We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth is The Taaras (formerly The Berjaya Hotel) @ Redang Island, Malaysia !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort to your Saves list
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 126, Main Post Office, Pulau Redang 20928, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth is The Taaras (formerly The Berjaya Hotel) @ Redang Island, Malaysia !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Where to start when writing a review of this amazing property!? My fiancee and I stayed for 3 nights in July 2011 in a Premier Suite and were blown away by this resort, its lovely staff and the sheer beauty of the island itself.

We arrived on 1 July when the Berjaya Hotel officially changed its name to "The Taaras". We were welcommed with a refreshing drink and cold towel and quickly shown to our room. The resort is currently finishing its extensive renovation and the results are impressive. The sea view rooms are the only blocks remaining in the final stages of a makeover and the hotel accommodated guests staying in the higher rooms with a complimentary buggy service (as we were unable to access the direct steps to the beach). This wasn't a problem at all; the buggys came quickly when requested and the lovely drivers were a highlight to getting around the resort!

We booked a Premier Suite and I must say it was worth every cent. The room was enormous, the decor was divine and the view over the bay was simply stunning. We were thrilled by the little touches left in our room (fruit platter, daily chocolates etc), the bed was very , very comfortable and the spa magificent. If you are thinking twice about booking a Premier Suite - don't - it's worth it!

The resort is beautifully tucked away in a secluded bay in Redang Island and there is plenty to see and do. Whether it be lazing on the beach, snorkelling around the island, watching the turtles (that are literally 100 metres offshort from the resort itself!) or taking part in water sport (water sports, parasailing etc) - we were never short of activities! The snorkelling was a highlight as the fish were amazing!

The food at the resort is fabulous. We ate at the Asean Cafe (a la carte or buffet - we the former and it was good food and very reasonable). The highlight though had to be very special "Surf Dinner" we booked through the hotel. Our exclusive dinner on the beach by candlelight (with our table literally in the water and the waves lapping our feet!) was a night we will never forget. The chef prepared a menu especially for us (we gave her full discretion and she did not disappoint!). The trio of creme brulees for dessert was unforgettable!

However, what really makes this resort is the Management Team. They were outstanding. We briefly met the GM Karen Merrick who greeted us at our Surf Dinner and she was absolutely lovely and very welcoming. The highlight of the team was Patrick who delivered outstanding service for all the time we were at The Taaras. He made sure we were enjoying our stay, took care of a couple of minor issues for us and went above and beyond when it came to service delivery. We asked Patrick and the front house team of whether there were taxis at the Terengganu ferry port (as we had a reservation for a one-night stop over there before our flight the next day). We hadn't organised a transfer but when we reached the Terengganu port to our surprise and delight, Patrick and his team had organised a transfer to our hotel for us - free of charge!!!

If this review sounds too good to be true that's because it really felt that way! We were hoping it would be good, we just didn't know it would be THAT GOOD! We also treated ourself at the day spa and the girls there were fabulous. We enjoyed facials and massages at a reasonable rate and the quality was first class. The Taaras also has an excellent gym and each day we were welcomed by the smiling Alim who gave us lots of fantastic tips about the resort and things to do!

Thank you to Patrick, Karen, Alim, Hannafi (our fabulous Surf Dinner waiter!) and the team at The Taaras. You made our stay an unforgettable one and we can't wait to come back and see the final touches of the renovation and re-launch!

Tiffany and Matthew
Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    280
    86
    42
    13
See reviews for
179
370
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

My hubby and I stayed 3D2N at the garden suite.
The place is perfect for relaxation. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Food is costly here. Other than breakfast, we ate at the restaurants outside the Resort - Hazeme Restaurant and Aimi's Grill Fish Restaurant. Both restaurants offers reasonable and good meals.
Rooms for improvement :
1. Found the hot water from the long bath tap a bit too hot. I nearly have my fingers burnt while testing the temperature. Parents with young children should watch out.
2. The glass entrance to the souvenir shop is spotlessly clean. I walk right into it. End result is a painful nose and bruised lip. Understand this is not the only incident. Would urge the Resort management to seriously do something about this, else more accidents may happen.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed 6 nights at the newly named Taraas resort and booked a garden suite. The room is spacious, clean and has all necessary amenities, however lacks a bit of character. The price we paid at around 450 $ / night (incl. breakfast) is definetly steep for Asia and the experience received.

- Towels at the beach need to be picked up and returned (by signing in and out)
- No water is provided during the day at the beach
- Food quality & choice is average (and around 10x more expensive than just outside the resort, where one can find authentic Malay cuisine)
- Overall service is not up to luxury standards (MO, 4S)

However, there are some great aspects to the island and our stay:

- Snorkeling great and straight from the beach
- Beach itself is just perfect
- Gym on top of hill with great view and great instructor / equipment
- Easy access to hotel by boat and airplane
We would definetly come again for the great Ocean experiance, but only if the price / value ratio improves

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011 via mobile

Trust me everyone, this is truly a paradise. Love the people, rooms, beach and smiles :) I opted for a 3d2n, weather is fine, hence a bit too short! I guess I should have extended our stay. But a bit pricey.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

a high building for this hotel, i am still think ,they have a good service, but a high building next to the beach, is the malasian goverment blind, this buiding should be build in a city, not a paradise, they destroid the feeling that we all hope to see as untouched place to be, shame

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We had a warm welcome with cold towels and guava juice which was great after a flight. We had the Hillside View Room which was spacious, well decorated and clean bathroom. The restaurants and bar had good service and the staff were friendly and helpful.
The food was a mix of local Malaysian and Western food. Alcohol was expensive for Malaysia but not too bad if compared to European prices. It is important to factor in the government and service charge on food and alcohol as this is not included in the price on the menu's. We found cocktails expensive so instead if you order spirits you get a free soft drink with it (RM$15 instead of RM$35 for a cocktail).
The Buffet dinner from Mon-Thurs is RM$70p.p, Fri, Sat & Sun is $RM105p.p
If you are looking for local cuisine outside the resort there is a restaurant just walking distance from the entrance. We enjoyed the food at a fish restaurant just by the gate of the resort. They also serve meat dishes. Between the 2 of us we had 4 dishes which came up to RM$50 and it was tasty.
There is a lot to do at the resort and you can refer to daily activities on a central notice board for the schedule. The main activities at the resort tend to centre around diving and snorkeling however there are enough alternative activities to keep everyone happy.
One of our favourite features was the buggy service around the resort.
The Swimming pool was just ok but why use the pool when you have a great beach.The water is extremely clear and you'll feel so relaxed by the beach. We went to Long Beach (Pasir Panjang) one afternoon and saw the other resorts and found it too crowded. The only other resort we might think of staying is Sari Pacifica but overall Berjaya is still the best.
The gym facilities are what you expect from a 4 star hotel but the view is world class.
If you want Internet access just go to the gift shop and ask for a laptop. The price for 15minutes is RM$5, for 1 hour its RM$20 which is a rip off.
Another thing we should add is that while we were staying there, the resort informed us of its new name, The Taaras Resort which will now be a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

3D2N Full Board Package with 1-stop snorkeling trip in Hillview Deluxe, as couple via Berjaya Air from Singapore. (30Jun – 2Jul 11)

Flight: Delayed departure in SIN for 2hrs due to late arrival of plane. Served bottled water with wet disposable towel on flight, no food is provided. Arrival card not issued on flight, filled in at custom after getting from officer. Smooth & efficient transfer to hotel with lesser than 10mins journey. No shops in Redang airport, just a simple non-aircon station only, but it’s ok to me.

Check-in & Room: Escorted to lobby immediately upon arrival at resort. Was served cold refreshing towels/drinks. Efficient check-in with staffs approaching you. Room is spacious, looks indeed new. Bath tub is a joy with plentiful hot clear tap water.

Food: Reached Redang late long passed buffet lunch but was replaced with Ala-carte menu instead, with total cost not exceeding RM90 for 2 pax. Had international buffet all meals. Huge varieties, great tasting cuisine. But only restricted to Asian Café. Not allowed to eat at other restaurants. Food is generally good.

Snorkeling @ Dive centre: Upgraded to 4 -stop snorkeling (round island) is strongly recommendable. Cost: RM60/pax. We upgraded to 3 instead as they have had prayer session on Friday and paid RM40/pax inc equipments. As 1st time snorkelers, had great enjoyment on the trip specially owned to the instructor onboard, as without him, we wouldn’t have. They looked out for your safety, knowledgeable and took extra miles to show us around! Oh, not forgetting to mention, 1st time in my life to have so many fishes swimming around us, we were almost “drown” within the school. Saddest thing is; never got to see any turtle.

Beach: Never seen anything so beautiful that no words can describe. Tried venture out to the area near the walking platform, there are lots of fishes there, they swam around me. Shallow water level, only up to my waist.

Depature: Extremely small giftshop in Redang airport (departure) but nothing much in there and it’s not open. Require to check-in 11/2 hour before departure. Have some books/entertainment/drinks with you.

Overall/Recommendation: Beautiful interior/exteriors, public areas, facilities and furniture all look brand new. Exclude full board package, do try ala-carte instead. Food prices are quite ok with main dishes cost around RM28, beer is RM18. We took beers (Kilkenny priced @ SG$8.90 for 2) from DFS in Singapore airport instead, therefore save quite abit. Was told no alcohol limit in Redang, so we brought abit more. We didn’t try the restaurant just outside the resort, but it looks ok, will try it next time. 2 timing for Snokelling trips. Took the morning trip which is from 9am-12:30pm instead the next one at 2:30pm. Service is extremely good, though be alittle more patient to the locals sometimes, they are all trying their best to please everyone. I think the management has trained them very well. Thumbs up! Remember to arm with insect repellent/sunblock though there’s a well-equipped giftshop selling everything from snacks, swimming gears, daily necessities, souvenirs. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: All rooms attached with bathtub except garden rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort

Address: PO Box 126, Main Post Office, Pulau Redang 20928, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘The Taaras’ is a bespoke Private Beach Residence, tucked away and hidden from the outside world on a small Island found just off the unspoilt East Coast of tropical Malaysia. Considered to be one of the most beautiful Island locations in the South China Sea, the Isle of Redang is home to our natural, yet stylish resort found on one of the most spectacular bays surrounded by one of the bluest oceans on earth. The resorts ethos is to provide a contemporary, barefoot luxury experience with warm Asian hospitality, remembered with a smile long into the future. The name of the property is derived from the Sanskrit word ‘TAARA’, meaning ‘Star or Apple of my eye’ as well as ‘Goddess of the Sea’ which are all represented and epitomised by our mermaid figurehead. The resort is managed by The Taaras Luxury Group, and was formerly known as Berjaya Redang Resort managed by Berjaya Hotels and Resorts. With the stylish suites and rooms, as well as a stunning five bedroom Private Villa perched high up on the cliff overlooking the ocean and resort below. The resort boasts commissioned furniture and bespoke photography of Redang Island and the landscapes of Malaysia. Each suite or room contains oversized beds and hand-picked linens and fabrics for your comfort. Most rooms and all suites have larger washrooms containing both bath tub and separate rain or monsoon shower (some with spa bathtubs looking out over the rainforest or the bay). Most residences have an outdoor balcony or verandah and our suites at the top of the cliff summit have spectacular views over the beach and ocean below. For clients who prefer or require further privacy ‘The Cliff Private Villa Bay & Sea View’, our private five bedroom residence perched high up on the cliff more than meets the requirements; private access, a Villa Host at your ‘beck and call’ as well as twenty four hour security; should it be a necessary requirement. The residence also enjoys a sixteen meter Infinity swimming pool, personal fitness room and both interior and exterior lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Redang Resort - Malaysia Hotel Pulau Redang
Berjaya Redang Beach Hotel
Berjaya Redang Beach Resort
Hotel Berjaya Redang Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.