We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and spacious chalets on a small very nice white beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets

Save Saved
You added New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   No 102 - 103, Jalan Besar, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable and spacious chalets on a small very nice white beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

We spent 4 nights and bought a "package" 3D2N at Cozy Chalet which are spacious clean comfortable and, in our case, fronting the blue sea...only thing is that to reach the Cozy you have to climb some (around 30) high steps - which with humid,hot weather in the sun pick hours is something... But nothing to complain indeed! It can be rated a good 3 stars solution. We would come back and maybe choose the new Cocohut Chalet right on the beach :-). Next time we would not take the package since you have too strict schedule to respect and without package you can actually anyway easily find a lot of taxi boats to reach all the interesting places for the same price and decide when and where and what to eat. You can find very nice restaurant next to the resort and can have BBQ every evening!! Anyway we ate reasonably well also with the package (but it was pure Malesyan food). The proposed snorkelling trips also with package are interesting and you would see the most beatiful place. Do not miss the fantastic Turtle beach!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    65
    46
    19
    30
See reviews for
32
76
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My partner and I visited Perhentian, Malaysia over the beginning of August for a dive trip. Most of the resorts were fully booked by then as it was peak season, so we had very little option and went with Cocohut.

We arrived early on the island and our room wasn't yet ready. I was quite drowsy after a 14 hour overnight journey, and one of the staff noticed. She was kind enough to offer us a spare room to rest and put our bags until our room was ready. We chose a room with a garden view. The room is very basic - bed with a thin mattress and blanket, dim lighting, plumbing (there wasn't even a mirror in the bathroom), fridge.. don't expect room service or fresh sheets and towels every day. You'd have to ask at reception if you need towels or blankets, and pick them up personally as they are wont to forget your request. We asked them for an extra blanket (the room came with only one) and they did not bother to bring us one. We had to repeat our request again later in the day, and get it from them personally. My biggest gripe with the room was the constant smell of sewage. Also, the chalets are of very close proximity to each other - you could hear the noises the chalets around yours were making through the walls. Paths around the chalets are quite narrow and you have to be very aware of your surroundings. Air-conditioner vents stick out of the back of chalets and into paths, are at head-level and I painfully bumped into one whilst walking back to my room.

Breakfast was provided - the spread is relatively good. You get a choice of toast with butter and jam, beans, eggs (fried, scrambled), and you can request for pancakes as well. We have early morning dives, and the male staff was always very kind. He'd pack our food and drinks for us to take to the other island, all without fuss. Otherwise, the restaurant closes between 3-6pm. Not too sure if that's a Ramadan thing, but the restaurant at Cozy Chalets, run by the same management, is usually open (they have wifi there too). One night, we came back late to the resort after our night dive. It was 945pm and we were hungry, so we went to the restaurant. They refused to serve us, despite them saying the kitchen closes at 10pm. My partner got really upset, only then did they relent and said they'd cook us only fried rice. However, they were very condescending about it; the staff kept repeating that they're only doing this because we were guests there, only this once, because we were guests. It was very unnecessary, as though we owed her a huge debt of gratitude for service that she should have provided without us having to plead for it. That being said, the food isn't too bad. There is a wide selection, and they have barbecues every night, serving fresh seafood. You'd get larger portion sizes at Tuna Bay (next door) for the same prices however.

If you're going there for the beach - don't. The beaches on Kecil are a LOT nicer. The beach area belonging to Cocohut is tiny, has this huge granite breakwater that's awful, and the sand is grainy and covered with broken shell bits and coral. When I was there, there were at least 20 visitors crowded onto that tiny stretch on beach - not pleasant. Go to Tuna Bay (and onwards) for a nicer, less crowded beach experience. There's better snorkeling there as well.

All in all, I will definitely return to Perhentian, but when I do, I wouldn't stay at Cocohut again. The service could do with a lot of improvement, and there are a lot more (equal, if not better) options available on either island for cheaper prices.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Definetly a place to come back to. Good standard chalets, clean and right next to a beautiful beach. It's worth the extra Ringhit for a beach view, as the smell in the shady back can get annoing. Nice staff and good food as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We booked the New Cocohut fully expecting a basic, adequate beach chalet and this is exactly what we got. A beach front row chalet of wooden construction, 2 double beds, small fridge, wardrobe and shower room - there is free wifi if your are lucky enough for your chalet to be in range. We were beach front and picked up the signal fine.

Stayed 4 nights (one is a garden view room as we turned up a day early and our other chalet was not available).

The garden view room was newly refurbished and slightly better bathroom than the semi-suite on the beach front.

Is this luxury accommodation? No - but it is more than adequate. OK the bathroom could have been a little nicer, but it functioned ok.

We had a package and were really impressed with the friendly service, efficient transfers and food. As we extended we didn't have meals included on 2 of the nights and ate at the restaurant at the other part of the resort - Cozy Hut. The food here is amazing!! The satay is gorgeous, the beef and cashew nuts delicious.

The Perhentians to us were about a beach escape with little commercial activity in our face and that is exactly what it delivered. It was a complete contrast to the 5* city hotel that we stayed in in KL - and we loved every minute on the Perhentian Islands.

If you are looking for luxury - this accommodation and indeed these islands are not for you, but if you are open minded and up for escapeism and a back to basics few days - these islands are perfect!

Walk along the beach, past Tuna Bay resort and keep going as far as you can walk - the beach there is amazing.

I would recommend the Cocohut - with the caveate that people manage their expectations and don't expect luxury - just friendly service and good food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in the Cozy Chalet for four nights. Whilst there were a lot of steps to climb the view from the verandah was worth it. Don't expect four star luxury. The bed is huge, the air con works well and the bathroom / shower is adequate. There is no one to clean your rooms but why should there be?
The staff were all very helpful and friendly particularly the snorkelling crew and there is a good mix of nationalities.
Allow time to get from the airport to the jetty and vice versa, it takes about an hour in a taxi and then 30 minutes on a speed boat.
We paid for a snorkelling package but we could have probably done it cheaper if we had booked snorkelling trips when there as they were only 40 rmb (approx eight pounds a trip) but sometimes it is worth paying for someone else to do all of the organising for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Well since the whole island dont have anything 5 stars, this challet offers a great views of the ocean.
But dont even expect even 3 stars hotels service. No room service, no maids to clean your room, you have to take 3 mins walk to the reception to change 1 for 1 towel.

But for the price u'll get an awesome view, decent bed, air cond, hot water, refrigerator, TV, and no bed bugs!! He highlight is the deck. Its just awesome!!
And its quite spacious too.

Well im a bit worried about the structure cause its like... Well you gotta see it for your self.

Its locally own n operate like most ofthe challet here, so be patient.

And wifi only available in dining or reception area.

Room Tip: Bring your own blanket, ac is suoer cold, n blanket is super thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarras
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Obviously a very busy period so not a lot of options. We took the last seaview room at CozyHut. Buildings are very close together and ona hill, we were about 4 rows back so view was over other buildings. The worst part for us was that there were no buildling to the left of us so our look out was over staff quarters, clothes lines and a rubbish dump. The generator was also directly in line with us and doors were open so it was very very noisy. Basically sitting on the deck was pretty unpleasant.
Took many walks and wished we had stayed on the more secluded Teluk Dalam, beaches were better and it was less crowded.

Good restaurant attached which made up for a lot.

Room Tip: be carefull which rooms you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets

Address: No 102 - 103, Jalan Besar, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty lodging in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Cocohut And Cozy Chalets
New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Cocohut & Cozy Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.