We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location - caters for Chinese tour groups more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Redang Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Redang Beach Resort to your Saves list
Redang Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   No. 2, Jalan Kampung Dalam, Pulau Redang 20100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Pulau Redang
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice location - caters for Chinese tour groups more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Beautiful beach but favour a chair in front of Laguna next door. The breakfast scrum at RBR for slop was unbelievable - poor quality food and bad behaviour made it less than enjoyable - apparently pigpen behaviour is the norm with line jumping, taking all of everything eg butter, eggs, bread, Dumping food all over table, floor, serving area - ahhhhh - cant suggest a good time as have tried most and it's awful whatever u decide but could buy noodle cup from shop and have at your leisure - much more enjoyable !! Once snorkling boats leave its deserted and PERFECT !!! Until the lunchtime scrum and same for arvo. Suggest arranging own meals as there are a few options at Laguna ( roti canai is great at food court ) or Summer point in the evening ( salt and pepper squid and beef redang are very good ) and other places close by ) . The general store/ cafe is excellent for most things.
Cruise boat stop and population influx of about 1000 people if its visit day ( take advantage and get in the voucher line for satay - cheap and good !! - it's the only positive ! )
Pick your room carefully and see other reviews which are close to our experience. There are renovations happening so views are not great anywhere. If told to buy your beach towel it won't happen - suggest booking out one from Laguna and they have a pleasant bathroom for pre flight shower on ground floor ( just look like your are staying there and be confident ) Laguna and RBR both change American dollars ( even though not advertised ) but use as fallback . Arrange transfers from airport through RBR ahead of time - better than a ferry with 500 people ! I from mainland but it does involve a car, boat, tractor but good and stress and crowd free.
Think about a hike over the hill to deserted beach near Tara's - hot and sweaty but worth it - if enough energy walk further to Tara's and have lunch outside main gate at seafood restaurant . ( note beer as about $ 10 a can at Tara's !! )

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and try Laguna -" scrums " looked more manageable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    58
    42
    16
    13
See reviews for
30
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Was in Redang Island on a short 2D1N working trip recently with my business partner. After reading up reviews in TA, decided to stay at Redang Beach Resort. Booked the Standard Room only, without the package for food and others as I was on a short working trip. The Standard Room is in the old wing, while the new wing is slightly more expensive.

Took an early morning flight from KL and arrived at Terengganu airport at about 8.00am, The airport transfer to the Shahbandar Jetty was good and efficient. The driver that took us was friendly and nice.

Reached the Jetty at about 8.40am, and at the Jetty, we were requested to register at the resort booth, and it was quite chaotic as there were hundreds of other visitors. The ferry departs at about 9.00am, so there was no time for breakfast. The departure hall of the Jetty was quite small, and as there were hundreds of other visitors, it was quite chaotic as well.

Reached Redang Island at about 10.45am, and the reception area was crowed with other guests. Since we booked a room only without the usual package, we were told to wait until 1.00pm because our room was not yet ready. We had a light snack at the Rainforest Restaurant next to the reception area. After an early flight and the ferry journey, we were quite tired, and I guess that resort could have done better as our booking and payment was made much earlier. However, the staffs at the reception was nice and friendly.

At 12.30pm, we were given our room at the fifth block. Access to our room was with an electronic card system. The room was quite spacious with a double bed and a single bed. The air-cond is an old unit, but it's working alright. The room, furniture and the bathroom was old and tired, but it's still acceptable clean and decent.

In the evening, after our working duty, we stroll along the beach to other resorts. There are about 10 other resorts along this stretch of beach, along with hundreds of other visitors, mainly Chinese.

We took our dinner at the Summer Point. The staffs were nice, friendly and efficient. We order chicken, taufu and a vegetable dish for our dinner, and the food arrive after a short wait. The food was tasty and acceptable, although as expect, it's slight more expensive as Redang being a popular tourist destination.

After our dinner, we sit at the beach to enjoy the night away. The staff left a notice on our door informing us to check out at 6.00am the following morning, have our free breakfast, and to standby for the ferry at 7.00am. The breakfast was simple, with fried noodles, sausage, french fry, scrambled eggs and porridge. Overall, it's still acceptable.

We reached the Shahbandar Jetty at about 8.30am. As our flight back to KL was at 12.55pm, and the resort arranged for a short stop at Chinatown, which was really nice and thoughtful of them. At Chinatown, we wander about and have a light snack. We left Chinatown at 10.30am to the airport, and the diver of the bus was really nice and friendly.

Overall, the Redang Beach Resort is still a decent, clean and nice place to stay. Redang is a beautiful place, with nice beach and crystal clear water. The staffs tried their best to please.

Would I stay there again if I were in Redang? Would I recommend the Resort to my friends? Am I satisfied with the Resort? Yes, Yes and Yes.

Room Tip: Stay at the rooms further away from the Summer Point restaurant as they have music blasting away at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here from 15 May to 18 May 2013 with a bunch of friends. The price is reasonable and they gave you quality!

Rooms
We have 8 people in the group and thus we have 2 rooms. we've got ourselves one room at the new wing and one at the old wing. The old wing's building is very simple, floor was damaged due to white ants, dim light and the toilet's door couldn't work properly. BUT their rooms are INCREDIBLY NICE.and thus 8 of us shifted to the new wing and we really really like the room at the new wing. Clean, comfortable and neat. spacious enough for all of us.

Staff
all of them are so capable that you can see them doing different type of jobs, they may be your diver instructor in the morning and at night, they are the DJ for the disco or singer for the live band. Most importantly, they are all super friendly and helpful!

As we have 4 girls in the group, the snorkelling instructor took really good care of us and brought us around during snorkelling. Their people at the reception always greet you with warm smile. Even the staff who drive the boat and ferry and the taxi driver is super friendly and helpful.

Food
To me, their food is really good. Dont have much variety but the quality is guaranteed. :) Just that sometimes the fish served is not fresh, but overall, it 's still really good. They served local food like pongteh, sweet and sour chicken and etc.

Other than the snorkelling packages that the hotel provides, you can just go outside of your hotel, and enjoy snorkelling at the beach outside the hotel. Baby sharks and fishes are all there. Water is crystal clear, what you see from photos are what you getting.


Conclusion, Redang is a MUST visit place!

Room Tip: Ask for new wing! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This resort locate in the center of the beach. Service is very good, from airport pick-up to the snokling package. Hotel enviorement is very nice. Room is clear but deco is some how old. The bath room is very old. But overall still a comfortable stay.
Food is not bad. Love the performance at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've given an overall rating of 3/5 'average' to this resort due to the cleaning of the rooms not being up to scratch against the price we paid for the rooms (~AUD$125). Sheets and towels are only changed if you stay 3 or more nights they told us after we enquired on our second day there. No brooms are provided for you to even sweep the floor out yourself.

On arrival to our room and on first glance it appeared clean enough but then we realised it is just the 'newness' of the accommodation wing. Both rooms the cleaners had given a cursory circular wipe to the middle of the vanity mirror and mirror on dresser but all edges around that were already spotted and 'not cleaned'. The lovely glass shower screen already has soap residue right down one side on inside (it was like they'd cleaned the opening door and wall on outside but not bothered with the inside of the glass). Our toilet had hardly any toilet paper provided (had to go and ask for some) and our toilet had not been cleaned as part of the preparations before we were given admittance.

My hubby couldn't be bothered complaining (except to ask for more loo paper) as everything else was great and it was only for 3 nights. He cleaned the loo himself before using it and we didn't worry about the less than spotless glass. We've been in way worse but at the same time paid a whole lot less money and also stayed in way better and paid a whole lot less money hence we gave it the 3/5 'average' rating overall.

I hope they improve their cleaning methodology as this lovely new wing is going to look pretty tired quite quickly otherwise which would be a shame because everything else about the rooms (other than they have no fan) is really great.

I'll try to give a point by point run down with ratings out of five of our opinions (2 couples, mid and late 40's, one travelling since backpacking days in youth, other just started travelling last couple of years) so you can look at those criteria that mean most to yourself when choosing a room:-

5/5 Reception staff: very friendly. Room not ready due to our morning arrival from Perhentian's in speedboat right up to their beach but kept our bags and then found us at a café about an hour before they had first mentioned to come back. This was very appreciated and is top service.

5/5 Scenery around resort: fantastic powder white sand beach (think white almost as good as Whitehaven beach in Whitsundays, AUS) and very clean, clear blue water. Palm trees and shade up at resorts edge with deck chairs and hammocks around most resorts (inc RBR).

3/5 Buffet Breakfast: provided in our room rate. Nothing special but not the worst we've had; the usual tea/coffee/juice, toast/butter/jam, couple of cereal choices, 1 rice, 1 noodles, chicken nuggets, chips and little sausages. Fried eggs only, pre-done. Fresh milk if asked. Condiments but have to ask for bowl of salt (garam) as none with condiments any day. Open 7am to 9am.

4/5: Summer Point Café (onside) dinners: ate here twice. All meals bought out within reasonable time of each other and presented nicely enough and tasty. Cheap. Can buy beer, alcoholic apple cider, vodka ice and long island tea plus non alcoholic fresh juices, etc.

3/5: Rainforest Café (onsite) lunches: ate here twice. Western type light meals (hotdog, burger, fries, toasted sandwiches, basic fried rices, fresh juices, western coffee's, etc). Higher priced than other cafes at resort but we all liked the light lunches we had here. Staff very friendly here.

2/5: Local Malay Café (onsite) lunches: ate snack here (a burger) and others had some dim sum type stuff. My burger was pretty good, others thought the other stuff was pretty ordinary and felt like it had been sitting somewhere too long (maybe being kept warm until sold). Wasn't terrible, just had heaps better Malay food elsewhere. Small coffee and tea stand just outside (Ochado) also available.

3/5 Pool area: pool is TINY, smaller than average home pool however it did have people cooling off in it several times I went past and also has a small square wading pool for toddlers as well. Deck chairs with lovely blue padded seats but no shade. Average rating due to 0/5 for no shade and 2/5 for size of pool but 5/5 for at least providing one and 5/5 for having 2 nice big outside showers for cleaning off first or after and nice clean, maintained toilets just outside pool area. Water itself gets 5/5 for 2 of the days I past it and 3/5 the other day where it was needing attention (fussy I know but I have a pool at home and this one would be EASY to maintain).

5/5 Pool next door at Laguna is best on island: okay... so this isn't RBR itself but Laguna's pool and area around it is great and it is literally next door so within 1 - 2 minutes from out door we have dumped our gear at loungers and are in the Laguna pool so it is practically part of RBR anyway LOL! :)

4/5: Dive shop and trips: hubby said dive op was friendly and professional and safety conscious. Boat not as good as some dive ops in other parts of the world but better than others and looked pretty similar to most others on Redang itself; so after talking to most he just decided to stick with the operation where we were staying. Was able to book to room and pay on credit card with no added cc fees. Good service.

3.5/5 Snorkeling: close to rocks near Laguna and Redang Reef yielded one trigger fish protecting it's nest or territory (so do beware of these and swim away, they can get nasty) but also meant seeing a baby turtle and reef sharks as well as some other fish. Rest of the time we spent just swimming in front of our resort or Laguna in the lovely water.

ROOMS themselves broken down:

4/5 Bed itself: stayed in King superior room in new wing so King bed huge. New. Clean. 4 pillows provided and light duvet. A little hard overall but I think that is because it was new. Air con reaches bed.

3/5: Noise: can hear live band from Laguna or Summer Point until late evening. Rest of night it was quiet outside. Can hear people in other rooms if they get noisy. Be aware that when you are in the bathroom the next room can hear your ordinary level conversation word for word if they are also in their bathroom due to how the venting is configured. My girlfriend and I were both showering in our respective showers and yapping in normal voices quite easily to each other as we made plans for later. Fine for us but not so fine if you have strangers next door! :)

5/5 Shower itself: Rain shower and hand held shower provided and small bench to put soaps, gear etc inside shower. Water pressure fabulous. Hot water never ran out (but then I hardly used any as cool showers were more refreshing in the heat).

1/5 Shower glass: partially uncleaned glass in brand new room, no excuse.

5/5 Toilet itself when clean: brand new, self closing lid, western loo.

0/5 Broken toilet roll holder and very little toilet paper supplied (had to request more yourself when running low). BOTH rooms had broken toilet roll holders on walls already; it's like these new units have been slapped together quickly which isn't surprising given how much we find in Asian accoms has been slapped together.

0/5 Toilet inc seat obviously not cleaned as part of housekeeping before we checked in.

5/5 Air Con: quiet, efficient, worked a charm.

0/5 for no fan in room. We prefer sleeping with a fan and having air con off but this is just personal preference.

4/5 Mirrors, bench tops, cupboards, side tables, lighting, power points, decent flat screen TV, mini fridge provided. All satisfactory.

1/5 Tea/Coffee/Water: Jug, 2 mugs and 2 glasses provided. Sweet... but no complimentary water provided (ok, some places don't)... and... no coffee, tea, sugar, milk provided at all so unless one troops back out and finds a convenience store the jug is as good as useless! We've stayed in places a quarter to half the price that provide the basic condiments if they provide the kettle/jug so my score for this reflects that you can make your own if you bring/buy your own.

3/5 Foot washing tap: provided outside room (5/5) but nothing then provided to dry feet (e.g. small outdoor or indoor mat at entrance) so you either pad your wet feet across the wooden floors to bathroom or filch the shower mat and use that and drag it back when you shower.

5/5 for the light that came into our rooms as we had double opening glass doors and windows as the access to our rooms. The ones around the 'backside' of ours didn't have these; just normal solid door and small window so unsure if those would be darker in the day time, etc.

5/5 Ground keeping: paths swept several times daily, sand swept early every morning, gardens maintained, reception area maintained beautifully. No issues with ambience of strolling around.

5/5 Location, location, location. Wonderful vista's in all directions and close to everything. Can even walk through construction at back of resort up onto the access road, turn right, walk a minute or two until you come to a bridge and just prior to that on left is a small unmarked track. It takes then about 50 mins to walk over to a beautiful sand/swimming beach and then Berjaya Resort. Not for those with mobility challenges though and take water and munchies. Nothing there.

4/5: small book swap area in Rainforest café available for those that like to use this service.

Would we stay here again? DEFINITELY. In the same rooms? Definitely.

Would I upgrade this property's rating to 4/5 if the bathroom was cleaned properly and the price was under $100AUD inc breakfast and included some tea/coffee/milk/2 bottles water daily? DEFINITELY.

Redang Island is truly beautiful and certainly worth a 3 or 4 day visit but the prices for rooms are very high when compared to other accommodations at other lovely locations in Malaysia (we've been to Perhentian's, Tioman, Penang, and Langkawi islands as well as various mainland locations - see my other reviews for comparisons).

Room Tip: New Wing Rooms 1603 & 1602 are in good location at Laguna end of resort; away from hustle and bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

i went to redang island on 4 april 2013 - 6 april 2013. The resort actually located in the main center of resort in redang which it nearest to the boat ferry landed and to the beach. The resort is average but is good enough if you want to relax and run out from busiest place. we stayed at room which have 3 bed and the resort served a kettle and mugs but without coffee or tea. the room is small but it is comfortable. the problem i had facing is the toilet was smelled damp. the food served was very basic very much catering to the Chinese visitor. but the good is in BBQ.The resort served lamb,sausage,chicken,sate which you can BBQ by your own.

Amazing beach with many kind of fish and coral when you are snorkeling, very pleasant staff.

But during weekends (Friday n Saturday night) it was quite noisy as they have live band/ mini disco though limited until 12am.

herewith attached some of our photos in redang.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We arrived by boat on to the beach, literally. We had to struggle across the very soft sand with our cases and the hotel offered no assistance whatsoever. The room smelled damp and the shower rail was hanging off the wall. We had a kettle and mugs but no tea, coffee etc. Only 4 tv channels, no news or movie channels. The edge of the swimming pool was very dangerous as it became slippery when wet and was extremely hot to touch. As there were no towels available to use around the pool, we asked at reception and were advised that we had to buy our own towels. Breakfast was very basic and Luke warm/cold, in fact after our first breakfast, we ate at the Laguna hotel next door for the rest of our stay. Having said all of this, the location is amazing, the snorkelling was great as the sea is crystal clear, in fact you can just stand in the sea and watch the fabulous fish swim around your legs, but don't stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: If you like backpacking, this hotel is for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redang Beach Resort

Address: No. 2, Jalan Kampung Dalam, Pulau Redang 20100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Redang
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pulau Redang
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Redang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Redang Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Redang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redang Beach Hotel Terengganu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redang Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.