We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place close to the santuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Tan B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandakan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uncle Tan B & B
Save
You added Uncle Tan B & B to your Saves list
Lot No. 1, Mile 14, Jalan Sepilok, Sandakan, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place close to the santuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed in Feb 2012.The accomodation was clean (the shared bathroom was spotless), and the rooms have ace aircon. You also get free tea,coffee and biscuits all day plus lots of stuff to do in the evening like table tennis and pool. They have free wifi too. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was great. For the price you pay (which includes meals) we thought this was a great deal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I have stayed in several luxury resorts, but the jungle trip at uncle tan, with mice in the room, no tap water and no shower was one of the most amazing adventure I experienced. If you like adventure and wildlife this is definitely the place to go...yoiu will love the boat trips on the river, looking for urangutan, gibbons, crocodiles and proboscis monkeys!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at Uncle Tan's rainforest camp. DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE WE DID!!!! Uncle Tans suffers from lonely planet syndrome, staff are disinterested and seemed to have distain for guests. While we were well prepared for basic accom, they neglected to tell us that the area the camp is located in is lacking wildlife. It is situated in an area of the river that is so overrun by palm oil plantations that there is nowhere for the animals to live. Recommend staying up or down river from uncle tans. And the area wasn't the only concern. The food was truly horrible and so salty that it was nearly inedible.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here April 2010, friendly atmosphere. Accommodation delightful and the food is fab.
The price is very reasonable for the transport and activities, especially if you are doing the jungle experience stay.... Which is utterly amazing. The staff are knowledgeable, fun, caring, and you can tell they love their jobs. They have an amazing attitude towards visitors and wildlife.

Uncle Tans is brilliant for families also, there were a couple of families during my stay with children, some under 5 and they totally loved it, so don't be put off if you have a family.

I am by no means Bohemian but I would go back here tomorrow. Just had the best time, you can't find a better experience for the price...bornean wildlife, sleeping in huts in the jungle, sepilok orangutan sanctuary, fab fab fab

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I went on the 3 day 2 night Kinabatanger River Tour with Uncle Tan and had the most incredible experience! The accomodation is beyond basic (we had rats come into our room at night and there is no clean running water), but if you embrace it you will love being in the middle of nature and see the most incredible wildlife!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here as it was convenient after the 3D/2N jungle camp. The communal area is great - free internet PCs near office but wifi also available. Enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere & friendly staff here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Great B & B in Sepilok. Good size rooms at affordable prices.

You get breakfast, lunch and dinner provided.

Staff are really friendly and they have a transfer to the Orangutan sanctury, which is a must see.

Uncle Tan's Jungle trip is a must do as well. Staff are excellent and it is an awesome experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uncle Tan B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uncle Tan B & B

Address: Lot No. 1, Mile 14, Jalan Sepilok, Sandakan, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Uncle Tan B & B Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Tan B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.