We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miri Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Miri Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Miri Marriott Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Temenggong Datuk Oyong Lawai, Miri 98000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Experience Kids Eat Free
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Miri
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is great for a relaxing retreat away from home. It has a nice pool and a pool bar, spa.The staff is friendly and helpful. We had a hot stone massage which was so relaxing that we were close to falling asleep. They showed movie for kids the two nights we stayed there.The pool was clean and the cocktails were good as well. 'At you service' staff is helpful as well. The breakfast and dinner had a great choice of food. However if you are having fried food ask for less oil. The omelette was quite oily. Couple of minor details could be fixed. I saw staff with their uniform zippers not quite working. As for 5 star hotel the shower curtain was a little too cheap looking and the night window curtain was dirty. We had only one robe provided even two people were checked-in, we asked for the second one but the next day they collected both and left only one new robe. There was only one dental kit and no hair conditioner. We stayed in 1007 room on the ground floor. Good location, close to spa, restaurant, and pool. However on Saturday morning we heard the noises coming from the fun having kids at the pool.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms (e.g.1007) are close to pool, spa and restaurant. There might be some noise comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    131
    41
    14
    6
See reviews for
71
80
18
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Only stayed for 2 nights but really enjoyed lounging around the pool. The service of the bar staff was great and they serve the best cocktails :-)
Breakfast was tasty with a wide variety to choose from and the rooms were large and clean.
Definitely hope to come back here again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is a great place to relax by the pool - though sadly we were utterly gatecrashed by the guests of a wedding. They drank a lot and were very noisy - throwing water over each other and other rowdy behaviour...We moved but they were quite unimpressed about that!

Our room was lovely - two large beds and a lovely balcony overlooking a garden and the sea.

Would definitely visit here again! Although hopefully not when a Punjabi wedding is taking place...Oh, and my dim sum at breakfast was cold!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was my second time here, and confirmed to me that it was a good choice. Miri itself isn't anything special, but the hotel provides a relatively peaceful and relaxing base. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are generally spacious- try and get a garden or pool view. The pool area is ideal for adults and children- but gets very busy at weekends. Food in the restaurant is good and the buffet is excellent value.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the main hotel overlook the pool and sea. First time I visited I had a garden r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was very pleased with the accommodations and service at this Marriott. If I was in the area on holiday, I would stay here and would recommended it. I had ocean view and was treated to some nice sunsets. The bell service was always helpful and the hotel provided a service that I've never experienced before...they were able to put the taxi charges on the room. No issues, no add-ons, no questions. Only one taxi driver wouldn't do it, but this really helped in an area of the country that is definitely "cash only".

As a business traveler, I might stay in town in the future. That is not at all a slight against the hotel proper. It just seems that it is too far out of town and to go out to get dinner is now a trip. Given my time constraints, I ended up with room service a few nights. The food was good as was the service. But when I am on travel in another country, room service isn't usually that high on the list.

So if you decide to stay here, you will not be disappointed. Just think about what you'll need to be doing time-wise before you make your final decision.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a nice traditional resort a few kms from the centre of Miri. Rooms and bathroom are well outfitted, if a little smaller than expected. The pool is large with plenty of loungers and the pool bar very pleasant. There's only one restaurant - food is perfectly acceptable but not really 5 star. The other bar is full of great chairs in conversation groups but was deserted when we were there midweek. Staff are excellent, friendly and efficient and couldn't do enough to help when one of our party was injured (not at the hotel). There are tennis courts and a gym, as well as a pleasant spa with reasonably prices. Although the hotel is right on the beach with great views out to sea from the pool and gardens, there's no beach or water sports. A really nice quiet resort to just dig by the pool for a few days.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dell City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 7 nights at the Marriott. However on check in we were informed that we had not included breakfast - which we do whenever we travel. The manager on duty was adamant and not willing to give us the benefit of the doubt until I could contact my travel agent. Early the next morning I located a copy of my booking comfirmation on my computer and made my way to the reception to prove my point. Following that incident we were treated extremely well.
The room was large, bathroom adequate, but no walk in shower, we had to haul our old joints over the high bathtub. Pool area was massive and had many chairs and separate facilities for small children and outside staff always polite and helpful. The towels for the pool were not 5* most had holes, stains etc - not a good look.
The Marriott is the best available in Miri and the free shuttle service into the centre of town was a bonus if you needed to shop, otherwise it was a terrific quiet location away from the hustle and bustle. I did wander through the Everley next door which appeared old, pool area and chairs disgusting and the water was not even crystal clear.
We did book a pool view room but be aware there is no view of the pool from many of the rooms except in the main building which is the more expensive option. Quality and presentation of the food was excellent, priced a bit high, but a short walk away or across the road are local restaurants, bakery, travel agents, laundry etc.
A word of warning - beware the tiny sand flies, we were unaware of these until too late so the week was uncomfortable due to itchy little bites. If we ever returned to Miri it would be to the Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Miri Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miri Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: Jalan Temenggong Datuk Oyong Lawai, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Miri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Miri Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incredible sunsets, lush tropical gardens and soft breezes from the South China Sea await you at the Miri Marriott Resort & Spa. Award-winning 5-star Sarawak resort and one of the best resorts and hotels in Malaysia. Located near the city centre and airport, our resort features rooms with breathtaking views, broadband Internet (chargeable if not a Marriott Rewards member), luxury bedding and other choice amenities. Our top restaurant offers best international buffet and live entertainment at the lounge while our delicatessen is known for the finest breads and cakes. To relax and rejuvenate, visit our Mandara Spa or enjoy other recreational facilities including the fitness centre, Sarawak's largest free-form pool, and resort activities for all ages. Our 9 meeting venues include a Ballroom accommodating up to 600 guests. When planning a holiday, conference or honeymoon, there's no better choice than our Borneo resort near shopping, nightlife and national parks showcasing Sarawak's natural wonder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Miri Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miri Marriott Resort And Spa
Miri Marriott Hotel Miri
Marriott Miri Hotel
Miri Marriott Resort & Spa Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miri Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.