We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful private beach, very friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort to your Saves list
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 126, Main Post Office, Pulau Redang 20928, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Schwaz
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful private beach, very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very beautiful Hotel. We had the Bungalows and it was just perfect. Breakfast provides something for every taste. A scuba diving Center is in the Hotel. Pool is ok - but with this beach and the blue sea we did not need the pool. Free Wlan included.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    290
    86
    43
    15
See reviews for
189
383
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

On the day we were going to leave the Taaras, my daughter said to me "Mommy, I don't want to go home. I really love this place and playing on the beach. I wish I could stay here". I couldn't help but feel the same way.
Our holiday didn't start off too well. Our flight to Redang was cancelled and we only managed to leave the next day. When I called the Taaras about the cancelled flight, they were so kind as to tell me that they wouldn't charge for the day since the flight was cancelled.
So we arrived in Redang the next day. A bit hazy at the airport but surprisingly clear at the resort itself. Guess the fact that the resort was at an inlet with 2 hills on each side helped to keep the haze at bay. Not only that, with its location, the crystal clear waters were calm and the kids could swim safely at the beach. The powder like sand felt so good between the toes. The private beach was nice and quiet with couples and small families. I met some acquaintances at the Redang airport on the day we left - they stayed at the main beach and shared that the beach was constantly crowded and noisy with hordes of tourists.
Our party of 3 families stayed at different room categories. We stayed at the oceanfront bedroom suite and that was so comfortable and clean. The amenities were aplenty and housekeeping came by twice a day so we always had clean fresh towels. The view out of the porch on to the beach and the sea cannot be more perfect. The others stayed in the oceanfront studio suite and hill deluxe suites and they were equally spacious and comfortable.
The staff were warm and friendly. Everyone from the reception to the restaurant to housekeeping. The recreation and activity center is manned by friendly staff and special mention must go to the boatmen who brought us snorkeling, turtle watching and fishing (especially Shafar/Shafan - can't quite remember his name). He went out of his way to make the kids happy, letting him see all the beautiful fishes and corals at the house reef.
We found the food range adequate and we loved the range of fresh juices for breakfast. Theme nights such as bbq nights ensured we had variety.
I went to the Spa for a massage and facial and it was heavenly respite after all the time spent out in the sun and sea. My therapist was considerate and always asked if I was comfortable.
It may seem like a lot of money for the packages but I thought it was totally worth it for the facilities, activities, private and quiet beach, friendly staff, luxurious rooms and professional management. Moreover I think it's more than fair charges keeping in mind that the island is closed 5 to 6 months of the year during the monsoon season.
I'm sure we will soon be back on Redang island and when we do, we will be staying at The Taaras.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at Taaras Beach & Spa Resort and sharing your stay experience. We express our gratitude for the review and are elated to know that our location in the picturesque setting of Radang Island captured your attention.

Taaras Beach & Spa Resort is one of a kind resort in Malaysia that provides ample opportunities to relax and rejuvenate. We are glad to learn that we have been able to excel your expectations in every department. Guest satisfaction is our topmost priority and we are immensely pleased that you could enjoy different facets of our services and facilities. We are overjoyed to know that you had a memorable time at our resort.

We thank you for the custom and would love to be your host again.

Thanks and Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Let's be honest and just tell it the way it is: you would not want to stay anywhere else while in Redang!

Following a 5 minutes mini van journey from the airport, we were nicely received and seated while being checked in. From there, we were nicely transported by golf kart to our room. We stayed in a beach front room on the top floor. The room was big and spacious, with a comfortable bed, a decent seating area, a walking closet, and a nice patio facing the beach. The bathroom was pretty big and divided onto 3 different areas. Toilet, wash room and shower / spa area. Overall, the room was pleasant, large and quiet.

The diving facility on site is reasonably nice. The staff were quite friendly and useful. The equipment was of good quality, and the boat is pretty new and spacious. The water unfortunately was quite choppy, and as a result the visibility was quite poor. I can't remember how much we pay, but I don't believe that it was too much.

Breakfast is a normal type of buffet, with choice ranging from cereals, pastries to Chinese food.

The outside bar on the beach is just right to enjoy a cocktail, and the restaurant on the beach is also a nice place to eat. Good menu and large selection of wines.

The spa was fully booked so we could not go, the gym is pretty nice with a beautiful view on the sea.

Everything sounds great from what I described, but there are a few things you should know:

- Once in this resort, you cannot go anywhere else. Yes you can go walking to the village, but there is nothing to see. You can go to long beach area, the more lively part of the island, but only by boat. No boat captain was present when we were.
- Flight out of the island is around 10 am, and the hotel drives you 90 minutes before, meaning you have to get up by 7:30 to leave by 8:30, really???
- Restaurant is nice as mentioned but will easily cost you over a thousand ringgit for 2 persons.
- Pricing policy is definitely arguable.

Bottom line:

Yes, this is a pleasant place to go for a quiet / relaxing / romantic week end.
Would I recommend? Maybe.
Would I go again? I am not sure to be honest...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Franck,

First of all, thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us in Redang and for sharing your review here on TripAdvisor.

The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort is tucked away on the East Coast of Malaysia, far away from the hustle & bustle of the city, offering a perfect getaway destination for travelers who are looking for a romantic interlude, families with kids looking to enjoy a beach holiday or travelers who wish to unwind from the daily grind.

We are glad to know that you received a warm welcome upon your arrival, a swift check-in, enjoyed in-room amenities and had a nice time during your meals. Also, it is a pleasure to note that you were impressed with our array of recreational facilities including the gym and the spa. Our focus lies in offering complete guest satisfaction to our patrons paired with the best of amenities and warm Asian hospitality.

However, we did notice your concern about the pricing policy for our dining amenities. We take this opportunity to inform that our pricing policy has been set according to the current industry standards.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We would deem it a privilege to serve you again.


Thanks and Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a beautiful Resort on the wonderful private beach of Redang Island. Rooms and bathroom are really wide and comfortable. We had just some troubles with toilet flush, but staff quickly resolved the problem a couple of times. The only underaverage service were restaurants, the one on the beach was expensive and minimum quality standard, the main one (open at dinner) was ok but lacking of originality. Just 50 meters to main entrance there is a nice and simple restaurant with impressive and cheap food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip and we sincerely appreciate your thoughtfulness of sharing your experience with us.

Nestled in the East Coast of Tropical Malaysia, The Taaras Beach and Spa resort acts as a perfect getaway destination for all the travelers. We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay in our rooms that feature the most modern amenities. We take your feedback as constructive as it will help us in raising the bar of our services. We have sincerely noted the concerns highlighted by you relating to the dining service and we assure you that we’ll incorporate changes in the menu to further enhance the experience.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We would deem it a privilege to serve you again with your renewed services.

Thanks and Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were here in May 2013, and this was our third visit to this resort, we have been coming here since it was called Berjaya Redang. This place still maintain the tranquillity, charm and the ever beautiful beach. When we checked in to our room, garden suite 116, we were greeted with floral arrangement of Welcome Back , few days later they arranged floral sign of Happy Anniversary, appreciate the gestures. If you look for quiet time with your loved ones, this is the place. They also served a good buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I can say this place have improved much since my last visits, the staff are not overly friendly, but helpful. We will definitely be here again.

Room Tip: Garden suite, easy access to beach, restaurants, lobby and amenities. However with buggy service mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip and we sincerely appreciate your thoughtfulness of sharing your experience with us. Tucked away from the hustle-bustle, our resort serves as a perfect getaway destination in Malaysia for all travelers.

Our staff makes consistent efforts to cheer guests during special occasions and we are glad to receive your kind comments. We offer an array of accommodation options that feature the most modern amenities. We are delighted to note that you had a pleasurable dining experience with us and the entire team is honored to receive your acknowledgment.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We would deem it a privilege to serve you again.

Thanks and Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Booking-called the Taaras booking service and it was good. They took care of both the hotel reservations and flight. That made it easier for coordination purposes. The lady in charge was also helpful and pleasant. Upon reaching Redang airport, we were met by the Taaras rep who took us in a van to the resort.Check in was a breeze though they initially gave us a different room from what we asked for. That however was sorted out within the hour. The resort itself was nice, peaceful and serene. Not many guests throughout our stay there which we were told was quite normal.

We went on turtle watching on the boat on the first day itself which was very enjoyable. We were also taken to see fishes and corals which were close by. The next day we went on a four stop snorkelling and managed to see loads of fishes and corals. Beautiful! Generally all activities are sea based, so if you are not a fan of the sea or beach, you would be bored out of your skull. However, the water is so clear and the seaworld there so beautiful, you would be amiss if you dont at least jump into the sea or snorkel at least once.


Staff wise-they were generally very friendly and helpful save for one or two odd ones. Service was generally quick whenever we asked for something. Food was ok though expensive.

Talking about expensive, everything is expensive there. From food and drinks to the water activities, everything is expensive. All the facilities there cost a tonne of cash. Be prepared to pay the hotel for all the activities and you will have to, as the hotel is secluded and is the only operator there for water activities.

Now checking out - it was simple and easy. The hotel gave my bill on the eve of checkout. We managed to sort out some discrepancies on the bill without any hassle. The hotel must however allow for guests to leave the hotel much later than the 2pm departure coz it only takes 5 minutes to the airport and there is nothing to do there whilst waiting for the 3.45pm (if not wrong) flight.

Generally a good break and a wonderful experience. It would be good to have more things to do and a little less expensive please.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing us as your host during your recent trip and for sharing your experience with us. Situated in the East Coast of Tropical Malaysia, The Taaras Beach and Spa Resort is a perfect getaway destination for all travelers.

We are glad to know that our services were at par with your expectations and your appreciation for the efforts of housekeeping team has been duly conveyed to them. We offer an array of accommodation and dining options to satisfy the needs of our distinguished patrons. We aim at providing ultimate relaxation to our guests through recreational facilities like swimming pool and fitness centre. We take this opportunity to inform that our pricing policy has been set according to the current industry standards.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We would deem it a privilege to serve you again.

Thanks and Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is my 3rd visit (previous 2 visit THe Taaras was still under Berjaya. Back then it was still affordable. This time, the price is very much multiplied. The resort has new buildings and sections on the hillside. We stayed at hillside deluxe. Distance is not much of a problem because they do have a buggy service which is quite efficient. Room is probably the best you can get anywhere in redang island. Toiletries should come in double (not just tooth brush).. but you're not gonna share loofa for example. Quiet beach, just like before. But yet, with such high price (about RM1000) a night, it could actually have more fine touch.. e.g. fresh flowers/complimentary chocolate or cookies in room/ lime sorbet instead of usual lime water as a welcome drink. Those little things and gestures.. would actually make guest feel very welcome and appreciated. Staff are friendly and well trained. Overall, Im definitely going back to The taaras next month. This is going to be my paradise escape. P/s: saw few plastics underwater, and the watersports counter/tower is quite dirty. Snorkeling trip is good. Marine park has too many people therefore i cannot appreciate snorkeling there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaarasBeachSpaResort, Management at The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for checking-in at our resort during your recent trip and for sharing your kind review with us. It fills us with immense pleasure to know that it was your third visit at our resort and that our services were at par with your expectations.

The Taaras Beach and Spa Resort is located on the Redang Island and is surrounded by ocean that encourages one to indulge in various water sport activities. We offer an array of accommodation options that feature the most modern amenities to suit the needs of our distinguished patrons. We have sincerely noted the concerns highlighted by you and assure you that timely actions will be taken at the earliest.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope that you would continue to stay our valued patron.

Thanks and Regards,
Management @ The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort

Address: PO Box 126, Main Post Office, Pulau Redang 20928, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘The Taaras’ is a bespoke Private Beach Residence, tucked away and hidden from the outside world on a small Island found just off the unspoilt East Coast of tropical Malaysia. Considered to be one of the most beautiful Island locations in the South China Sea, the Isle of Redang is home to our natural, yet stylish resort found on one of the most spectacular bays surrounded by one of the bluest oceans on earth. The resorts ethos is to provide a contemporary, barefoot luxury experience with warm Asian hospitality, remembered with a smile long into the future. The name of the property is derived from the Sanskrit word ‘TAARA’, meaning ‘Star or Apple of my eye’ as well as ‘Goddess of the Sea’ which are all represented and epitomised by our mermaid figurehead. The resort is managed by The Taaras Luxury Group, and was formerly known as Berjaya Redang Resort managed by Berjaya Hotels and Resorts. With the stylish suites and rooms, as well as a stunning five bedroom Private Villa perched high up on the cliff overlooking the ocean and resort below. The resort boasts commissioned furniture and bespoke photography of Redang Island and the landscapes of Malaysia. Each suite or room contains oversized beds and hand-picked linens and fabrics for your comfort. Most rooms and all suites have larger washrooms containing both bath tub and separate rain or monsoon shower (some with spa bathtubs looking out over the rainforest or the bay). Most residences have an outdoor balcony or verandah and our suites at the top of the cliff summit have spectacular views over the beach and ocean below. For clients who prefer or require further privacy ‘The Cliff Private Villa Bay & Sea View’, our private five bedroom residence perched high up on the cliff more than meets the requirements; private access, a Villa Host at your ‘beck and call’ as well as twenty four hour security; should it be a necessary requirement. The residence also enjoys a sixteen meter Infinity swimming pool, personal fitness room and both interior and exterior lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Redang Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Redang
Berjaya Redang Beach Hotel
Berjaya Redang Beach Resort
Hotel Berjaya Redang Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.