We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the Orang Utan Rehab Centre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sepilok Jungle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sepilok Jungle Resort to your Saves list
Sepilok Jungle Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Sandakan
Nottingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location for the Orang Utan Rehab Centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stay in a twin delux a/c room for rm 140. Room was very comfortable, only one small complaint; the walls between rooms are very thin and if you are unfortunate enough to have the neighbours from hell then sleep will be a long time coming. The hotel staff were exceedingly helpful; tracking down the airport taxi driver and arranging for a piece of luggage we left in the boot to be left at airport information and secondly changing our room very promptly to escape our neighbours from hell. There is a pool at the hotel which looked very inviting, sadly we didn't have time to use it. Guests are charged rm 5 to use the pool which is a little odd. The location is lovely with boardwalks to different areas of the hotel. The restaurant food was a little expensive and disappointing. Check out the open turtle pool to the side of the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for staying with us.

We will continue to monitor to quality of our food.

So far we have hatched more than 30 turtles and release them back to the wild. We will continue to do it to increase its population.

We will always assist our guests if they are facing any problems especially when it deals with luggage. We are glad that we are able to find the bags for you.

Looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    152
    124
    51
    34
See reviews for
74
194
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zoersel, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just spent more than a hour reading most of the negative reviews which I found most of them are not fair. RM 38 (10 Euro) for a bed to a RM 170 (44.74 Euro) for A/C deluxe room both include all you can eat eggs and toast breakfast , both charges are fair and value for money. One should not expect a RM 1500 5 stars facilities and services. We found both the staff and owner are very down to earth,friendly and very helpfull, very much small town , country folks.
We wish the Lim family continue with all the hard work at Sepilok and reward and succcess will follow.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for staying with us.

Good to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your true and accurate review and it truly reflects what we are trying to achieve and we are happy that you could see our effort.

Looking forward to serve you agian in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

After reading some of the reviews here we were a bit concerned but we need'nt have worried. yes, the rooms are dated but our deluxe room was clean and comfortable with timber pannels half way up the walls giving it that jungle feel. The gardens and lakes are lovely and well maintained but watch out of the mozzies! We only stayed for 1 night after our river trip and enjoyed the large pool in a great setting. The lady on reception was really helpfull and friendly but unfortunately I can't say the same about the restaurant staff especially one lady in particular who was VERY rude to us when we asked her a question and scowled at everyone which was the only negative to a otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I will personally investigate to see which staff who has been rude as it is not suppose to happen. Thank you for writing it down so that we can become better in providing our services to all our valuable guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We are a family of four who like to stay in mid-range and sometimes high-end accommodation. Sepilok Jungle Resort is a great stopover for a night or two on the WA to Turtle Island etc. We stayed in 2 deluxe air-conditioned rooms for $AU 80/night each. Decor is dated, but pool was great, food at the only restaurant open was great, and the staff were helpful and friendly. Clean and comfortable. Family of four from Australia.

Room Tip: Deluxe interconnecting rooms overlook the pool. Simple, dated but clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. It is good to hear that your family have thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We will continue to strive to become better. Looking forward to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

we stayed for a night there and it suprised us when we stepped into the room. The room was comfort and clean as compared to the place we stayed a night before (just few mile from it :P ). Unfortunately, we were going out for kinabatangan river cruise on the day time, and missed the chance to explore the resort. Thanks to the stuff who upgrade our fan room to air cond room with a special price! Wish to stay for few nights if I have a chance to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for your compliments.

We look forward to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived at midday, to a very helpful receptionist. If u arrive after 5 pm u have to walk to the restaurant to book in. Absolutely grogeous surroundings and we saw and heard lots of wildlife. Saw a snake on a tree as we arrived which was great!.saw humming birds too and these little squirels whichi thought were chipmunks?

Room was big and although dated was comfty and yea you can hear people next door singing but it didnt bother my friend and I. I loved the way they had used woods to make lamp out of.

My only negative statement was that I was put off by looking a huge fish (im going to sound mad here ) in the restruant that was a big as its tank and couldnt move and one was kept below in filthy water which wasnt exactly appetising! I did complain and wonder if they changed the water or upgraded them to a bigger tank.

The staff were welcoming and breakfast was lovely. you had option of scrambled fried egg or omlette. If you do stay here you will have to eat here as its to far to sandakan town (45 mins in taxi and your not missing much ) but the foods lovely and very cheap. Think a can of coke was 4.5 ringits so just under a £1. Its fabulous location made it for me and was so easy to walk to see the orangutans and a nice walk to the rainforest research centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and it is great to know that you have throughly enjoyed your stay with us.

All the wildlife in the area are living in their natural habitat. We have planted many different of fruit trees in our 20 acres untouched land for them. Knowing it is very safe in this land, now we are seeing more and more wildlife in the resort especially many species of different birds.

I will look into the the fish tank matter and ensure that the the fish will have a clean water to live in.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kota kinabalu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed one night at the Resort at end of May 2012 and our children loved the place. The room was OK to us and the staffs were friendly. We took an early morning walk on the wooden walkways and the children were excited when they saw the squirrels climbing up and down the trees. And we also spotted a beautiful owl resting on a dragon fruit tree. We really enjoyed out stay at the Resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us.

Because we have spare 20 acres of land to plant fruit trees for the wildlife in the area, we are reaping the benefits now. There are at least 3 types of squirrels,hornbills,many species of birds, civet cats and of course the orang utan that has became a permanent residents area.

As we have 3 different ponds, the kingfishers are also becoming residents.

We hope that our guests will be able to see these wild animals in the natural habitat. Ffterall that is the main reason that they visit Borneo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sepilok Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Jungle Resort

Address: Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sepilok Jungle Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sepilok Jungle Resort offers comfortable lodging for visitors around the world to get close but un-intrusive glimpse of this nature paradise. It is enclosed within a tropical virgin Borneo Rainforest in Sandakan, Sabah (Borneo), Malaysia. Let its beautiful landscaped gardens and wide expanse of lush jungle transport you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Sepilok Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Jungle Hotel Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Resort Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sepilok Jungle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.