We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in East Coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resorts World Kijal

Save Saved
You added Resorts World Kijal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Resorts World Kijal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 28, Jalan Kemaman-Dungun, Kijal 24100 , Malaysia (Formerly Awana Kijal Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kijal
Shah Alam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in East Coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

I had the chance of staying here for a night during a recent trip to East Coast (Cherating). Managed to get at cheaper by booking directly through hotel website as compared to other booking sites. The hotel ambiance if very pleasant and clean. Has golf course, swimming pool and many other facilities. The sea is just a short walk but be vary if jelly fishes (came across many, although uncertain if is poisonous). Great place for couples or family trips. Usually fully booked and sold out, so plan it way ahead if you wish to get a room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    57
    63
    20
    11
See reviews for
60
23
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We promised our kids for a pool visit when we came back from an overseas trip. Although a night stay but the kids really enjoy the pool which is very kids-friendly. Room is clean and tidy. Bathroom is nice because it has a tub, separate shower and wc so no need to rush. We didnt go for the breakfast but as our last visit found the breakfast is superb. Just rent some bicycle if you want to tour the sea shore.

Room Tip: Get the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Awana Kijal Golf and Resort, is still among the best place for your stay that can find at Kijal, Terengganu MALAYSIA. At Kijal, or around the town of Kemaman, choices for good hotel is very limited. Therefore, I always choose to stay at Awana Kijal when I come down to Kemaman with my family.

I would consider it as the third best hotel after Club Mad and Tanjung Jara, which is located not far from this hotel. This hotel is comfortable for one week stay, but not too long coz it's quite far from the town. Their windows that facing the ocean really make you feel your holiday, and relax. Their restaurants look clean and tidy with variety of food been served during breakfast.

What needs to be improved is the design of the hotel and their decoration especially at the lobby area. The hotel looks old and the decoration is not attractive at all. There are areas that are not well maintained and outdated. You can see the roof frame and it looks old and require maintainance.

For golf fans, this is the ideal place for you to enjoy your favorite sport.

For those who come with kids ...... this hotel provided you with a swimming pool the best for your kids. I really love their swimming pool. It's suitable and safe for your kids.

The rental price is quite reasonable ....... especially when you compared with their comfort room, great food at their restaurants, their swimming pool which I considered among the best in Malaysia, lush golf course and their beautiful private beach.

It really worth it .........

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Awana Kijal has been around for at least 15 years. It could do with some updating, but it is still the best hotel in the Kemasik-Kemaman area, has decently sized rooms for large families and groups travelling together, and lots of space for kids to run around & keep themselves occupied.

The room was clean, although it looked a little tired. The hotel could DEFINITELY do with new bedclothes, drapery & carpeting, but at least they were clean. The bathrooms could also do with some refreshing, but was at least clean & functional.

It helps too that there's a huge golf course for the golfer parents, but I can't quite attest to the quality of the course.

Front desk service was efficient & pleasant, as was service elsewhere in the hotel.

I was here for a business meeting, arriving late the evening before the next morning's meeting, and decided to have dinner at the coffeehouse at around 9pm. The place was empty, save one other table, and the menu was quite brief. The sandwich I had was.. quite 80s-style, but the mamak mee my workmate had was delicious.

The room came with buffet breakfast, which was also decent. Hot breakfast options for vegetarians isn't great, but there was plenty of the standard bread, cereal & fruit.

Room Tip: Unless awesome views are important to you, try asking for a room on one of the lower floors so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

When you enter the lobby, you'll see how spacious the place is. But unfortunately the room is not as spacious as the lobby. However with quite good amenities, including mini bar and tv, i felt quite comfortable to stay in the room and enjoy room service. The spa has male and female therapist and choices of Javanese treatment. The beach is clean and beautiful. i enjoyed walking on the white sand in the morning and early evening to enjoy the quiet beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The moment I step in the hotel resort, I can sense a relaxing environment. Food can be obtained whether in and nearby the resort. Beaches are clean and stretches far end where you can find good rocks along the coast, but not an ideal beach for swimming. All activities are as stated in the website. I have no high expectation in their service provision since east coast living life style is not as comparable to city life style. Therefore, hotel workers are laid back in many areas. Hopefully, HR could prepare more training programme for the workers to cultivate better alertness and understanding level.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good sea view. It depends you get a room which is either facing the pool or golf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is my 2nd trip to Awana Kijal for a 3 nights leisure breakaway. It did not occur to me to review, but I simply had to commend the housekeeping. The lightbulb in the toilet fused on my 2nd night there. I did not bother to request for replacement as it was not causing much inconvenience. The light from the main bathroom area is strong enough to shine through the glass panel of the toilet door. To my surprise, it was replaced after housekeeping on the next day !!! Excellent job done!!

Its private beach is the main attraction for me to return, not forgetting its spacious room and courteous staff. I must say I had a wonderful relaxing stay :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Resorts World Kijal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Kijal

Address: Km 28, Jalan Kemaman-Dungun, Kijal 24100 , Malaysia (Formerly Awana Kijal Resort)
Location: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kemaman District > Kijal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kijal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Kijal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on an East Coast adventure, and experience Malaysia’s heritage traditions that you would otherwise only seen and heard about. Immerse yourself with your family on a journey filled with exotic cuisines, historical architectures and the beautiful 7.6km stretch of white sand beach while being surrounded by the tranquil ambience away from the usual daily pressure of work. Make your family bonding fun and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Resorts World Kijal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Kijal Hotel Kijal
Awana Hotel Kijal
Resorts World Kijal Terengganu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resorts World Kijal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.