We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a short stopover, but needs some new life breathing into it...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri

Save Saved
You added ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Temenggong Datuk Oyong Lawai, Miri 98000, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Miri
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fine for a short stopover, but needs some new life breathing into it...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the price - for 130 Ringit, it is an economical stop over and is not too far from Miri Airport.

Overall, this hotel is pretty tired out and is in real need of refurbishment. I have stayed in both executive and deluxe rooms - the executive are slightly larger, but otherwise they are very similar. Bathrooms are quite grubby and the rooms are prone to smelling of stale cigarette smoke. The executive floor has a small lounge with complementary soft drinks and biscuits. However, I am not sure it is worth the additional money to have this. The breakfast was included in my room. It is a fairly average buffet - certainly when compared to the Marriott next door - but not too bad if it is included in the price.

Positives:
the staff are absolutely lovely and very helpful
sea view rooms have balconies with a good view across the beach
the swimming pool is excellent
beds are comfortable

Negatives:
the in-house band are quite noisy, so the bar is not a place to sit and chat
the breakfast can be quite bland
grubby grubby bathrooms!!

Room Tip: 6th floor, sea view rooms have a lovely view. Specify a non-smoking room (if you are not a smoker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    58
    38
    22
    9
See reviews for
27
31
9
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have used this hotel a lot about 11-12 years ago when it was managed by Holiday Inn. I used it both for business and travel/relaxation. Soon after, the owner took over its management and seemed to have done an admirable job by recent observations. The hotel design and layout is quite stunning. The lobby remained unchanged but has been refreshed with new leather furniture. Wood paneling has been generously added to the ceiling. All tables are high quality hard wood. A grand piano has been added. The layout of lobby, business center, stairways, dining, pool, gym and sea view is among the nicest I have seen anywhere for a mid sized hotel. On entry into lobby, you catch a view of the terrace beyond the lobby with the pool/park and sea view beyond all that. It is excellent for business visits, for personal work or with business associates/participants, this due to its many quality function rooms of various sizes. There is a lobby bar/terrace as well as a Chinese restaurant. I used this hotel primarily as a rest & relax place plus visit of old friends with my wife and our grown up children. (Younger children may not find enough to do - do make a check). It is recommended to get a room for another USD10 to get a a sea-view room, e.g. 622-650 even numbers only. The sea front with the previous Miri River Mouth has been reclaimed and filled in, so the movement of boats is now replaced with a nice park; hence half the sea-view has been replaced by the new park/forest. It is very nice. Should you rather see the park, then book rooms with the smaller room numbers up till 620 even numbers as well. The room is spacious; for the twin rooms, each bed is a standard double size. The furnishing is not new but has been well maintained. The room when I found it provided a local batik sarong both for him and for her, instead of a dressing gown. The best part is the security safe which is long, and I could place my full-size laptop in it. There is a balcony overlooking the sea with two outdoor chairs and round table. The view is towards the west, hence sun-set. The coffee/fridge facilities are good. We didn't use the breakfast buffet, but I did survey and found the classic spread, well presented and seemed well prepared. The cafe led into the pool area, park which overlooked the sea view, superb for reading and writing. When we were there, the hotel was rather quiet. There was WIFI in the common areas as well as in the rooms, though the speed could be much better. The hotel doesn't have any particular attraction nearby (except my aunt across the road!). There is a concrete path around the water front (there seemed no direct access to the beach and there is no sand!). But its is a 5-min drive to town by taxi which suits us well as we rather have the quietness. We had a good deal booked online and hotel prices in Miri seemed competitive. So the value is therefore high and the sleep and rest was excellent. (photos coming up).

Room Tip: Pick rooms on higher floor and with the higher even number to face the sea, the lower even numbers t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel has seen better days with its faded furnishings. My main complaint is that our room smelt stale and musty; it needed to be aired properly. We had to get the housekeeping staff spray the room with air freshener. After that, we left teh balcony doors open for the rest of the dy. The bathroom smelt badly too as there was no ventilation, and the bedside lamp was mouldy. The seaviews, as lovely as they were, did little to alleviate our disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo Frio, RJ
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a passable hotel. Often used by transient oilfield workers and not very well maintained. Location is good, do be careful when walking at night. Not dangerous but there is cause to be concerned...drink flows for the oilfield and locals....not much else to do in Miri sometimes.

Room Tip: Book early if at all possible. This is a "transient" hotel for the oilfield..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I give the executive rooms a very good rating, but the standard rooms only average.

We had another delightful contrast to the high cringe factor hotel we stayed in last night. This time I had us booked at the Parkcity Everly Hotel, a true 4 star resort with stunning ocean and sunset view, a nice beach and a large swimming pool complete with a swim under bridge. BUT even better, we got upgraded to an executive suite room: a huge room on the 7th floor (top floor) with beach and ocean and pool view, a king sized bed, a seating area with couches and chairs and a flat screen TV with BBC and 26 channels. We had access to the executive lounge with ethernet computer connections, free coffee, juice, soda and cookies. I got a discount to start with, because I had booked through AsiaRooms.com. That means we got the executive room which was advertised for around $120 US per night for only $56 (plus 16% tax and service charge.)

I must commend the front desk staff and, in particular, May, who was ever helpful and accommodating and friendly. And she printed out my boarding passes and let me use a hotel computer to make some important onward travel arrangements. She booked taxis, gave travel advice and always greeted us when we came in and inquired about our day. The bellman and doormen were great and friendly also. The hotel will do free luggage storage for you, too.

We had the buffet breakfast two of the days. It had a nice selection of Asian and Western food, yogurt, fruit, an omelet station and breads and pastries.

And now the bad:
The hotel has only wireless G routers and every evening the wifi becomes totally nonfunctional. That might not seem like such a bad thing to some, but I couldn’t even print out my boarding passes in the pay for use business center because it wasn’t getting internet service either. And I was trying to investigate and book some onward travel and no internet created a significant problem. As mentioned, one evening the receptionist May let me use the hotel computer. The next night, a traveling businessman (a complete stranger) let me use his USB broadband port.

And: We left the hotel for 2 days to go to Niah, then came back for another 2 days. This time we were not upgraded. This 6th floor room was exactly the same size as the one we were in on the executive 7th floor. But maintenance and upkeep were sorely wanting. The drapes had huge water stains, the bed had no bed skirt, so one saw the striped ticking on the box platform. The couch was dirty. The shower had mold on the ceiling and in the trim around the walls. We used some of the shower soap and a washcloth on a spot and the mold washed right off: a testament to just plain poor housekeeping. It still had a comfortable bed and clean linens and a great view. This hotel could be topnotch with some more staff and better routine cleaning.

And: one night we went to the restaurant. There was no other customers, but the kitchen could not make pasta. “Pasta finished” The next night we went to the restaurant (this hotel is not close to town, it’s a 15 to 20 MR taxi ride.) We were told that there were a lot of room service orders and customers in the restaurant, so it would be at least 45 minutes until we could be served. Another example of not enough staff. We again took a taxi into town.

Room Tip: executive rooms are much cleaner and better maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed here on business and rely on good internet coverage which was terrible at this hotel, so bad that i couldn't work. I was informed that it's good coverage if you stay on the club floor.... Also phone signal is non existent in the restaurant, which again is not good for my line of work.
The hotel lobby is nice and the swimming pool, breakfast was fine too.
The rooms are very old and the hotel is so quiet, i went to have a beer and watch the band play and the girls in the band just wanted to try and get free drinks from me, so I walked out.
I will be staying at the Marriott from now on or the Imperial in town.

Room Tip: Club floor if you want internet signal, best to pay the same price and stay at Marriott next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Originally a Holiday Inn, the fittings are of the American standard and have worn well. Unfortunately, the upkeep of the hotel is hit-and-miss. Hit with the room service: our room-cleaning lady was meticulous and housekeeping: everything arrived promptly
Misses: the pool was very dirty and very chlorinated; the toilet which never stopped flushing, we gave up after 2 requests to fix it didn't work. The nightly entertainment can be heard quite easily from the seaview rooms.
The benefits for us as a family: a huge room and the twin beds were big enough for the four of us; the view was stunning. A two minute walk away are shops and restaurants. Heaps of carparking. Comfortable beds. The price was right. The hotel is out of the city.

Room Tip: The cleanliness is tricky, as our room was very clean, but the pool and its surrounds were icky. Cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri

Address: Jalan Temenggong Datuk Oyong Lawai, Miri 98000, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Miri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Miri
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.