food. The breakfast buffet was not good, flies all over the fruits, tasteless sausages, and not a good variety. I only stuck to eggs and toast. Do not go for lunch or dinner buffets as they are terrible. Food is imported into the island so this might be why it was not fresh.

Redang
We rented bicycles from the vendor just outside the resort to explore the island. There wasn't much to see so it is not recommended.

In summary the beach and diving course were amazing and I would definitely go back, although the accommodation is basic, the location makes up for that.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    280
    86
    42
    13
See reviews for
179
370
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We stayed at the Berjaya Redang for 10 days at the beginning of October and all I can say it was awsome!!!
The beach is the best that money can buy, the sea is as clear as the pool and the water so nice and warm!
All the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the golf buggy drivers who take you to your room and the staff at the beach side restaurent were really nice.
We had a hill view room that had a great view of the sea, which was weird but a nice surprise. The bed was massive and the bathroom was very clean and well layed out.
My only real complaint was the lack of entertainment or anything to actually do in the evenings, but if you just want a relaxing few days its not a major problem.
Well worth going round the island on trips to other resorts and have a walk into the village as the locals are really friendly and food/drink is lots lots cheaper!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, SA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed at this resort for a few days with slight trepidation as some of the reviews were less than favorable. However, im glad we trusted our instincts because the resort and experience was brilliant. Although we had expected to find our own way from the mainland to the resort, it was a smooth process as the hotel organizes everything with the ferry service from the mainland. Shuttle buses pick and drop you off at the ferry dock and organize your luggage. We decided to pay less and get a forest view which is a little walk to the main part (5-10minutes) and although we appreciated the walk, there are little golf caddies that shuttle people around constantly. The resort is well designed with an open malay feel and check in/checkout is relatively speedy. The food in the restaurants is top quality and the la-carte food even better (and reasonably priced). The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The pool is relaxing, clean and well landscaped, however we spent most of our time by the beach as the crystal clear water and white sands were too good to be true. There is a plethora of activities to do and the snorkeling trips are well organised and equipped. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. The only downside is that it is reasonably pricey - but, as it turns out, worth the money. We look forward to the next opportunity to come to the beautiful island and stay at the Berjaya.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Although they have a really fine sandy white beach, service is not good. Their staff are not well-trained. Ammenities are basic. Food is mediocre. Overall, the resort is not worth the rate they are charging.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our vacation to Redang Island. The Berjaya Beach Resort was great! Staff was very welcoming and helpful, especially Joe (Ismail), Food & Beverage Manager. He was so friendly and went above and beyond his duties to be helpful. Not to mention the food was great. Beaches were beautiful and very private, only for Berjaya guests. I'd definitely go there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I've just been to Berjaya Redang.

Well, first of all, let me tell you: the beach is really one of the best I've seen in my life, and I've been to Hawaii, Caribbean, Maldives, Phi Phi, etc... You will NOT be dissapointed by the beach and by the bay, it is truly spectacular.

The hotel itself is old but has undergone a massive refurbishment, so it is OK now.

Don't expect to find a boutique hotel with some Thai or Balinese atmosphere, because that's just not the case. Berjaya Redang is a standard hotel with standard amenities. For me the hotel is 3 stars superior, it is definitely not a 4-stars.

Be warned about the rooms: some of them have not yet been refurbished and they are REALLY old. These old rooms are the "superior rooms" situated in a two story building near the reception. Do NOT book these rooms.

We've booked an Hill View room, and we were satisfied. These rooms are brand new and big. They are of a 3 stars superior standard. We did not book a Sea View as we spend very little time in our room, we stay in the room only to sleep at night, and enjoy the beach all day long.

Big problems with these new rooms: the communicating door between rooms... If your neighbor is noisy, well, you will simply find it very difficult to sleep, believe me ! It's a major problem because it makes the room very noisy... We were fortunate because the couple occupying the room next to us was absolutely lovely and... QUIET.

The snorkelling is fabulous in the bay: there are lot of tropical fish, and there are two giant turtles, and it's very easy to swim with them: just take a kayak, go in the direction of the fabulous deserted beach on the other side of the bay, and here we go: this is where the giant turtles are living !

Believe it or not: most Berjaya guests stayed all day long around the swimming pool, unaware of the fantastic snorkelling just meters from them... One evening we spoke about the fantastic snorkelling with some other guests and they were like: "oh really, there are fishes and turtles in the bay in front of us ?!" ... Sounds crazy huh ?

Well, the beach is fabulous, the Hill View rooms are OK, the snorkelling is marvellous, so where are the problems, huh ?

Well, first of all, how is it possible to run a motorized water sports center in a bay like this ?! When we were there, hotel guests would do banana riding and parasailing all day long... We were on the beach and we went crazy with the very noisy and lousy boats that the hotel staff uses for the motorized water sports... It was like "BRRRRR PRRRRR VRRROOOOOOMMMMM" all day long... Lot of oil in the sea as a direct result of these motorized water sports... Needless to say, these motorized water sports are very bad for the environment, they destroy the reefs and disturb the animals life. I went to lot of tropical islands, and it's really the first time I saw such strange behaviour, it seems Berjaya does not care if in two years there will be not anymore fish, turtles or reefs in this bay... Also upon arrival at Redang airport, a Policeman told us that motorized water sports are prohibited on Redang island as it is a Protected Marine Park... Go figure !

Other problem is that Berjaya has put lot of rubbish from the previous hotel's refurbishment directly onto some rocks in the bay and in the sea... Not very smart !!!

Aside destroying the environment, there is a major problem in this resort: the food... It is overpriced and frankly very very very bad. This was a major dissapointment as we've been to lot of Thailand islands before, and the food has always been so fantastic there... But after the first day we found out a fantastic restaurant just after the hotel's exit on the main road: AIMA'S. The place itself seems not very nice at first sight, but the point is that the food is 100000 times better than at the hotel and it costs around 70% less !!! By the way, I'm French and I live in Italy, so let me tell you: I know what GOOD FOOD is !!!

Also activities and excursions are overpriced...Compared with Thailand islands, we did feel totally being ripped off.

All in all, this is a resort with major positive sides and major negative sides...

Would I go back ? I think YES, because swimming with giant turtles is a crazy experience, and to go again at AIMA'S restaurant and eat their fantastic calamari.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We must have had a little notice on our backs that said, Royalty here!! We were treated like Royalty. On our first day staff in both restaurants were saying hello Mr David. With 60% occupancy I was impressed. We paid for a hill view room and somehow got a fantastic sea view. The room was large, well furnished and clean. Great balcony with 2 loungers. 2 small bottles of water each day. A large bowl of fruit on one day. Good house keeping. Good buggy service if you need it from room to beach. Christine, the front office manager was a little gem. She did everything she could to try and get Malaysian airline to change our flight day. (Malaysian airline cancelled our flight Perth to KL so we lost a day at the resort. They would change the flights but wanted a lot more money!)
The water in the bay is fantastic. Clear and warm. (The resort boats diesel engines are old and polluting. I had to swim around an oil slick from one of the boats. Management, please rectify this to protect your piece of paradise.) The pool is small but the beach is better with plenty of beach loungers, but a shortage of matts to go on the loungers.
Wan Azmi Kassam the Outlet Manager, like Christine, is an asset to the company.
We had 4 nights at Berjaya. Flew down with Malaysian Airlines from KL to Kuala Terengganu. Got a 40 MYR taxi ride (15mins) to Terengganu Jetty. Tickets from Berjaya Resort ticket ‘shed’ and bags carried on and off ferry. Met by Resort bus on Redang for 5 minute ride across to the Beach Resort. When we left, Azmi picked us up in an air conditioned car and drove us over to the ferry. If you want: Good service, beautiful beach, clean water, great sea view rooms then go to Berjaya Beach Resort.

PS. I read on here a review that spoke of bed bugs. We got bitten by something, not bed bugs as the linen is changed daily and is fresh and chrisp. Maybe it was something from the sea as I was attacked both sides of my chest and my wife on the backs of her legs. The bites take a couple of days to start inching and the top comes off. It has taken a week for them to go. Can anyone shed some light on this?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort

Address: PO Box 126, Main Post Office, Pulau Redang 20928, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘The Taaras’ is a bespoke Private Beach Residence, tucked away and hidden from the outside world on a small Island found just off the unspoilt East Coast of tropical Malaysia. Considered to be one of the most beautiful Island locations in the South China Sea, the Isle of Redang is home to our natural, yet stylish resort found on one of the most spectacular bays surrounded by one of the bluest oceans on earth. The resorts ethos is to provide a contemporary, barefoot luxury experience with warm Asian hospitality, remembered with a smile long into the future. The name of the property is derived from the Sanskrit word ‘TAARA’, meaning ‘Star or Apple of my eye’ as well as ‘Goddess of the Sea’ which are all represented and epitomised by our mermaid figurehead. The resort is managed by The Taaras Luxury Group, and was formerly known as Berjaya Redang Resort managed by Berjaya Hotels and Resorts. With the stylish suites and rooms, as well as a stunning five bedroom Private Villa perched high up on the cliff overlooking the ocean and resort below. The resort boasts commissioned furniture and bespoke photography of Redang Island and the landscapes of Malaysia. Each suite or room contains oversized beds and hand-picked linens and fabrics for your comfort. Most rooms and all suites have larger washrooms containing both bath tub and separate rain or monsoon shower (some with spa bathtubs looking out over the rainforest or the bay). Most residences have an outdoor balcony or verandah and our suites at the top of the cliff summit have spectacular views over the beach and ocean below. For clients who prefer or require further privacy ‘The Cliff Private Villa Bay & Sea View’, our private five bedroom residence perched high up on the cliff more than meets the requirements; private access, a Villa Host at your ‘beck and call’ as well as twenty four hour security; should it be a necessary requirement. The residence also enjoys a sixteen meter Infinity swimming pool, personal fitness room and both interior and exterior lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Redang Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Redang
Berjaya Redang Beach Hotel
Berjaya Redang Beach Resort
Hotel Berjaya Redang Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.