We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah

Save Saved
You added Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   HS 12 Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 hotels in Sandakan
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sibu, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel located right in the city centre. We stayed 2 nights at 1st floor, with ocean view blocked by palm tree and smelly carpet along the walkway/corridor.

Though the hotel was re-branded under Ibis Style, somehow the toiletries label remains "Hotel Sandakan Waterfront". No slippers provided, toilet smells bad, and looks rather old.

Breakfast is simple, liked the fried rice.

In conclusion, it was a disappointing pricey stay. With the price paid, we would get a more comfortable stay at other business friendly hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riganda, General Manager at Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hi Ms. Mee Hung,

Warmest greetings from ibis Styles Hotel, the nature city of Sandakan.

First of all, sincere apology on your disappointment stay with us. However, your comment is highly important for us to improve our service.

For your information, slipplers is upon request at Ibis Styles Hotel worldwide. Indeed, level 1 is not yet refurbish during your stay. However, we are in the midst of completing of our room renovation including changing the brand new carpet, new amenities and new room condition. Therefore, we are pleased to welcome you back for the next stay and experience the differences of our Hotel new look.

Please let us know for your future reservation with us.

Again, thank you.


Best Regards,

Riganda Tagotorop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ibis Styles Sandakan rooms are smallish, lower floor rooms can be noisy and there is no parking. However, the staff are helpful and the waterfront location is great. Breakfast is simple and the rate competitive. All in all, basic, clean and a decent hotel to stay a night or two.

Room Tip: Waterfront views are more expensive and lower level rooms can be noisy when the streets below are bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riganda, Manajer at Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear TCK K

Warmest greeting from Sandakan, the Nature City of Sabah

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience during your stay with us.

we are glad that you finds our hotel staff and our location was pleased you. For your information, we do have other category of room such as family room and suite rooms as other options. you can log in to our website;www.ibisstyles.com or accorhotels.com.

in regards to the parking space, indeed we do not have parking space but we do provide a free jockey service to all our in house guest and guests who come for dining or functions. The cars will be parked by the jockey service in the mall located in front of our hotel.

For your information , we have just rebranded as Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront as of June 2014. As part of the ibis Family, ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront is a premium economy hotel brand under Accor hotels – the leading hotel operator in the world. It offers comfort, full facilities and family-friendly services in a colorful, bright and energetic ambience. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Thank you

Best Regards

Riganda TOGATOROP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Just having a tea break couple of days before, really have a pleasant afternoon. Love the latte, love the attentive young active guys called zamrin. Will be back to this restaurant again one day. highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riganda, Manajer at Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear IntanNuratyrah,

Thank you very much for staying with us and glad to know that you enjoy our newly renovated sTREATs restaurant and your compliment to one of our staff, Jamri. We have informed him of your compliment that he pleased it.

Our sTREATs Restaurant serving up local favorites alongside Asian and international cuisines in a vibrant and friendly atmosphere – all day long. It is located at the ground floor with fantastic sea view and the guests will be stirred by every wind with the lightest breeze. Enjoy their homemade pizza while indulging in the local delicacies.

Thank you

Riganda TOGATOROP
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We only stayed here for 1 night and was pleasantly surprised that travel agencies and massage shops are just next door to the hotel. So it was convenient for us to book tours to the wildlife centres outside of Sandakan as soon as we have checked into the hotel. Later on at night, we went for a foot massage 2 doors away from the hotel which cost us only RM38 for 1 hour massage - cheap and very good massage! The hotel is currently going through renovation and a new management by the Accor Group. The deluxe seafront room we stayed in (amazing view) was still old though comfortable. Hence, I'm hoping once the renovation is completed and the hotel has settled down with new management, the hotel would have a better ambience, a modern look and feel to it. Despite some shortcomings, the hotel is centrally located in Sandakan town, convenient and definitely value for money.

Room Tip: Request for a waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riganda, Manajer at Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Kathleen,

Greeting from Sandakan, the Nature City

We are pleased to hear your comment and hope to welcome you back soon to our hotel to experience our new room, new lobby and restaurant. Indeed we have rebranded now as Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront as of june 2014.

Thank you

Best Regards

Riganda TOGATOROP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed one (1) night in may, booked on Agoda , arrived to find the hotel undergoing major renovations. That was not a problem the staff were fantastic.
We were given a newly renovated suite overlooking the water. The fit out is of very high quality and taste. The rooms are clean and extremely comfortable.
The Resturant especially the breakfast was probably one of the best we experienced during our 3 week tour of the north and north east region of Borneo.
Hopefully the renovations will be finished soon ! Once complete this hotel will compete head on with the other big named hotels close by. They should win based on their pricing and providing the staff remain highly focused !!
Highly recommended !!!
Staff know their business extremely well - obviously the hotel has invested in people and training .

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riganda, Manajer at Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Coroona,

I am really pleased to hear your comments of our hotel.Definitely i will pass this very good comment to our team as our encouragement to keep doing pleasing all of our guests.

Please be informed that the hotel has now rebranded as Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront.

Hoping to welcome you back and experience a new look of our hotel facilities including a new renovated Restaurant that are located by the sea.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My partner and I stayed here in late April/early May 2014, two nights with a few nights away in between as we went to the Kinabatangan River. The first night we stayed here we got one of the older rooms, with a waterfront view. The room was quite old and tired, which is understandable given that they're in the process of renovating the hotel. The only issue we had with the room was that the safe was locked when we arrived, and despite two calls to reception and assurances that someone would be up soon to sort it out, no one came.

The second night we stayed we were given a renovated room (still waterfront view; same price as the other room). The renovated room was very nice and fresh, although it seems that the tap/basin could have been done a bit differently as the tap is so close to the edge of the basin that water goes everywhere when you wash your hands. The major issue we had with this room was that there was absolutely no cold water available - seemed to be a plumbing issue related to the renovations. We spoke to the manager and he apologised for the inconvenience, but advised that nothing could be done as no other rooms were available. This was a big problem for us, as the lack of cold water meant that we couldn't have showers (hot water was boiling) and the toilet wouldn't flush. We were not offered any sort of compensation which was disappointing.

Overall the hotel is in a great location and the updated rooms are nice, but there are clearly some issues at the moment. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riganda, Manajer at Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Barbarella83,

Thank you very much for your time to share your comment during your stay with us. I understood your disapointment of our service and situation that has happened.

Indeed we were at that time having the problem with the plumbing. We were very sorry of this situation and they way we handled it that was not meet to your sarisfaction.

We will work together with the team to rectify our service for futur improvement. Therefore the problem has been solved and major renovation has passed and now we have rebranded as Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront

As part of our effort to regain your confidence, please to accept our offer for two nights complimentary stay in one of our suite room including breakfast for your next trip to Sandakan.

Please contact us for futhter arrangement. Hope to see you soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah

Address: HS 12 Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Inn Waterfront Sandakan Hotel Sandakan
Swiss Hotel Waterfront Sandakan
Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.