We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, great location, super-friendy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourside Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harbourside Backpackers to your Saves list
Harbourside Backpackers
Lot 43, 1st Floor, Block HS-4 | Harbour Square, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Very clean, great location, super-friendy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I think my title says it all actually. The rooms are basic but very clean. I stayed for two nights in a single room with shared bathroom and thereafter for another 3 nights in a room with en-suite bathroom. Both were very clean though the single room did not have a proper window (just a sliding pane for ventilation - but there was a/c).

Great value for money though and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful in suggesting places to visit and sorting out transportation to onward destinations.

Room Tip: Try and pay the extra for an ensuite room as they are bigger and have windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
27
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Harbourside was a great little hostel to stay in while visiting Sandakan. We stayed in the family room which had a double bed and two single beds. Kind of a tight squeeze, but the room was very clean and the aircon offered respite from the heat. The shared bathrooms were very clean with modern fixtures in the showers and the sinks. The common area was comfortable with a big couch, a computer, and flat screen TV. The Internet access was fast, however the signal only reaches the common area. Definitely a great choice for the backpacking crowd and a place worthy of consideration for the hostel-shy crowd.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great place to stay in Sandakan, it is a clean place with friendly staff. They are very helpful with arranging tours and giving advice regarding your stay in Sabah.
Rooms, toilets, bathroom, kitchen and the common area are nice and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely friendly service, the hostel was clean and homely, with a great location just across the road from the harbour side. Hostel felt like a nice oasis from the heat and noise outside. I didn't really have a chance to use the lounge area but it looked like a good place to relax.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harnosand, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a very clean hostel and one of the best me and my friend stayed at during our threewees in Borneo. I got quite a shock when I saw how nice it was even though it was so cheap! They had a big nice "livingroom" with a flat screen and plenty of DVD's where you could hang out with other people and just talk of watch a movie. Toilets and showers: clean and nice. Kitchen: Big and you can use the fridge and cook your own meals if you want to. The only negative thing was that we didn't have any wall sockets in our dorm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here twice after reading the good reviews. It was especially lovely to come back after a couple of dodgy accomodation experiences in Mabul. The whole place is cleaned thoroughly daily. The kitchen is small and spotless. They have small lockers, lovely showers and a drinks fridge with beers and cans. Some people were frustrated by there being only one computer that often one person was on for a long time but having been to many places that don't have one at all I would say this was just a bonus and it's worth getting a data card for your phone or device at any phone shop for 40RM. It is 25RM a night for a dorm bed and there are also nice rooms if you are in a couple. Excellent value. Thanks to the staff who were extremely helpful with my laundry.

Room Tip: Dorms are good but worth staying in a double if you are a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We checked out of the Sea View Budget Hotel & Backpacker Hostel and walked straight into this place. We were given a triple room for the price of a double - MYR60 per night - and it was well worth it. The place was spotlessly clean, there were clean toilets and showers towards the back of the floor, there was a big common area with sofas and a large flat screen TV with a good selection of DVDs and a small breakfast kitchen next to reception. We spent the evening with three Austrians and a Japanese traveller watching "Ted". There was coffee available all day and we were even given breakfast early because we had to depart for the airport early the next day. It's just across the road from the new harbouside shopping mall and handy for all the main cafes - especially two good curryhouses with twenty metres. If we were in Sandakan again we would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbourside Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourside Backpackers

Address: Lot 43, 1st Floor, Block HS-4 | Harbour Square, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Harbour Square in the heart of Sandakan town center and opposite Harbour Mall shopping center. Only five minutes walk from central bus station and eight minutes walk from Mini bus station (bus to/from Sepilok Orang Utan Center). Close by to central market, bank, restaurant, cafe, shopping mall and supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Harbourside Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourside Backpackers Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourside Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.