We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looked great but!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot E-1-G, Lorong Letat 3, Bandar Letat Jaya, Mile 4, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sandakan
Henty Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Looked great but!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is in a light industrial area, so we expected something quiet after 5 noisy days in a Kota Kinabalu hotel. The staff were great, the room was really spacious and clean. The rooms are around an interior 1st floor balcony, accessed from an arcade which has no doors so the public can freely walk up the interior stairs and past your room if they wished to. On the ground floor in the arcade was a large dining area with a nightly buffet service which we thought was great, but there it all ends. The buffet started and then the Kareoke started and the speakers were large and boomed until at least ten PM, you could not hear the TV so it was a waste of time turning it on. When the kareoke finally stopped, the bar on the outside of the building took over, ( although the bar was only noisy on the first night.) Don't know what is going through these peoples heads? It is a fairly new hotel, but obviously they just don't care about the guests, so after two nights we moved to the Borneo Cove hotel which i will review next. Sorry but i could not recommend this Best Western to anyone, and i am pretty layback.

Room Tip: The Borneo Cove hotel had a promotion on, is worth a look and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrEdwin, Owner at BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi Jim R,

Firstly we thank you for your stay in Best Western Sandakan Hotel & Residence.
Thank you for your precious review in our properties, as your opinion and review are important for us to further improve ourselves.

We are truly sorry on your poor quality of sleep, this has been a problem to us as well.
As our properties are located within shoplot which is not fully owned by us,
the Karaoke & Bar is not owned by our hotel group and are individually owned by 3rd party.

We had do all our effort to send our staff from time to time to request them to lower their volume, as we do know and understand that our guest quality of sleep is important. Though the willingness of these shops to cooperate has clearly shown it's not great.

However as of now, we are ready to launch another 30 rooms which is in a totally new block and away from all the noises.
We would be honored to again served you again if you're visiting Sandakan again.
Kindly inform our staff to house you in our new block to avoid the noises while we will try to do our best in getting the karaoke & bar to install necessary sound dampening / proofing for the importance of our guest.

Thank You again,
Dr Edwin
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
2
19
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great big room, very clean. The ridiculously loud karaoke that even drowned out the tv in our room, was truely horrible. 2 nights in a row, sat & sun.
They offer a free shuttle into the city centre which is handy. Staff were ok.
Overall, would not reccomend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrEdwin, Owner at BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi There Clam77,

I would love to thank you for your stays in Best Western Sandakan Hotel & Residence.

On behalf of the management i would like to apologize to your poor quality of sleep during your stay in our hotel.

The karaoke is owned by 3rd party which we have no control over their operations.
However we had from time to time send our staff to request their management to lower down
their volume. However clearly it is not enough and has disturb your sleep and stays when we have you with us.
For that i again apologize to your goodself.

As we are well aware of this problem, we are opening a fully new 30+ rooms which is located in a totally different block of buildings which is away from all the noises, which are the priority to house our guest first.

We hope to be able to serve you again in your future stays,
Do informed our reservation team to house you in our new rooms to avoid all the noise.

We look forward for your return & review.

thank you,
Dr Edwin
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is an intergral part of the new commercial and entertainment area and therefore many shops are not opened yet. We booked a van which we collected from the airport and it only took us 10 minutes to reach the hotel. This hotel was not my first preference but I had to go along with my group of friends. But I must admit that I had a good sleep every night.
I stayed in the Deluxe King which was very spacious, with the bed and living room separated by a partition. The tv could be turned to either side, that is, you could watch from the couch or from the bed. If you do not need a living room, the superior double room is spacious too.
The room is well appointed even though it is only a 3 star hotel. I was very impressed that they even provide bedroom slippers. I would have rated the room higher if not for the crack in the toilet bowl which looked like a permanent stain. The bathroom is quite big and comes with rain shower. I like the brightly lit room. There were many lighting points.
Staff were very helpful and polite. When I asked the housekeeping staff to mop the floor as the room smells fetid( like smelly socks), she did a good job as the smell disappeared when I returned to the room.
Breakfast is very simple with only a few choices. It’s only to fill your stomach before setting out for your excursion.
The exterior of the hotel is not impressive at all but there is a central atrium where one can sit down to have a drink. There are a few small Malay eateries under the atrium. Beside the hotel is a big new Chinese Restaurant which was in the midst of renovation when I was there. One disadvantage of the design of the building is that you have to walk along the corridors to reach to your room. So if your room is facing the road instead of the atrium, you will either be exposed to the blazing sun or get wet if it rains heavily. However, I prefer the room facing the road to the atrium. Make sure your room is not directly above the karaoke lounge as the music is quite loud.
If you are looking for a resort feel or a laid back setting, this is not the hotel for you. But I felt very safe staying here unlike downtown. It is advisable to rent a car to move around. The location is quite good as it does not take long to go to touristy places. The famous Sim Sim Seafood Restaurant is only about 15-20 mins drive and further down is the Agnes Keith House. Only one straight road, so it is actually very easy to drive.
Overall, I would say I did not regret staying here as I got a very good value for the room. Book directly with the hotel as there have promotions off and on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Been staying here for 3 days 2 night. We book for suit with 2 rooms. The design is so modern and I like it so much. However, get a bit disappointed for the hotel which not really function well althought we has call for the housekeeping for the room maintanence. The breakfast is just simple and don expect much on it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for three night's,we were offered a lovely cool drink as we checked in. Our air con was not working & we were transfered to a beautiful suite, with a queen size bed & lovely soft pillows.Breakfast was included in the very cheap price & there was a very good selection.The area the hotel is in is all new with a lot of empty units, this didn't bother us as we had a rented car & it's a much nicer area than the horrible dirty smelly city of Sandakan.Although the hotel seem to be having some problems with minor faults in the rooms the lovely staff couldn't be more helpful. You could watch tv while sitting on the couch, turn it around & watch it in bed. A lovely hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Mention smoking or non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LloydGan, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear 18Marion,

First and foremost, on behalf of the team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for staying with us and providing valuable feedback.

We have noted your feedback on the air conditioning system, and will look into the matter but hope that your requests was handled in a prompt manner. We have also scheduled air cond maintenance in the hotel on a phase to phase basis. Undeniably, our Hotel has some minor quirks in terms of the infrastructure, and we always welcome feedback from our guests to help us improve.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our humble hotel and we thank you for your valuable feedback. Rest assured, we will consistently strive for further improvement.

Best regards,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here one night in March, 2013, while we were between transfers. This place was excellent! The hotel staff picked us up at the airport, helped us with our luggage, and then gave us a complimentary roundtrip ride into town so we could do a little shopping. You really can't beat that.

Our room was wonderful......probably the best in our experience traveling around Sabah. There was also a small Malay restaurant located in the hotel lobby. The food and service was incredible, and you could ask them for wine, beer, or a drink. We had a wonderful dinner for about 30 ringits. They also served a complimentary breakfast.

I don't usually review the hotels where we stay only one night. However, this place definately got two thumbs up from us!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LloydGan, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Mikeyfish,

First and foremost, on behalf of the team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for staying with us and providing valuable feedback.

We were pleasantly surprised with your review and hoped that you have enjoyed yhour experiences in Sandakan, albeit being here for only one night. At our Hotel, we continually strive to provide a "family orientated service" to all our guests, taking into consideration your needs at all times.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our humble hotel and we thank you for your valuable feedback. Rest assured, we will consistently strive for further improvement.

Best regards,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A brand new hotel with no lift. Need a car to travel around as it's located in a quiet area. We stayed in a 2-bedroom spacious family suite. There are two types of shower head in both bathrooms - rain & traditional shower. However the rain shower in the master bathroom caused flooding due to poor drainage. Good staff service. They attended to complaints fast. We had air-conditioning problem. They tried a fix it and even moved a big air cooler fan into the living room which did help. Few selection of food for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LloydGan, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear 78Mandy,

The team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for staying with us and providing valuable feedback.

One of our hotel features is the Rain Showers and as you pointed out, water out flow is a structural issue in our Hotel. Our team is consistently monitoring and dosing the outlet pipes with scum remover to ensure our pipes are not clogged entirely. We are also studying on methods that will overcome this issue.

The Hotel, due to numerous requests and guest comments online, has recently appointed a new car rental hire with prices that are the same with the local market (i.e. The Airport) and we have also implemented a Shuttle Service (dropoff) to specific places within Sandakan itself. We hope that providing this additional service, it will provide more convenience to our guests who are staying with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our humble hotel and we thank you for your valuable feedback. Rest assured, we will consistently strive for further improvement.

Best regards,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence

Address: Lot E-1-G, Lorong Letat 3, Bandar Letat Jaya, Mile 4, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best WESTERN Sandakan Hotel and residence is now affiliated to RCI, THE only RCI hotel in Sabah. We have added 32 New hotel rooms and now we have a total of 80 rooms. We have mine 2 Bedrooms family apartment , 1 handicap Room, 1 honeymoon suite and 69 standard, superior and deluxe rooms.We have a new banquet hall capacity for 600 pax Fully air condition., suitable for marriage function, annual dinner, meetings , concert etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence Sabah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.