We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   HS 12 Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Sandakan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Value for money and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The only reasons booking this hotel were cost and location. This is our first time staying at any ibis styles hotel. The room was small, in which I can equate it to a hostel with in-suite bathroom. We also book a family room, which happen to be a bigger size room with additional bed.
We booked via the hotel website and once we reached the hotel, the family room was not ready yet. And worse, we were told there was no more additional bed.... That's weird. If your booking confirmed, they should make it ready. Unfortunately, this is not the policy of the hotel according to the receptionist. They will only prepare the room when the guests arrived!

Breakfast is terrible - not to our taste. IMHO, not a quality breakfast.

The room is not sound proof. Guests next door were having "fun" and we can hear it :-)

Parking is not available, however, you can leave the key with the jockey service or park at the building (mall) adjacent to the hotel (upper floor). It is chargeable, however, if you need your car, just ask the jockey to fetch it for you - free of charge (for parking). Just give a tip to the jockey. We gave RM5 only and he grinned delightfully.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis_Styles_Sandakan, Manager at Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Deen Hanafi,

Greetings from ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront!

On behalf of the entire team, kindly accept our sincere apologies for not being able to provide you the high standard of hospitality which is the general norm of our brand. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you because of this. Rest assured that I shared your comments with our Department Heads concerned and immediate steps have been taken to ensure no further re-occurrence.

We will use your comments as part of our on-going service training. We will make improvements, and hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback. We look forward to having you back with us and hopefully have a much better experience on your next visit!

Best regards,
ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
15
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014 via mobile

location exactly in the center or Sandakan town. But the wifi is down after blackout. No wifi until the next day. have to go to mc donalds nearby for internet connection. :( Breakfast is good and the cafe staff is friendly and always smile to customers.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis_Styles_Sandakan, Manager at Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Aramaitee Yap,

Thank you for the feedback with regard to your recent stay with us. We do apologise for any inconvenience that was caused due to the lack of internet connection. Do note that we are in the midst of rectifying this issue and looking at ways for an upgraded internet service, if possible.

We do hope that this issue has not deterred you from staying with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.


Best Regards,
The Manager
ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventimiglia, Italian Riviera
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

In my opinion Sandakan is not exactly a marvelous town, it only is important because it provides access to nearby attractions, such as orangutang park etc. So do not expect clean, attractive sea, or else. We were travelling on a tight budget , we originally booked another hotel, but when we saw it for real it was such a shock that we almost ran away. This was the feel when we found ourselves again with our luggage in the street in search of something, hoping not to be compelled to stay at the close Four Points Sheraton Hotel, quite nice but definitely above our budget. We actually remarked the Styles, but at first thought it was also too much expensive for us. Instead when we entered and inquired, it turned out to be acceptable. Our room was at the third floor, a glazed window facing the sea, nicely appointed and somewhat pleasant. We staid there four days, using the location as starting point for our excursions and visits. Everything was quite ok except WiFi , but the staff always was nice, smiling and helpful, so we tried to fit. Restaurant was not special, but throughout town there was one only acceptable eatery, that we discovered just the last night. All-in-all if you want to save and have a more than decent , pleasant and welcoming accommodation, this is the one in Sandakan.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are quieter and light-filled
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis_Styles_Sandakan, Manager at Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Pier G,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us.. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Best Regards,
The Manager
ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

i stay on 3rd to 5th november 2014. i arrived at hotel around 2.30pm, check process was good...very fast. reception very helpful. room was clean. restaurant with ocean view is advantage.. breakfast just okey.. just simple breakfast with limited choices.

negative things
- some of staff dont know how to smile and greet their guest.
- wifi very slow.
- air condition not cold.

Room Tip: room with ocean view was good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis_Styles_Sandakan, Manager at Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Fhiey,

Thank you for choosing ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront and taking the time to convey your feedback to us.

We were pleased to read from your review that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Both your positive and negative feedback will be shared with the management team to help us improve on areas that need improvement.

We do hope to see you again soon for hopefully a much better experience on your next visit.


Best Regards,
Manager
ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Being next to Four Points hotel by Sheraton, this hotel could be a potential one if they would improve their hotel quality and specially F&B. This hotel is in an ideal location as it's just opposite the Harbour mall (the only biggest mall i've seen in Sandakan). There are also lots of shops next to it and restaurants. With the nice color blend of the outer and inner paint, it made this hotel looks attractive, however the smelly carpeted aisles is a big minus point. Was also disappointed with their housekeeping for not sweeping or vacuuming the floor for 3 days - only rearranged the beddings. I also noticed few times in 3 days that the front desk was left unattended - no receptionist. And the worst was serving a spoiled food for breakfast - yes a spoiled nasi lemak. The chef should have tasted first. Anyway it was taken off right away, replaced with new one and an apology was extended to us. Breakfast is too basic. Expecting that this hotel would be above average as it is under Accor group of hotels but it's not. Anyway for those who are planning to go Sandakan and eyeing on this hotel, i would suggest to go for seaview room to get the best view of sandakan waterfront. Will not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis_Styles_Sandakan, Manager at Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Sarah41KL,

Warm greetings from ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team, kindly accept our sincere apologies for not being able to provide you the kind of standard of hospitality which you are accustom to with our brand. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you. Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback and rest assured that we do learn from our mistakes and shortfalls and look into improving in every possible way.

I do hope you will still reconsider staying with us again and hopefully have a much better experience on your next visit.


Best regards,
The manager
ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. the hotel is nice,clean and the room was bright. The rooms facing the ocean was beautiful. Nice view. The let down was the food. First day breakfast the nasi lemak,the rice was spoil. Only after eating a spoon we realise it was spoil. Nearly vomited. We inform the chef and he told us it was fresh. Only when the staff of Ibis who earlier took a plate came back and inform the chef the rice was removed. By that time the you could smell the awful smell of the spoil rice already. Anyway they applogize to us. Thank God did not get stomach upset.They should check the food before serving. Many tourist were there at that time and its nasi lemak our famous malaysian food. The second day the nasi kuning was awful. Dry and tasteless. Our lunch earlier was the same. Off all our travels in Borneo only this hotel the food was way below average. Seriously they need to do something. The rooms were great but house keeping need to sweep the floor too which was not done during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis_Styles_Sandakan, Manager at Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Leisure 93,

Warm greetings from Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront. We would like to apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay with us. This is indeed very troubling to hear about. We have taken note on all the issues you have raised and rest assured that the team is reviewing your comments to rectify these problems.

Thank you for informing us about these issue, so we may improve. We hope that this experience does not deter you from staying with us again in the future. Do let us know if we may be of further assistance to you.

Best Regards,
The Manager
ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu District, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We have stayed at many Ibis hotels worldwide and this is the only one we found disappointing. The rooms were clean but even though we had given our arrival time, they were cleaning the room and we had to wait 15 minutes. The kettle didn't work and neither did the vouchers given for wifi (we used McDonalds located opposite). The room was at the back of the hotel on the top floor and situated directly underneath the air conditioning plant as we had generator noise all night which occasionally changed to a vibrating loud hum - getting to sleep was difficult. Breakfast was served in an adjacent building but not much choice for Europeans. Won't be using Ibis hotels again

Room Tip: Don't stay in 422
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis_Styles_Sandakan, Manager at Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Dear Hilarywhitlock,

Warm greetings from Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront. We would like to apologise for the problems you encountered during your stay with us. This is indeed very troubling to hear about. Rest assure that these issues have been brought forward to the management team for investigation and rectification to ensure these problems do not occur again for other guests. We are looking seriously into the noise from the air-conditioning unit as well as the lack of wifi connection.

Please accept our thanks for informing us about these issue, so we may improve. We hope that this experience does not deter you from staying with us again in the future. Do let us know if we may be of further assistance to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah

Address: HS 12 Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Inn Waterfront Sandakan Hotel Sandakan
Swiss Hotel Waterfront Sandakan
Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.