We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for people on tight budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fauna Beach Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fauna Beach Chalet
Pulau Perhentian Besar, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for people on tight budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

rm300 for a 3D2N snorkelling trip with 6 meals included. the food there taste good *not sure if its because we were hungry* the room is what we paid, just nice for 3 person, a wall fan, lots of ants, the wash-room looks like anyone can peek in any time but i think its suitable for young adults who don't mind the accommodation.

the snorkelling trip was fun though. i touched a huge turtle, friends saw vegetarian sharks and many "nemo" fish!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ampang
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Location:
At pulau perhentian besar.
Approx 30 minutes from the Kuala Besut Jetty.
Approx 20 minutes from all other attractions.

Facilities:
depends on type of room:
available: aircond or fan, attached bathroom, single bed, double decker bed, restaurants, grocery store.

Overall:
Average

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Pretty bad accommodation. went on a 3d2n package with snorkelling. was on budget so chose the one without a/c. bad choice. the most basic room came with a wall fan only. room comes with a balcony. the place is infested with mozzies, thus most of the time the doors(balcony) is closed therefore room get pretty stuffy at night.
Will recommend those who intend on a budget stay there to opt for one with a/c.

One good thing about this trip is that this island is much more peaceful as compared to redang.

Room Tip: get one with air-con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I went there with a package of 3D2N snorkeling rip. quite disappointed when I stayed there. Firstly, the room is terrible.The floor have ants and the water in the toilet is not clean. I have to bath with those coloured water and the worms.. Sometimes, there will have water shortage too. Besides, the food there is not good. The worst part is when I went to marine park, there are only 2 choices of food which are rice and curry without drinks provided. Izit called buffet? no drinks! But the staff service is okay. There is no second time for me to come here again !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

This is my 1st visit to an island for a snorkeling trip with husband.booked a package for 3D2N,full package with return boat transfer, 2bfast,2lunch,1dinner,1bbq for our last night at the chalet.the price is affordable and kinda reasonable.rm280 per person,since the room is without aircond.thats THE BIGGEST MISTAKES.let me share my experience,boat from kuala besut to our chalet takes about 30-45minutes.they drop us not at our chalet.they asked to walk,i thought just nearby.but then,we're sweating walking from arwana to fauna with all the stuff we need to carry out ourself.sigh.disappointed!the room is a super basic with queen size bed,closet,towel,fan.at noon,the room was so warm without aircond.better not stay in the room at noon.the water is smelly plus the toilet.the bedsheet need to change to a new one.got ants on the floor.theres a broom for you to swept the floor.on our last night,theres a cochroaches crawls up to my hubby body while we're sleeping!i was shouting like hell! gosh! they should improve better to repair all those wooden thingy.the staff was great!thanks to them to help me out bring my hubby late evening to the clinic.appreciate it.the environment was nice.they make us feel like families.its just the room need to upgrade a bit.the food is nice.
last but not least,on arrival they gave us life jacket but when return no life jacket and overloaded.kinda scary but we had fun though.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Where to start, when we booked fauna the reviews on trip advisor were good - all i can say is that it must have dramatically declined. the staff were rude, in reception and in the cafe (the tables were never cleared). The rooms were sub standard with driping air con and a 1950's feel. the bathroom (if you can call it that) was horrid. such a shame as with a little thought, and the prime positioning on the beach, it could be so much more.

On the plus side, the beach is amazing - the snorkiling is also very good (go with flora - the gear was much newer for the same price).

Good places to eat - b-first. lovely atmosphere and you can buy a beer without guilt! Beware the long waiting times for food though - Well worth it but make sure you're not starving when you turn up.

If i had my time again id shop around more - probably say with flora, but definetly not fauna - very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Having stayed on 3 different resorts on Perhentian Besar I feel qualified to offer a pretty fair judgement of this one, which was definitely the least appealing. The beach on which it's situated is dirtier than the beaches over the other side of Besar and many of the resorts there are also strewn with litter. After 3 nights at Fauna, paying RM270 for an aircon room with rather weak aircon and putting up with rubbish and bins that were never emptied we were pleased to see the back of it. Staff didn't have much of a prescence. When I spoke to the other resorts they said that the dirty resorts tended to be the ones that weren't owner-managed. The actual grounds at Fauna be lovely - there are Frangipani trees and nice shrubbery - just need to clean the place up and offer some service. The room was fine but toilet smelt of sewage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fauna Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fauna Beach Chalet

Address: Pulau Perhentian Besar, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Also Known As:
Fauna Beach Chalet Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fauna Beach Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fauna Beach Chalet to your Saves list