We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mega Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mega Hotel to your Saves list
Mega Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 907, Jalan Merbau | P.O.Box 1165, Miri 98000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Miri
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had 3 nights here knowing that it was only a 3 star hotel. It's location is central and close to bars and restaurants. It's a bit noisy at night as the locals seem to drag race their scooters up the main street. Breakfast was good quality and variety. Miri is not a holiday/tourist destination it is an oil town and caters to crew and staff in the oil industry. Lots of great cheap restaurants out the back entrance of the hotel. The pools was clean but could do with a few chairs or loungers around, for the odd few tourists who come through.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if possible, but remember hotels can only provide what is available when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    42
    26
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
16
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My room was fine for a quick over night stay - but the noise from the Night Club karaoke across the road (I was on the 8th floor) was pretty loud, also the boy racers with loud exhausts. Then to top it all off at 5.30am the Mosque had the call to prayer blasting out. Not sure where it was but it was pretty loud - so I imagine it's a daily occurrence??
I arrived at midnight and had to leave for a flight at 8am so never really got to see much, but it wasn't a good sleep.
The room was very spacious, clean and well appointed - just the noise was a negative.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room away from the street front (if possible?) I was on the 8th floor and the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Quite disappointed with the hotel. We booked a room for 4 but when we checked in was given a deluxe room for 3. Nevermind. When I asked for an additional bath towel, was told I have to pay MYR10 for it. Throughout my experience, I've never encountered any hotel that charged an additional fee for a bath towel! The room was quite run down too. It didn't give me that 'warm' welcoming feeling. To put it plainly, I don't like the hotel & the lack of few other things of which I expected for these kind of hotel to have also contributed to it. The vent fan in the bathroom was not working. Having said all that, the location is ideal. Accessible to most places. Staff are quite helpful. The rates are not actually quite cheap also. I am quite generous to give the rating 'average' for this. Unless no choice only would I stay in this hotel again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heywood
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had 4 days here , as i were going to Mulu for 2 nights and my wife were alone we chose it for its location, close to shopping and nearby bars , requiring little distance to reach.
the room was ok , clean and a good view of the small town.
plenty of facilities ,pool overlooking the town again nice views from the pool.
breakfast is aimed mainly at local tastes which is not for everyone, but as we say if you don't try it how do you know you don't like it, so give it a go.
staff very polite and helpful.
if you do visit Miri be aware it is not as easy to change STERLING [ uk pounds ] here as it is in most places , the hotel does at a poor rate. there are places to change your money but you do have to search for them, during banking hours you have more choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

First english, afterwards german.

The hotel is a little aged but the rooms are quite big and everything you need is there.
For Miri it has a very good location.
Across the street is a restaurant, Ming Cafe with good food and a can of beer for 6MYT.

But don't take the room to the entrance side the windows are very bad and so you hear everything from the street.

On a saturday there was half of the night i "kindergarden Rocker Club" with their 125ccm driving arround the block all the time.
At 4 am there was a firework?!?! What the hell?!
And at 5.15 the the muezzin starts....
So take the backside and the hotel is fine....


Das Hotel ist soweit so gut.....
Kein toller Service und nichts außergewöhnliches aber alles solide, wie auch das Frühstück.

Die Lage ist gut. Direkt gegenüber ist das Ming Cafe mit gutem Essen und einem Bier für 6 MYR.

Auf alle Fälle aber ein Zimmer nach hinten nehmen!

Unsere Fenster waren nicht isoliert und so war es nachts extrem laut.

Es gibt hier die Dorfjugend, die mit ihren aufgemotzten 125ccm Rollern immer schön um den Block fahren .......

Im großen und ganzen ist das Hotel aber zu empfehlen.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Surrounding the Mega Hotel in Miri are many fine bars, cafes and restaurants. The hotel restaurants are a little expensive, catering mostly for tour groups and wedding parties.The swimming pool is delightful and an oasis in what is rather a drab city. The Mega Hotel is the best place to stay if you want to be right in the centre of town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BINTULU
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

The reason we stayed in this hotel was because all of other hotels in Miri were full. We had to pay rm500 for the executive room which to our disappointment, the first thing we encounter was what seemed to be pubic hair in the tub and it was not clean at all.

The room were average even though it was quite spacious but the building seemed to be rundown with no sign of improvement.

Had our breakfast the next morning, to our dismay the staff didnt seem to care and asked us to pay extra for small kids, unlike other hotels allow the whole family of four without extra charges.

The buffet were so so, not much selection and it took quite some time for the staff to refill & i could see that people were waiting anxiously for the food. The porridge was terrible, as if cooked rice were mixed with water- doesnt taste like porridge at all.

We were so angry with the poor housekeeping and inattentive staff.

Definitely the first and the last
time.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mega Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mega Hotel

Address: Lot 907, Jalan Merbau | P.O.Box 1165, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Miri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mega Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mega Hotel Miri is a 4-star hotel centrally located in the business, entertainment and shopping hubs of Miri Resort City and only fifteen minutes drive from the airport. Whether in Miri City for business or pleasure, Mega Hotel is the perfect choice.It has 293 guest rooms fully equipped with modern days amenities, 3 food and beverage outlets, a ballroom that can accommodates up to 1200 persons on theatre-style sitting and 6 other venues for smaller group seminars. The business centre offers secretarial service, which includes photocopying, facsimile services and computer facilities. RECREATIONAL FACILITIES: The gym is equipped with basic gym equipment which provides a great venue to sweat it out and to distress. After a hectic day at work, enjoy a refreshing dip in our swimming pool, then complete your relaxation with an invigorating sauna or enjoy a soothing massage at our health centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mega Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mega Hotel Miri, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mega Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.