We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Qimi Chalet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Kapas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Qimi Chalet
Save
You added Qimi Chalet to your Saves list
Marang, Pulau Kapas, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Kapas
Klang,selangor
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“BAD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

6 of us went there last week,as we arrive we weren't greeted..We have to wait for quite sometime to get the rooms.Unfortunately 3 of us were given tree house wit 30 steps to climb and 3 others lower ground.After we talk to ROSE,she were reluctant to give us a room on lower ground.We explain to her that we are here for holidays and we going to have some booze(alcohol).We don't want anyone to stumble n fall 30 steps down after the alcohol effects and look for hospital or doctor.The toilets were HORRIBLE and not clean.Our room's air-condition were out of service and no extra fan given or APOLOGY extended.Past midnight we were not allow to have drinks by the beach or have fun there.So due to low tide we took our things mid of the sea to have fun.Some off the food were nice but the service is so SLOW,they don't ANTICIPATE or have some URGENCY in service.Their snorkelling equipments,life vest,kayak boat in BAD condition.The only person who is friendly and helpful is DIN and rest of them r there just to make money ,he made our holidays memorable one.A BIG THANK YOU TO DIN.There are many other chalets around that island and i'm sure we won't be going to QIMI

Room Tip: There is non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    14
    11
    18
See reviews for
27
45
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed it. Rose is a awesome cook, ate some of the best food I've had in whole Malaysia right here! The prices are of course higher than on the mainland but don't let this hold you back from placing an order even if only for a walk-in dinner.
The rooms are nice but a bit over-priced to my opinion. The water-issue mentioned some reviews before is still there, it smells quite strong of iron from the old pipes in some of the bungalows higher up the hill slope. And the water-pressuer is very low up there. So if you can, take a room below.
The beach is totally secluded and absolutely lovely, only a few trespassers during daytime. At night it is really quiet and with the cool breeze just wonderful to relax and chill on the balcony.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent 3 days 2 nights at Qimi chalet and were extremely happy and glad that we picked this little chalet. Run by a family with additional help from 2 locals and 2 tourists who stayed with them, we felt we are at home always. They are very friendly and warm. Language is never a problem because each one of them speaks excellent English. Rose (the mother) is an excellent cook; food is delicious, nutritious and the portion is generous. Best of all, dinner is served under the stars on the beach - sand on our feet. We brought our own wines to enjoy with and after dinner. Rose was happy to chill them for us - passed to her few hours before dinner. After dinner, we spend an hour or two recollecting what we did during the day and our plan for the next morning while they play soothing selection of music from Jason Mraz's 'I'm yours' to 'Hotel California' and also Bob Marley's masterpieces.

My advise - even if you don't stay in Qimi, you must have at least one of your dinner here. Price - very reasonable. Lots to do and play here - Swimming, snorkeling, kayaks and jungle trekking to indoor games like chess, carrom and checkers when the weather doesn't permit outdoor activities.The chalet itself is not the typical 'by the beach' chalet type; at Qimi, you are surrounded by lush greenery with constant birds chirping, insects buzzing and wave hitting the beach.

An experience not to be missed. The cheapest room is a little small with dim lights (water and solar electricity is very expensive on this island) so if you are not the backpacker type, pick the more expensive room and you'll be happy. Basically, you get what you pay for ~ this resort caters for all types of travelers. It's unfair to pick the cheapest room and expect that you get top notch room. The service from the guys manning the place is top notch though. This post doesn't do any justice, you need to be there and experience it yourself. I know I will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: Put the right expectation for room chosen. You will get with what you have paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brugge
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Last week, we stayed for 4 days in Qimi Chalet on Kapas Island.
It was a wonderfull place, quiet, a private beach ( that is really clean!), very friendly owners who make you feel at home. The food is really excellent, they cook as the best!
The rooms are very basic, don't expect big luxuriously: just a bed, a toilet and cold shower. But we were never in our room except for sleeping. The place, environment, beach,... are too great to spend any time in your room. Every evening the dinner is on the beach, with covered tables for every room with candellight... very romantic!!!
The only thing you can hear there is the sound of the sea and the jungle. Just great!

A good recommondation is also the divers club. I did my Padi diving course in 4 days with a very good professional club on the island. The owner Azam is a very good instructor. The owners of Qimi will help you to get there. We were picked up with the boat every morning and afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The bathroom is disgusting, and the pipe water is rustic.There's no CLEAN WATER in our bathroom. The bed is "sandy" and they need to rid those bed as soon as possible (So uncomfortable). And it's way TOO EXPENSIVE for something that doesn't even worth it. No internet provided there, it's hard for tourists to do their businesses. Their place desperately needs some renovation or the people will not come again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We booked 2 chalets, one facing the sea and the other behind it as we were a family of 4. All was confirmed by phone and followed up by e-mail. A week later, Ros, the proprietor, sent an e-mail that the seaview chalet had been given to someone else and offered the non-seaview and tree chalet. After insisting that we wanted the family to be near, we were offered the new room. She even offered to supply extra mattresses free of charge. Upon arrival, we were not greeted, we were ignored and kept waiting. Each query went unanswered until she finally told us it would not be vacant till midday (we had arrived at 9.30). We were given Ros1 temporarily. It was full of mosquitoes and the toilet was filthy.
The room was nice but again the bathroom was not clean, especially the toilet. We stayed 2 nights and never ate there due to their unfriendliness (we never got a single smile nor did we feel welcome). On the morning of departure, we were presented with a bill which included the cost of the mattresses. This went against what she had offered and agreed with us. We were not given any indication that this was to be so and we left with a sour taste. The island itself is very beautiful and we would recommend Kapas Beach Resort where the service was excellent and the staff were friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Walk along the beaches and shop around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I rate this place as "very good" because the overall experience was great. However, if you look for a luxury room, this is not you place to stay. Rooms are pretty basic, but clean enough to spend your relaxing holidays there. we stayed in the Nibong room at 100MYR/night and it was enough. But when you try the food, then you just think you are in heaven. Rose is a genius in the kitchen and prices are more than reasonable. Meals are 9MYR per person and drinks 3 to 6MYR. I personally recomend the seafood noodles, the coconut sauce with either chicken or prawns and the black pepper sauce with chicken.
The room is only for sleeping, so do not ask more than that.
And please, bring insect repelent because it is necessary!
Enjoy

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qimi Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qimi Chalet

Address: Marang, Pulau Kapas, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Kapas
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Kapas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome all to qimi chalet. We treat you as our family... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Qimi Chalet Hotel Pulau Kapas
Qimi Chalet Pulau Kapas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qimi Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.