We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for exceptional service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri to your Saves list
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Temenggong Datuk Oyong Lawai, Miri 98000, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Miri
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value for exceptional service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed over at the hotel for a night, since I had a weeding to get to.

I arrived at the hotel late, close to 6PM, and the bellboy was very helpful. Reception was quick and check in was not a hassle. I did my booking through booking.com and wanted to pay the room, but the receptionist informed me that they have already charged my credit card, very much to my surprise. I wanted to pay cash!

The bellboy, I should call him a bellman, brought over my luggages, and he was very attentive as in helping to turn on the lights and TV, and wanted to call maintenance since one of the small lamp's bulb has blown off. It was a small matter, but it was nice to have an attentive worker.

The room was big, eventhough I booked the smallest one. single beds are big! cleanliness was acceptable but there were dark stains in the bathtub which I believed cant be scrubbed off, but please do try stain removers.

Overall, the stay was good. Didnt try the breakfast and didnt have the chance to go around the hotel, but will definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    63
    43
    23
    9
See reviews for
30
33
10
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miri, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The last time I stayed in Parkcity was last month 4th August and ever stay here for more than 3 times. So far the best hotel in Miri. The booking was taken smoothly and everything that i requested was perfectly done, in example the sea view room, the king size bed and even asked for a baby cot. No hassle during check in/out. The bell boys are excellent, polite and always smile with sincere especially Justine. My kid loves the pool and we enjoyed the sea view room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a surprise! I booked the executive floor mountain view for an advanced purchase rate (wouldn't even get a share dorm in Sydney for this rate), and found a spacious, regally appointed room with lovely views. The floor also had an executive-style lounge with computers, fruit, drinks and the best melt-in-your mouth shortbreads outside of Scotland. Not to mention piped music in the corridors. The hotel maintenance is excellent and there were many convenience and comfort touches in the room. The reception area is grand and the three in one pool area is as good as any five star resort. The staff were friendly and helpful - even to get you a boarding pass. There is a free shuttle to town which is about 4 kms away. I always like to be a little out of the downtown area as it is quiet and in this case, on the beach. Highly recommended over the others in town as a stepping off point to Mulu National Park which is in all the tour brochures found in Australian travel agencies. We arrived by best value for money Royal Brunei Melbourne to Bandar Seri Begawan (Brunei). Then a comfy bus $18B across the border - about 4 hours - to Miri.

Room Tip: Go sea view executive for a real treat as it has a balcony looking out over the South China Sea and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Aman, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

On the second day of Hari Raya (20 Aug), my family and I drove 10 hours straight expecting to check-in and rest. To our disappointment, when we reached the hotel a bit pass 3 o'clock, we were told that our sea-view room was not ready.

That was the beginning of a disastrous stay at this hotel. The receptionist asked us to wait for another 1 hour 30 minutes before our room would be ready, by PUTTING THE BLAME ON GUESTS WHO CHECKED OUT LATE. For me, this kind of self-defense mechanism shown by the management is unacceptable. They should present the guests with good service, not excuses.

The room itself is nothing to rave about. Just a typical 3-star room. Bear in mind that we booked a sea-view room with a balcony, which is dirty. Most probably the housekeeping never bother to clean. To add salt to the wound, the bath tub is equally dirty and aged too.

Really disappointing for such establishment.

Room Tip: Don't! Try other hotel that may have better offers and services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the price - for 130 Ringit, it is an economical stop over and is not too far from Miri Airport.

Overall, this hotel is pretty tired out and is in real need of refurbishment. I have stayed in both executive and deluxe rooms - the executive are slightly larger, but otherwise they are very similar. Bathrooms are quite grubby and the rooms are prone to smelling of stale cigarette smoke. The executive floor has a small lounge with complementary soft drinks and biscuits. However, I am not sure it is worth the additional money to have this. The breakfast was included in my room. It is a fairly average buffet - certainly when compared to the Marriott next door - but not too bad if it is included in the price.

Positives:
the staff are absolutely lovely and very helpful
sea view rooms have balconies with a good view across the beach
the swimming pool is excellent
beds are comfortable

Negatives:
the in-house band are quite noisy, so the bar is not a place to sit and chat
the breakfast can be quite bland
grubby grubby bathrooms!!

Room Tip: 6th floor, sea view rooms have a lovely view. Specify a non-smoking room (if you are not a smoker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have used this hotel a lot about 11-12 years ago when it was managed by Holiday Inn. I used it both for business and travel/relaxation. Soon after, the owner took over its management and seemed to have done an admirable job by recent observations. The hotel design and layout is quite stunning. The lobby remained unchanged but has been refreshed with new leather furniture. Wood paneling has been generously added to the ceiling. All tables are high quality hard wood. A grand piano has been added. The layout of lobby, business center, stairways, dining, pool, gym and sea view is among the nicest I have seen anywhere for a mid sized hotel. On entry into lobby, you catch a view of the terrace beyond the lobby with the pool/park and sea view beyond all that. It is excellent for business visits, for personal work or with business associates/participants, this due to its many quality function rooms of various sizes. There is a lobby bar/terrace as well as a Chinese restaurant. I used this hotel primarily as a rest & relax place plus visit of old friends with my wife and our grown up children. (Younger children may not find enough to do - do make a check). It is recommended to get a room for another USD10 to get a a sea-view room, e.g. 622-650 even numbers only. The sea front with the previous Miri River Mouth has been reclaimed and filled in, so the movement of boats is now replaced with a nice park; hence half the sea-view has been replaced by the new park/forest. It is very nice. Should you rather see the park, then book rooms with the smaller room numbers up till 620 even numbers as well. The room is spacious; for the twin rooms, each bed is a standard double size. The furnishing is not new but has been well maintained. The room when I found it provided a local batik sarong both for him and for her, instead of a dressing gown. The best part is the security safe which is long, and I could place my full-size laptop in it. There is a balcony overlooking the sea with two outdoor chairs and round table. The view is towards the west, hence sun-set. The coffee/fridge facilities are good. We didn't use the breakfast buffet, but I did survey and found the classic spread, well presented and seemed well prepared. The cafe led into the pool area, park which overlooked the sea view, superb for reading and writing. When we were there, the hotel was rather quiet. There was WIFI in the common areas as well as in the rooms, though the speed could be much better. The hotel doesn't have any particular attraction nearby (except my aunt across the road!). There is a concrete path around the water front (there seemed no direct access to the beach and there is no sand!). But its is a 5-min drive to town by taxi which suits us well as we rather have the quietness. We had a good deal booked online and hotel prices in Miri seemed competitive. So the value is therefore high and the sleep and rest was excellent. (photos coming up).

Room Tip: Pick rooms on higher floor and with the higher even number to face the sea, the lower even numbers t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel has seen better days with its faded furnishings. My main complaint is that our room smelt stale and musty; it needed to be aired properly. We had to get the housekeeping staff spray the room with air freshener. After that, we left teh balcony doors open for the rest of the dy. The bathroom smelt badly too as there was no ventilation, and the bedside lamp was mouldy. The seaviews, as lovely as they were, did little to alleviate our disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri

Address: Jalan Temenggong Datuk Oyong Lawai, Miri 98000, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Miri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Miri
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.