We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borneo Sandakan Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Borneo Sandakan Backpackers to your Saves list
Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
Block HS-5, Lot 54 & 55, 1st & 2nd floor, Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing Stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been in Sandakan for about a week and origionally we stayed in a different hostel. Our friend from our room said she was moving to this place, so decided to check it out. It was definatley worth the move for the same price we were paying we got a nice cosy dorm room with aircon.Breakfast is included and you get toast with a variety of spreads including peanut butter :) and Vegemite :D not quite marmite but nearly the same!! The staff were so friendly and made us feel as though we were at home. There is a small kitchen are and one of the evenings we made a Spanish omelette with 2 of people we made friends with from the hostel. Thank you so much for making our stay in Sandakan so pleasant. Aishah and Jon

Room Tip: Dorm was airconditioned for 20rm with breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Aisha & Jon

Greetings from the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers!

We appreciate your very kind review, thank you very much for that.


Regards,
The Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
33
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Skalmsjö, Västernorrlands Län, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great place. Perfect staff, they are very helpful, service minded and friendly. If you are looking for a place with good value for money this is the perfect stay-in. Bornes Sandakan backpackers is situated in the city centre and you have many restaurants just around the corner near the bay. It is also really clean and it's a good atmosphere.

Big thanks to the fantastic staff!

Kind regards
Axel & Nicole

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Axel & Nicole,

Greetings from the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers!

We appreciate your very kind review, thank you very much for that.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,
Jonathan, Gary and the Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I rarely write reviews but this place is worth it. Ditto to what all the other reviews say about Borneo Backpackers S'Kan. Exceptionally nice and helpful staff. Great Location. Thanks for the great recommendations and clean place to stay guys!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Greetings from the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers!

We appreciate your very kind review, thank you very much for that.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,
The Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Really great hostel! Clean rooms and good sized dorms! All the staff are super friendly and helpful and will help you find the best tours for the best prices! Kitchen and TV area if you want to chill! Very close by to the bus station and a 1 minute walk to the harbour front! Would 100% recommend to anyone passing through Sandakan!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Michelle

Thank you for staying with us at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers. We appreciate your review - thank you very much. Send our regards to Alex.


Regards,
The team of Borneo Sandakan Backpackers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great location near harbour and bus station. Lots of shops, restaurants around. You can really feel the town vibe there. Super clean, very friendly and helpful staff, reasonable price. Stayed for 1 night in air-conditioned dorm. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi

Thank you for staying with us at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers. We appreciate your review - thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

stayed 2 nights at air-conditioned dorm, neat and quiet, feel like at home, staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. location is also excellent; near the harbour and bus stations. lots good eating places just next door. Definitely recommended and will come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan7623, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi there,

Greetings from the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers!

We appreciate your very kind review, thank you very much for that.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,
The Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After months of subpar places around SE Asia this place was amazing! Very clean and the staff were very helpful and the friendlies I have encountered. The location is excellent as its near the harbour and very close the bus stations. Many restaurants are near by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan7623, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hey Kru,

Thank you for staying with us at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers.

We appreciate your review - thank you very much.

Hope you had a great time in Semporna!

Kind Regards,
The Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Borneo Sandakan Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Sandakan Backpackers

Address: Block HS-5, Lot 54 & 55, 1st & 2nd floor, Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to present you with the newly built Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, strategically located in Sandakan Harbour Square, a well-developed domestic area at the town of Sandakan. A couple of minutes’ walk to restaurants, banks and shops, Borneo Sandakan Backpackers offers comfortable and convenient accommodation for couples, singles, families and backpackers travelling to Sandakan.Borneo Sandakan Backpackers is directly in front of Swiss Inn Hotel. Our building is painted in red and white with a vertical red "BACKPACKERS" signboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Borneo Sandakan Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Sandakan Backpackers Sabah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.