We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel to your Saves list
Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel
Lot 126, End of Jalan Dua, Harbour Square 14 | opposite Sandakan Central Market, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia (Formerly Sunset Harbour Botik Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in April 2014 in a double ensuite room. The room was ok but probably could do with a refurb because it was quite dated. We woke up in the middle of the night to the aircon dripping on our faces we informed the staff and they sent someone to have a look at it and offered for us to change rooms etc Breakfast is really tasty and you can buy more pancakes at a minimum cost if you are still hungry (which we did)

The pumpkin curry with lemongrass infusion is very tasty and we enjoyed sitting in the restaurant playing some of the free board games and drinking the iced lemongrass tea.

We booked the firefly trip with Nabistul and saw probiscus monkeys, fireflies and the ocean was glowing with bioluminescent phytoplankton. Only downside of this tour is that no information is provided about the bugs/animals. It's not really a tour, in a sense you are just getting a lift with the hostel owner and seeing things. That being said you are seeing amazing things!

I would agree with other reviewers in saying Nabistul can be a little pushy with tours etc.. However she is very helpful and a friendly personable woman.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    38
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
9
40
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Nabistul who runs this budget hotel makes the whole experience. She can help you find whatever you are looking for. She knows her way around the area and she really wants you to like your trip to Sandakan. We followed her on the trip to water willage and she has her own little twist on it compered to others. The rooms are simple but it is often how you are tratef that counts. And this place is more lkke a home away from home then an overnight stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sablayan, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Me and my brother stayed here for a few days and it was really comfy, easy and relaxed. Staff was friendly and helped us book a trip to Kinabatangan River. They have a really nice place on the top floor where you can hang out and read and drink some coffee or eat their secret recipe pancakes

Recommended!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our stay here started off with a very warm welcome from its owner, who likes to chat with guests in the lobby and make sure everything is perfect. The guitar hanging on the lobby wall was put to great use numerous times and made us feel just right at home!

Room Tip: We took the ensuite dorm with own toilet and were quite satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
198 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Staff are friendly - though the owner can be a bit pushy with her tours. Wifi was up and down. TV didn't really have any reception.

We had a private ensuite room and it was really disappointing - mostly because it was filthy. The drainage grill in the bathroom was full of hairs, there were 2 used (and I mean very used) soaps on the side, the toilet was still stained from where the last person had used it; and around, above and below the bed were heavy cobwebs. The aircon was thick with grime. There is no top sheet on the bed to sleep under, only an old smelly blanket that needs incinerating. I'd love to know the last time that was washed.
Generally as you walk around the place it feels quite dirty, apart from in the restaurant which is the only part that feels clean. Because of this we did have the included breakfast (we weren't going to given the filth everywhere else) - a very tasty pancake with syrup though it's a bit measly to only serve one. Better off either not serving a free breakfast or sticking an extra one in, it probably only costs them about 5 sen to make.
We left after one night and moved 3 doors down the road to the Marine Bay - exactly the same price (though admittedly no breakfast) for a modern, super clean room with kettle, coffee, drinking water and fresh, unused toiletries replaced every day. If you are looking for a dorm I can understand why you'd pick the Sea View but when it comes to a private room it needs to up its game.. and invest in some bleach.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NabistulMislia, Manager at Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Our Valued Guests,

It was rather unfortunate that you both did not enjoy your stay at Sea View Hostel.

We thank you for the feedback and we have acted accordingly. .
We had a small problem with our contract cleaners and we have now found a new company to undertake the contract. If you had come to us and reported your problems, we could have rectified the problems and possibly compensated you with an upgrade.
Again I apologise that you were not one hundred percent satisfied with your stay at Seaview. All the best on your future travels, Nabistul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

First of all, we had one of the best experience of our lives at this hostel. But i am not going to mention it het but i am gooing to give you all the tings you need to know.

The place :

Situated in the center of town
For a budget the place is verry clean especially for Sandakan norms.

The food :

The manager is foodie, and she loves good food and talks a lot about it! So expect to eat some good food.

The prices are allso good.

Tours and info :

Borneo is mostly about the tours and its hard to do something without it. But this place is the only one who gives you the option to rent a motorbike so you can travel on your own, or even rent a car.

Allso we booked a tour from the manager herself who allso whent allong herself to make sure everything was in order and it was amazing verry good and usually we DONT like tours. The prices are allso a lot more cheap then other places....


So in the end you can expect an honoust treatment from the heart, good food, bikerental ( only place) and overall cheap prices.

Ty for our stay and treatment from the manager and allso ty a lot Hamidi for the help and being such a wonderful man and bringing joy to our lives

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worms, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My friend and me stayed at Sea View for two nights first and then came back after a trip to Mabul Island.
Nabistul, the owner, and the rest of the staff was really nice and welcoming.
Our room was basic, but alright for the price.
The food was great ! We appreciated the free pancake in the morning a lot and we just loved the pumpkin curry and the lemon grass infusion. Prices were reasonable and the food was prepared with love.
The bathrooms were not too nice but ok.
The hostel is located very close to the beach (one minute walk) and the central market is directly across the street.
Nabistul was able to answer us a lot of questions - like what time buses will depart and so on.
It was a lovely stay !
Thank you a lot

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

Address: Lot 126, End of Jalan Dua, Harbour Square 14 | opposite Sandakan Central Market, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia (Formerly Sunset Harbour Botik Hostel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm and views of Sulu Sea can be enjoyed at Sea View Sandakan Budget and Backpackers Hotel. Upon arrival, guests are welcomed with traditional banana fritters and a drink. Perfectly located in the heart of Sandakan Town, Sea View is on the waterfront opposite the Central Market and within walking distance of banks, ATMs, currency exchange booths, tourist attractions, convenience stores, malls and local transportation. The second largest city in Sabah, Sandakan is known as a seafood haven and a gateway to many tourist attractions. Tour packages to Sepilok Orang-utan Rehabilitation Centre, Labuk Bay Proboscis Monkey Sanctuary, Stilt House Water Village, Selingan Turtle Island Park, Kinabatangan River Cruise and Goamantong Cave can be organised through our onsite tour operator. We can also provide advice on local attractions. We have FREE WiFi, FREE traditional pancake breakfast, FREE welcome drink with traditional banana fritters, FREE towels, FREE travel and tour information, FREE lockers, book exchange, showers and a common room. Guest Facilities: For a small charge we can provide Malaysian cooking lessons using traditional family recipes (subject to chef’s availability), laundry service, foot & arm reflexology, tea & coffee making, kitchen use, printing/scanning, luggage storage and we also have a motorcycle. We can provide room service on request from our onsite restaurant which specialises in traditional family pancakes but also serves local cuisine, fresh seafood dishes and both vegetarian and non-vegetarian meals are available. Late breakfast is available and the kitchen can provide packed lunches upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel Sabah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.