We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sepilok Jungle Resort

Save Saved
You added Sepilok Jungle Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sepilok Jungle Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Sandakan
Gwynneville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very nice, close to orangutang sanctuary but rooms a far way away from restaurant .beautiful grounds. Very relaxing
Wasn't very happy we had to carry own bags across country for about a 10 minute walk to rooms. No chairs on balcony either. Apart from this was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi Cheryllove,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We are sorry to hear that there was not chairs in your balcony. We are doing some maintenance work and when you were here, the chairs were still not dry. Now all the chairs are in the balcony already.

Our walks from the rooms to the restaurant is through beautiful jungle and garden. Generally guests would like to carry the bags on their own. If not, we are always ready to carry for them and we also have a vehicle to standby to ferry the luggages to their room.

So sorry that you did not receive this service when you were here. However, we are glad that you have enjoyed and have a very relaxing stay with us.

We look forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    117
    92
    40
    28
See reviews for
60
156
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The resort itself is lovely as it is located in the heart of Sepilok jungle, 300m from the Orangutan Rehab Centre.

The swimming pool area is nice though, as with the rest of the resort, it is quite dated and in need of some attention.

The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable though we had 2 encounters with mice while we are there, 1 was underneath my mattress! It is the jungle so you have to accept that creatures will surface but this was a bit uncomfortable!

Breakfast is inc and eggs feature on the menu which is a bonus. The restaurant served great food for lunch and dinner at reasonable cost.

The shower/toilet facilities were fine though the showers were cold and lacking in any kind of power.

The family that owns it are lovely and were very helpful in recommending trips etc. Though its worth noting there isn't much to do in Sepilok apart from the Orangutan sanctuary, which is 30Rm for 2 hours, the skywalk canopy across the jungle, and the river cruise which is extortionately expensive- I think around 250Rm for a day! The main town doesn't have much to offer though we did have a fun night at a bar called 'R&B'.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad that you understood that we are in the jungle and there should be wildlife in the areas. However, i have to disagree that mice are inside the room, let alone underneath the mattress. If you sleep on it, the mice would have been squashed and smelled terrible.

We have checked all the rooms and we found no mice and in fact all our rooms are netted with mosquitoes net and in certain area with wire mesh to prevent any small mammals from going in.

We thank you for your compliments on the food and we will inform our kitchen.

Once again thank you very much we hope to serve you again in the future.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Hi Johnny,

This is Eric Mok. It was nice meeting you, your family members, and Robert at your Hotel in Sepilok last week. I am writing to thank you for your hospitality showed to me during my visit. I look forward to staying in your hotel when return. I also thank Robert for guiding me to find birds. He is real professional in birding.

I am attaching herewith a picture of Hooded Pitta which I shot during my visit at your hotel. Hope you will like it.

I will attach some bird sounds under separate email to Robert. Hope they are useful for him.

Once again, thank you ! I wish you and your family good health and your business continues to be successful.

Best regards,
Eric

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi Eric,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your bird photography session with us.

We have shown Robert the Hooded Pitta picture and he was very happy.

I am sure you will be back and by then hopefully there will be more birds for you.

Looking forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a truly delightful place to stay. It is within easy walking distance of the Orangutan rehabilitation centre which means you can visit twice in a day to see the morning and afternoon feedings. The rainforest discovery centre is also only about a 10-15 minute walk away.
The hotel is lovely and peaceful with a great atmosphere of relaxation and peace and quiet. There is even a pool if you feel the need of a dip. The food is good but if you are there for more than 3-4 days you might find the menu a bit small. But that is the only issue I found with the hotel (which is hardly worth mentioning)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We will continue to work harder so that everyone who stayed with us will have a great time like yours.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcome you again.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed for one night nad chose a cheaper room with fan (booked in advance via e-mail). Paid MYR 69 for a double room with breakfast (plus MYR 5 deposit for a room key returned at the check-out). We were given room no 10. Receptionists speak good English and are eager to help.

The room was not huge but large enough for 2 persons with backpacks. No wardrobe, just a table and a stool. And a very noisy fan.
Tiny bathroom with "cardboard" walls - no mirror, no hooks to hang your cloth and towel. Low pressure in the shower.

The breakfast was so-so - scrambled eggs/ omelette, fried noodles with vegetables, banana jam (home-made and quite good), tea and coffee.

The place is oriented mainly on foreign tourist, so the on-place Banana Cafe is rather pricy. We had one dinner there. Fried rice with chicken was average at best, with just few pieces of chicken. Chili beef was much better and contained a lot of meat. Fruit salad was ok.

Jungle Resort is popular with backpackers so can be a good place to meet some fellow travellers and exchange advice. Our room was OK for one night.

Room Tip: When staying for more than one night a room with air-con is a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

The noisy fan in the room has been fixed. Sorry that it was in that condition when you stayed with us.

We will pass your compliments to our receptionist.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

visited in April 2013 and was very impressed with the friendly service and the variety of wildlife in the area.....I would definitely come back. The room was clean, tidy and above all quiet....I really needed a calm and relaxing week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Anyone who wants a quiet and relaxing place should stay with us. We are glad that you are able to experience it when you stayed with us.

It is our mission to be able to provide a comfortable and friendly environment for all our guests. The training that have been provided to our service staff is showing improvement. We will inform them about it and i am sure it will motivate them to work even harder.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you want to go the Orang-Utan centre, this place is great. Other than this, it is a bit old. Breakfast was simple, not many choices, they have noodle soup, fried noodle and toast with jam, tea and coffee. The setting is nice, very green. My daughter liked the kids pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are in the midst of renovating our resort in different phase. Phase 1 renovation for 16 superior will be completed by 21 May 2013. After that, our next major renovation would be in the Banana Cafe where this is the common area for all our guests.

We hope that guests could give us more time so that we can provide the best environment for all our guests. We are glad that your kids have enjoyed the swimming pool.

Looking forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sepilok Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Jungle Resort

Address: Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sepilok Jungle Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sepilok Jungle Resort offers comfortable lodging for visitors around the world to get close but un-intrusive glimpse of this nature paradise. It is enclosed within a tropical virgin Borneo Rainforest in Sandakan, Sabah (Borneo), Malaysia. Let its beautiful landscaped gardens and wide expanse of lush jungle transport you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Sepilok Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Jungle Hotel Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Resort Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sepilok Jungle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.