We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean backpacker's place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Coco House to your Saves list
Coco House
Lot 2117, Block 9, Miri-Pujut Road | Miri Concession Land District (MCLD), Miri 98000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Miri
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Clean backpacker's place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

When I first arrived at Coco House, it looked as if it is in the middle of nowhere but fret not, the nearest mall, Bintang Mall is only about 10 mins walk away. Basically you can walk almost everywhere in town as Miri is not too big.

It has a restaurant (but it is quite hopeless). Rooms come with breakfasts & is served from 7am-10am but it may be late so if you are in a hurry the next morning, please make sure you alert them way before hand. The fare, suffice to say that it is edible.

Coco Dive Shop is also located there on the ground floor. Unfortunately, no comments from me as the 2 days that I was supposed to dive, the sea wasn't cooperative.

The dorm room, they come in 4 & 8 bunks & separated by gender, of course. The beds are comfy enough & they have a lockable 'chubby' just above one end of the bed for your use. Individual light & curtain within each bunk.

The dorm room is clean but the public area (toilet/shower) are not cleaned often. This should seriously be ratified. PL BRING YOUR OWN SHAMPOO & SOAP! Towel and blanket provided.

There is a shared living /pantry room with hot/warm water dispenser, a microwave, some cutlery & crockery (good enough for instant noodles & a cup of coffee), tea, sugar, a small fridge, dining table, TV, sofa and even a netbook for you to surf at no cost. Oh and there are also books & magazines that you can borrow.

I met a girl who stayed in the rooms. The room surprisingly doesn't come with TV. Come to think of it, it might be better just to get a dorm esp when there are a few of you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed 1 night in coco house. The shower was fantastic! The room was clean for the eye however a lot of dust, rubish and hairs next the bed!

You have good and free wifi and you can have a drink downstairs. Very dissapointing that you could not take an early breakfast or breakfast to go. We did pay for it but we needed to catch an early flight and needed to leave 30 minutes before breakfast (7.30) opened.

The hotel is nice but the location not great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I've read low average reviews on this lodge at first but insist to have a real experienced for at least a night.the front desk a bit slow and lack of professional yet very sincere and helpful.
the dorm which consist 2 double decker with personal security box and curtain(wow!) plus with personal bed lmap n electric plu to charge ur phone or laptop.well also with a budget pedal to hang ur towel.
the common room divided into female n male which is a bonus for some people.but it reduce each room to only 2 toilet with 1 shower room.i would like to suggest, they upgrade the 2 toilet with a simple portable shower to wash the butt plus shower.
the big mirror n spacious basin for hand wash not to say a waste but its better to invest for cream dispenser in each room as the one is the existing washroom is in poor condition.the shower room door a bit dirt, prior to lack of staff to do maintenance.
the living room is awesome plus with mini bar which provided great microwave for those hungry in the midnite so u may heat for noodle or prooidge, plus with mini fridge, water hot and cold dispenser n not forgetting the iron with the board.u may iron ur shirt at any time.
the living room provided with variety of local magazines and catalogue while for those need relax, sofa ambience very home feeling with bid lcd tv.
the cafe totally need help in terms of cooking, i only can give 2 from 5 where the tea tarik is poor and the fried noodles not more than a canteen quality.but the bread made by the malay girl in the morning is great,perfect blend of butter and coconut jam but again the tea is not well blend. i suggest let the free breakfast manage as self service so the cafe can focus more on request preparation.everyone would love the cafe because its so ambience, calming, welcoming and nice to hang out.
parking is ample facing main road with almost no noisy sound.safety consider great with cctv every floor.
location is 900m from imperial mall where i consider as main landmark of city centre, as well bintang mall.malay food court opposite miri-orient hotel is 500m.all in all is superb for a hostel with budget hotel feeling from outside while totally home inside.

Room Tip: ask not to put room facing mainroad,its not noisy but if u need totally silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed for a total of eight days in Coco House whilst I was diving with Coco Divers. I bought a package off Groupon which included scuba diving and accommodation with food all thrown in which was really fantastic value for money. I stayed in a double bed en suite room with private bathroom which normally costs RM80 per night. The room was only relatively clean with the walls already getting dirty and the toilet bowl had some issues. Nevertheless it was generally clean though the bed wasn't of the highest quality. The free wifi was much appreciated and the service and helpfulness from all the staff was really great, absolutely no complaints there. The food there was pretty lousy and uninspired at best. I normally just had a few bites before going off to eat some local food nearby. The location isn't too bad with a huge mall less than 15mins walk away and quite a few selections of restaurants and stalls less than 10 mins away. If you're scuba diving with Coco Dive and especially if you have your own diving equipment then it makes perfect sense to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This building is next to Dynasty Hotel. The Coco House has only recently open, less than 8 months.

The coco house is a 100% MUST visit for the CocoDive (Diving the Sea in Miri and everywhere else that is nearby). FREE Wifi. CHEAP priced ranging from only RM 40 and above. Temporary accomodation for the divers.

However, the food itself has problem. It was great but food quality has dropped tremendously lately. Price is even slightly more expensive than outside.

The roti jala used to have 5 pieces. Once we informed the staff, we wanted to get it as a take away instead of dine it. She only gave us 4 pieces. We saw return the last piece to the kitchen. Who knows she might have think the 5th piece is the charge for the disposable container. The use of disposable containers for drinks which are more suited to a fast food outlet is one of the major turn off.

We revisited and some of the staffs changed. The food does not taste as good as it looks as well. The shocking moment: We found hair on our friend's drinks. Some of our friends took their turns to invite the other friends to join in but, things does not seem to improve for the past 3 months.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miri hotels

Miri, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

found out about this place from my friend,room are nice and very relaxing as it was quieter,there's a place to hang out in the afternoon at the rooftop,even town area are reachable within 10-15 mins walk which is a leisure walk.

Room Tip: room situated at south side have nice view of the fly over highway, room are quieter and nice with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco House

Address: Lot 2117, Block 9, Miri-Pujut Road | Miri Concession Land District (MCLD), Miri 98000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Miri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco House is a small property in Miri, just 10 minutes' walk from Miri Heritage Centre and Bintang Mega Mall. It offers both private and dormitory rooms with free Wi-Fi. The on-site Coco Cafe serves local dishes.All guestrooms are fitted with air conditioning and wooden flooring. All include a satellite TV and hairdryer, as well as private or shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Coco House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco House Miri, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.