We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A World Undiscovered And Simply Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet

Save Saved
You added Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Lot 181, Telok Dalam, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A World Undiscovered And Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

This was really the best Holiday i have ever went to and island.Everything was simply so good.U name it from Customer Service to Food and the Servic level s just out of the world.Pricing was also so cheap.i would strongly recommend everyone who have never been to Perhentian islands to visit this place and definately stay at Arwana Perhentian.The package offered was as low as Rm 398 per person for a Full board Holiday which includes Transfers to breakfast to lunch Dinner and also BBQ.Not forgetting 2 beautifull Snorkelling trips arranged by far most the experience people of Arwana.For those of you who loves alchohol there is aso a bar managed so well by a guy name Jim from malacca,a real friendly down to earth guy.I would definately return again as i really feel there is more to discover on that beautifull peacefull island.If anyone of you would like to go there please contact Nasir.He was the person who really went the extra mile to arrange everything for me.he can be contacted at [--].

Shannon Menon
Johor Bahru , Malaysia

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    39
    23
    19
See reviews for
33
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

I didnt actually stay here but walked past it and and through it every day for a 1 week in July, whilst staying just along the beach at Baju Dive Lodge. I don't know where they get the "eco" in the title. What I'd like to alert people to is the exposed sewage outfall pipe on the beach (sand cover washed away) which runs into the bay immediately adjacent to this hotel. I suspect its "only" waste water from soakaways, but at low tide the stench is nauseating. One wonders about the bacteria levels in the bay. I dont think it would any EU Blue Flag Awards.... We walked behind the hotel looking for the begining of the "jungle trek" to other side of island. Past a smouldering pile of rubbish and a heap of dumped trash.

There is a small strip of beach in front of the chalets which form part of the resort, but not one you'd want to lie on. Buts its much nicer just along the beach in front of Samudra Chalets and Bayu Dive Lodge.

The resort itself looks very traditional Malaysian and was pretty dead at night - and i dont think it sells alcohol. I'd not recommend it to a western tourist. Do yourself a favour - stay at Bayu Dive Lodge - basic, but much nicer than here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I have been visiting Perhentian Island yearly since 1993. Reason: the beaches are world class, crystal clear, all chalets facing beach front. Also great fishing trip provided you get the correct boatman.
First time to Arwana chalet after reading some good reviews on them. Stayed in their Superior Family, 1st floor. Walkway super wide, about 10 feet wide. Rooms very spacious, 2 queen size bed, air-con and most important well maintain and clean. Facing swimming pool, also clear water.
However, beach front is less desirable, especially low tide, rubbish all along the beach and black sediments under the sands is real turn off.
Also there is a stench like smell on one side of the beach front, where there is one sewerage pipe (something like that) going into the sea!!
Service from the restaurant staffs is typical "Malaysian style". Hope the management can improve on this. Example: Dinner buffet is printed on the voucher 7-9.30pm. But by 9 pm, staffs start to clear food! Just finished my food at 9 pm, and quickly requested politely for some agar-agar desert but met with a straight "no more" answer! Next morning breakfast buffet, coffee but no spoon! Requested for spoon, same answer: Don't have and she just walked away! The staffs are genuinely friendly but not helpful at times.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

If you are going to stay here you should go for the Deluxe Beach View with Balcony - the hotel is not fantastic, but the location and view of these rooms make up for it. We had originally gone for the Deluxe Pool-Side with Balcony, but upgraded on arrival as there is no breeze here, and very close to the (fishy) smells of the kitchen. The size of the room was great, and there was plenty of room for our 2 children's blow-up beds. The balcony was a good size, and a lovely location to sit on once the kids had gone to bed. They are right on the beach, so a perfect spot. The beach is beautiful - we think the best out of any we saw in the Perhentians, and unlike some of the reviews have said, fabulous for swimming (I think the size of the tide changes later on in the year, leaving more of the beach exposed). We chose to stay here as we had heard the rooms were big (they were) and they had a big swimming pool, which we wanted for the children's use. However.... the rooms are dark and dated, and the pool, on close inspection, is very dirty! The food is also expensive and pretty rubbish. Just costs a bit too much for what you're getting. There are a few other places a few doors away though so that wasn't a problem. I think next time we'll stay at the Bayu Dive Lodge which seemed simple but clean and modern, and if we want to use Arwana's pool we'll just pay the RM10.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Went there last summer as a couple and were very well surpised with the great view and staff friendliness. Would definitely recommend this hotel for couples and families.
The chalets on the beach are of good size and quite confortable, clean, with a absloutely charming view on the sea. Only drawback is that you cannot really swim in the sea in front of the hotel beacuse it is quite shallow. This is why you can see a lot of fish, so it is worth walking on the seashore to appreciate the natural environment.
There is a very nice swimming pool. The staff is very helpful and the food is very good, with a good variety and portions.
There is a dive center right in front of the restaurant, with friendly dive masters. Diving is very pretty.
The included snorkelling trip in the package is very nice.
The only thing is that the reservation process from abroad is a bit complicate, for instance we were asked to make an internationalaccount transfer, that finally was not requested and everything was paid in full at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Well, maybe I am a bit delicate, but the only animal I cannot stand nearby is cockroach.
Even more if she visits MY BED and walks on me!!! We had booked for the "Deluxe pool view rooms" on the ground floor and we had plenty of "meetings" with these insects. We saw some, we stepped some and finally we slept with some... This was too much. I woke terrified in the middle of the night and asked the hotel personnel and the boss himself. They were all very kind, came to the room and caught some cockroaches (with hands) gave us a new room and sprayed everywhere. Useless. Our new room had many too. I think every ground floor room has the same problem due to semi open drains around.
Finally we were moved to an upper floor-sea view- and also offered discounted price and under our firmly tied mosquito net we stayed the rest of nights.
Insects can be anywhere in the world, though this was my worst experience.
The overall hotel experience is good. Big swimming pool if u have kids and since the beach in front is not the best on the island. I had to use many water-taxis, sea becomes a bit rough after dark but was nice experience. Breakfast buffet is big and tasty enough, restaurant nice. Free internet. The hotel manager is an excellent and friendly guy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

the room smelled damp and was a windowless cell. Right outside our room was a out door dining room so we were woken at the crack of dawn by people screaming and shouting and eating! Fair enough when we complained they moved us, but as a general rule the staff were rude and the majority spoke very little english as in none at all, although my Malay isn't great either!

Things went missing from our room (a bottle of aftershave and a shirt) they checked the staff' rooms but found nothing so said it wasn't thier problem. They then had the cheek to accuse of of stealing a mask and snorkel that we had paid to jire from them and we had to track down the man that was behind the bar when we did to prove it to them!

The pool was filthy (wear your mask and snorkel in there...see for yourself!) drinks were very very over priced, if you walk to the bear next door drinks are less than half the price. Finally the beach was disgusting!

On the positive shark point is well worth the snorkel out there we saw 3 black tip reef sharks! the swim out there is hard going but its beautiful when you get there! The local monkeys and lizards also make the area more attactive.

On saying all this the other huts did look very basic around and wouldnt keep the mozzies at bay!

Hope this helps :)

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet

Address: Lot 181, Telok Dalam, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet Hotel Terengganu
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort And Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Terengganu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.