We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your avrage hotel, but clean and convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Orient Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pacific Orient Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pacific Orient Hotel
49 Brooke Rd., Miri 98000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Miri
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Your avrage hotel, but clean and convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Not a very exciting hotel, rooms are old style and bahrooms not very appealling
dnt go there for ur honeymoon. However it is well located, just near the mall, walking distance to the temple, and next door to excellent chinese food. You can ask for the hotel van to take you around. Try the niht market! Every friday sat and sunday evening

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
4
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012 via mobile

I had to make an unscheduled stopover in Miri after attending some business meetings in Brunei. Given the fact that I arrived in Miri in the evening, I decided to stay at this hotel based on some favorable reviews from the Internet. The room cost RM118 nett per night and the hotel was located in the center of town. That is as far as my praise goes to this hotel.

The room was very dated and is in serious need of a major upgrade whilst the bathroom is nothing better than some guest-houses you find all over. The bed was exceptionally soft to the point where when you sleep in the middle of the queen size bed you can feel your body sinking into the bed and the side of the bed curving up (the hotdog feeling).

Breakfast in the morning was average. Compliment must be made to the staff of the hotel who tried their best to make the guests felt comfortable & welcome in a very tired hotel.

For me personally I will stay at Miri Hotel next door to this hotel which is a new hotel of similar class and is of the same price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My travel agent booked us (my friends and me) this hotel for 2 nights enroute to Mulu Caves.. We were rather disappointed at 1st because we didnt expect that he would book us a budget hotel.!! But we found out later that it is very convenient, near shopping complexes, restaurants and even near the market. We also explore further and found out it is near the river side too. The hotel is rather old and some for the facilities does not function properly. They provide the basic necessities including breakfast which is good home-cooked food. We really have to thank the staff who are friendly and helpful especially Ms Wong and Mary. Our flight back to Kuala Lumpur was delayed till 7.00 pm and Ms Wong was so kind to give us an extension till 4 pm and Ms. Mary was there to assist us to ensure that we are comfortable till we leave to the airport. They were so warm and caring that we all left Pacific Orient with pleasant memories. Ladies, Keep Up the Good Work!!!!!

Room Tip: It is a budget hotel but comfortable. Not appropriate for people with high expectation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cavite
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

I have stayed here twice, the first was last April and recently last July. The hotel sits on the corner of two major city roads very accessible by public transport. Within the hotel vicinty are al-fresco type restaurans most of them are chinese and theres one Malaysian adjacent to the hotel. There is also a handicraft center right accross the hotel for those who'd like to get some take homne presents, and another handicraft store called Borneo handicraft about 100 meter from the hotel. There are two major malls within walking distance! One is the Bintang Mega Mall which practically house most of the well known commecrcial chains like starbucks, coffee bean, delifrance, mc donalds, kentucky, marry brown, secret recipe, a bowling center and cinemas.

Now the Hotel... All rooms have windows and they are big, i mean big. The rooms have an old kinda feeling to it, but the sheets and towels are changed everyday and cleaned everyday. Hot and cold shower is a standard with bathtubs, the toilets feels old too but as I've said, its clean. On both of my stay the rooms I got were carpeted, I guess thats where the old-kinda-damp-smell is coming from. They probably open the windows from time to time and Miri is a humid city.

Hotel staff were courteous, you can ask them to arrange your taxi going back to the airport in a jiffy and even the cleaners were very obliging too. You have to ask for hot water (for your coffee) int he morning though. There is a complimentary breakfast, but the food is not worth mentioning. for ameneties, there is a billard table at the lobby which you can rent for 4 ringgit a game and a wifi connection... only at the lobby.

Overall experience... it was quite okay no frills... just plain and simple.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — old-damp-kinda smell
  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Orient Hotel

Address: 49 Brooke Rd., Miri 98000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Miri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pacific Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Orient Hotel Miri, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Orient Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.