We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Resort, 6 Star Prices, 3 Star Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort to your Saves list
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 126, Main Post Office, Pulau Redang 20928, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“5 Star Resort, 6 Star Prices, 3 Star Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had high expectations when I booked this resort after reading consistent glowing reviews of The Taaras. At their going room rate ( RM 1500 per night for Garden Suite), I had imagined to have the same kind of pampering as we did in the Maldives. We booked ourselves a Garden Suite for 3 nights during the Hari Raya celebration weekend ( 7-10 Aug). It was probably the wrong time to go to a Malaysian resort.

We took Berjaya Air directly from Singapore to Pulau Redang. The flight was badly delayed but that didn't bother us as we were on a holiday. After a long queue at the immigration, we got greeted by staff from The Taaras who were already waiting for their guests from this flight. We were guided to the shuttle van which left for the resort once it was filled up. The resort was barely 10 minutes from the airport and we were again greeted at the lobby of the seemingly beautiful resort. We were invited to sit in the lobby while waiting for someone to check us in. During the wait, they nicely offered us a lemon ginger drink with a cool towel. Nice touch. It was close to 4.30pm when we got into the reception for our check in. We saw random staff attending to other guests seated all around the lobby except us.

After waiting for 10 minutes, we asked the staff clearing the drink glasses if we were meant to go to the front desk to check in. She promptly replied that we were be attended to for check in. We continued to wait and saw the other people being given their keys to their rooms. After another 10 minutes, one staff walked by and asked if we have been checked in. When we said no, she gave us a form to fill out the particulars we have filled out when we booked the room. No problem. We dutifully completed the form and passed our credit card to her to process the check in. 10 minutes later, she came back to return the credit card and said that our room is not yet ready so we had to wait. I asked what time was check in, she answered 2pm and it was already 5pm. She just gave an apologetic smile and said the room was not ready. When we asked how long we needed to wait, she said she wasn't sure. We waited for another 15 minutes, seeing new arrivals of guests from the airports being served and brought to their rooms. After being fed up of wasting away in the reception for almost a good hour, we went to the staff again to ask what was the status with our room. Housekeeping could not have taken so long. It was only then that she revealed that the room was actually ready but their maintenance staff was trying to fix the air con that wasn't working. We promptly said we wanted to just check into the room and settle down while they fixed the air con. We were finally brought to our room. While we booked the Garden Suite, which was meant to be near the beach and pool area, they changed our booking to be at the Sea Cliff View Suite, which was up on the hill and almost the furthest possible room from the reception. If you don't take the buggy, it would be a 10 minute vertical climb via the stairs which is only possible if it is not raining.

We entered the beautiful suite with a staff repairing the air con. The view from the room was spectacular and we even had a jacuzzi tub right at the window looking at the beach. The bathroom was very spacious and tastefully decorated. Connecting to the big bedroom was an equally spacious living room with a balcony of the same beautiful beach view. The room took away the initial frustration of checking in.

There are only 2 main restaurants for meals in the resort. The Asean Restaurant provides both buffet and ala carte choices while the Beach Brasserie serves more expensive ala carte meals. Because there are many guests that buy dinner vouchers for the buffet, the Asean Restaurant can get crowded and noisy during the typical meal times. That said, the food at the Asean Restaurant was really good and the selection of the buffet was extensive. Food does not come cheap at the Taaras. Expect to pay premium pricing on everything. ( RM 110++ per person for buffet dinner, RM 40-50 for pasta/burger). The Executive Chef, Wayne, was a friendly face you would see at both restaurants. I have not seen any Executive Chef so smiley, friendly and humble before. He would help any of his staff to do anything when he saw that they were shorthanded. ( even frying a sunny side up). There was no airs about him and he took time to have a decent chat with guests instead of the typical formality exchange. The wait staff, like the front desk, have inconsistent levels of service. We got served iced water when we ordered warm water, we were told there was no Tiger beer available and saw several other tables being served Tiger beers after that, etc.

The beach was the highlight of the stay. It was very private and unlike the other resorts on the island, the beach was not shared with anyone else. Guests will try to head down early to the beach to book their lounger beds as they get taken up very quickly after breakfasts. The sand was powdery white and the waters were extremely clear. Even clearer than the Maldives. There is a house reef on the left side of the beach near the rocks which houses many many kinds of fish. There were spottings of a baby shark, eagle rays and turtles. There are many activities you could do: canoeing, paddle boating, paddle surfing, etc. There is also a dive centre right at the resort which makes it super convenient when we wanted to go on the dive. We went on 2 dives with the dive school. Their service was great but we didn't get to see much during both dives. A big sting ray hiding under the corals was the highlight. We saw more fish when snorkelling. It may also have been just due to the dive sites we went to.

We also booked a massage at the spa which was a pleasant experience. Again, prices are on the high side ( RM 210-280 for 50 minute massage) but the treatment rooms were really nice and service was distinctively better than the rest of the resort.

Back to the room, we made several calls to front desk to ask for help on air con repair as it never worked since we got into the room and were told it was repaired. We finally managed to get maintenance to come back the 2nd day to attempt to fix it again. This time, they concluded that the blower was spoilt so they would need 2-3 days to get the spare part. We would have checked out by then so we lived with just the ceiling fan. We also had a big spider in our room that required several calls for housekeeping help/insecticide requests before we got the insecticide to deal with the spider ourselves. While the room was fantastic, there was the smell of the sewer during the nights. Our water heater never worked so we had to take cold showers. We never bothered to inform the staff about that after the level of service standards was established from the first day.

On the final night, we went to speak to the duty manager regarding the non working air con to which he nicely offered a discount, as he put it ' I'll give you 10% discount for each night, so the total is a 30% discount'. We didn't know if he genuinely believed 3 nights of 10% discount equated to a 30% discount but we just left it as that. It has been tiring dealing with the service standards.

The duty manager was present when we were checking out. He promptly reminded his staff attending to us to include the 10% discount into our final bill which was appreciated. 2 minutes later, the staff printed out the bill with NO discount and asked us to sign and pay. I asked about the discount and she went back to her records to add that in. By that time, we were just glad we won't have to deal with this kind of service for much longer.

The shuttle back to the airport was swift and efficient. While the resort was beautiful in so many ways, the inconsistent service standards and disappointing interactions with certain staff have left us wondering how they are rated as highly as they are. Maybe it was the wrong time to come when they are at their peak or maybe we just expected certain details to be thought of when we are paying so much per night. If we return to Redang, it would be unlikely that we would come back to The Taaras. I'd rather pay a third of the price and not expect much.

Room Tip: Garden Deluxe/Suites and Ocean Front Suites are near the beach and restaurants which will have many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing us as your host during your recent visit to Malaysia and sharing your experience with us on this public platform.

There is no end to comfort and leisure at The Taaras Beach and Spa Resort. Our rooms are designed with convenience in mind providing space to unwind. You can explore the various rooms, amenities and a place according to your requirements.

We are displeased to know about the unpleasant experience you had due to delay in services at our end. We assure you necessary measures will be taken to avoid the inconvenience in future.

Once again thank you for sharing your opinion and wish to welcome you back with our renewed services.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    290
    86
    43
    15
See reviews for
190
383
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights from July 23- July 29.

This beach resort is as beautiful as the pictures show. Service is great, details are beautiful, the beach is WHITE, and the water is crystal blue. It truly is a little piece of paradise.

The only thing is - if your budget can JUST manage to pay the price of the room, I would not recommend you to go here. Why? Because they charge 5 times the price as the same acitivites/foods as they charge in f.ex Perhentian Islands (no kidding!). They charge 35-40 RM for a coctail, 22-28 RM for a beer, about 220 for a dive trip (incl everything) (a dive trip in Perhentian was about 60-80 RM), and 1200 RM for surf dinner. As you can see, this is extremely expensive when considering the location is in Malaysia. I am from Norway, and to find a place down there with Norwegian prices - well, i am amazed. But i guess it is what it is, a true paradise comes with a cost.

One more thing - we experienced somproblems with our room (garden view). The shower drain did not funcion properly, so the whole bathroom was flooded every time we took a shower, and there was a smell of sewage from time to time. Though, we did not complain about it, I guess they would fix it immediately if we told them, as the service provided was excellent. They even drove us with a golf car to our room should we be "too warm and lazy to walk".

The gym is excellent by the way. Make sure you use it! Beautful view of the whole beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Malaysia and for sharing your experience with us on this public platform. Situated on an island off the East Coast of tropical Malaysia, our resort provides barefoot luxury experience with bespoke Asian hospitality.

A home away from home, we endeavor to offer our guests with the best of amenities and recreational facilities. Our patrons have always appreciated us for a perfect dining experience and the efforts of our staff. Your kind words motivate us to strengthen our resolve in serving our patrons.

We have duly noted your concern about the rooms and regret the inconvenience caused.
Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us and hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you with our renewed services.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. We got upgraded to a suite on the hillside. It was a marvelous experience. The room are highest standard. The service was brilliant and the staff highly motivated. Admittedly the hotel is also price wise high end. The price for the extra services and the restaurant correspond to the hotel category. But you get what you pay for and it is worth mentioning that many products are imported to satisfy the guests' expectations. The breakfast buffet is rich and offers something for everybody's taste. Although the hotel was fully booked the place stayed quiet and relaxing. The beach itself is fairy tale like. Note: Don't feed the monkeys! The French restaurant charges higher prices, but has excellent sea food and is less crowded. There is a coral reef immediately in the bay (on the left side) so you can have a great snorkeling experience directly from the hotel beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Malaysia and for sharing your experience with us on this public platform. Situated on an island off the East Coast of tropical Malaysia, our resort indeed is a perfect gateway for a tranquil and rejuvenating stay.
Rooms at The Taaras Beach and Spa Resorts have been tastefully designed for the comfort of our patrons. Whether it be a lavish buffet spread or outdoor dining, food at our resort is always hard to resist. We are glad to know that you had a satisfying experience with us.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us. We deem it a privilege to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our stay was awesome. My first trip to Redang Island has given me good memories. The Taaras did not disappoint. Staff were attentive and always with a smile on their face. The room that we were booked in was indeed huge with great amenities. I particularly loved their body and hair shampoo and also the bath foam and salt :) Tip:- you need not bring your own body and hair shampoo.

The bed was huge and very comfortable, cant complain at all.

The beach was beautiful and peaceful at times since it is a private beach. The snorkelling trip was very memorable as well.

Well done and thank you to the Resort Manager, Gulab and his team.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Karinem,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip and for sharing your experience. Our resort is located on a private island of Malaysia and is a perfect getaway destination for travelers. We are immensely pleased to know that our services and facilities were at par with your expectations. The team is happy to know that you enjoyed various aspects of the resort and had a memorable stay.

Once again, we thank you for your patronage and would be more than happy to host your stay.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The taaras beach resort is an amazing resort. White sandy beach, superfriendly staff. Thinking we booked regular rooms, our jaws dropped when entering the room. An entire livingroom, very large bathroom and bedroom and then another bathroom overlooking the bay!
The buffet is great, good variety. Drinks with alcohol are quite expensive but we were happy they served them outside of Iftar- hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Malaysia and for sharing your experience with us on this public platform.

Situated on an island off the East Coast of tropical Malaysia, our resort indeed serves as a peaceful getaway destination for travelers. Our resort is an ideal venue for a cozy and a comfortable stay. We are glad to learn that you had a satisfying experience during your stay and our services were at par with your expectations.

We would like to thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was reading the comment made here and have mixed feeling about it.Called The Taara,they have a beautiful beach but their rate is way above what i can afford.I booked this resort because i was thinking i can walk to Long Beach. I was told they have small beach but did not asked about Long Beach. Like everyone here i was a bit frustrated but credit to the staff for making my stay enjoyable. I book this resort and feel that it is not fair to comments on the location because I book it. Snorkeling package and two marine park trip given was a good touch to put my holiday on track. I would suggest the interior of the room to be given a new looks. New furniture,new bathroom but maintain the building structure as I think it is unique and it give you the resort feeling.Change the van to something more quite as it is disturbing when they shuttle up and down. If you ask if would i recommend this resort, yes and no. If you are looking to sit under the sun all long and enjoy good crowd this is not the place,if you come to have a good rest, a quite place and go out for activities,the YES......

Room Tip: I would suggest the interior of the room to be given a new looks. New furniture,new bathroom but mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Taaras Beach and Spa Resort and taking out time to share your experience on this public platform.

Tucked away from the outside world on Redang Island, The Taaras is considered one of the most beautiful island locations in the South China Sea. Like you, in your feedback mentioned, it is indeed a perfect getaway if you are looking for a peaceful and quite time. We also offer trips to Marine Park, snorkeling packages, diving lessons, etc. in order to add value to your vacation. We take this opportunity to inform that the pricing has been kept according to the current hospitality standards. We have noted your problem about the shuttle van and ensure that necessary modifications will be made at the soonest possible. We remain committed in providing our patrons the best in services and facilities.

Feedback like yours helps us strengthen our resolve. We would deem it a privilege to serve you again.

Best Regards
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After a colossal disappointing stay at Redang Island Resort this place was amazing!

You will fall in love with the place once you walk from the reception and it opens out to the wide sandy beach! I never wanted to leave!

I have no complaints! The price stings a little but it was a really nice treat!

The food array was amazing, the cocktails were on an off... but still super yummy!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Suites... our best decision based on price and we reckon the best location b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip and for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. Nestled on a private island of Malaysia, The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort perhaps serves as a perfect getaway destination for travelers.

We are glad to know that our services, facilities and products were at par with your expectations. We offer a range of accommodation options that feature the most modern amenities. We are delighted to note that you had a pleasurable dining experience at our multi-cuisine restaurant.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We would be honored to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort

Address: PO Box 126, Main Post Office, Pulau Redang 20928, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘The Taaras’ is a bespoke Private Beach Residence, tucked away and hidden from the outside world on a small Island found just off the unspoilt East Coast of tropical Malaysia. Considered to be one of the most beautiful Island locations in the South China Sea, the Isle of Redang is home to our natural, yet stylish resort found on one of the most spectacular bays surrounded by one of the bluest oceans on earth. The resorts ethos is to provide a contemporary, barefoot luxury experience with warm Asian hospitality, remembered with a smile long into the future. The name of the property is derived from the Sanskrit word ‘TAARA’, meaning ‘Star or Apple of my eye’ as well as ‘Goddess of the Sea’ which are all represented and epitomised by our mermaid figurehead. The resort is managed by The Taaras Luxury Group, and was formerly known as Berjaya Redang Resort managed by Berjaya Hotels and Resorts. With the stylish suites and rooms, as well as a stunning five bedroom Private Villa perched high up on the cliff overlooking the ocean and resort below. The resort boasts commissioned furniture and bespoke photography of Redang Island and the landscapes of Malaysia. Each suite or room contains oversized beds and hand-picked linens and fabrics for your comfort. Most rooms and all suites have larger washrooms containing both bath tub and separate rain or monsoon shower (some with spa bathtubs looking out over the rainforest or the bay). Most residences have an outdoor balcony or verandah and our suites at the top of the cliff summit have spectacular views over the beach and ocean below. For clients who prefer or require further privacy ‘The Cliff Private Villa Bay & Sea View’, our private five bedroom residence perched high up on the cliff more than meets the requirements; private access, a Villa Host at your ‘beck and call’ as well as twenty four hour security; should it be a necessary requirement. The residence also enjoys a sixteen meter Infinity swimming pool, personal fitness room and both interior and exterior lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Redang Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Redang
Berjaya Redang Beach Hotel
Berjaya Redang Beach Resort
Hotel Berjaya Redang Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.