We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaventures Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seaventures Dive Resort to your Saves list
Seaventures Dive Resort
Off Mabul Island, Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night Promotion!
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Splendid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just back from too short a holiday at Sea Adventures. 6 days on the rig just was not sufficient! The staff are extremely accommodating and friendly and bend over backwards to make you feel at home both in and out of the water.
The house reef dive site is surprisingly good and we saw our first Mantis Shrimp there-its been on the list for a while! The neighbouring resorts of Kapalai and Mabul provide some fabulous dive sites-Mandarin fish, flambuoyant cuttlefish and an abundance of turtles! By the end of the trip we were even getting a little bored by them.
The food was very good for meat eaters and good if you like tofu but they made me a delicious vego pizza one night-best pizza I ever had! Cakes and fruit very nice.
The stars were very beautiful from the sundeck. Very relaxing up there during the day to keep nice and warm after the dives. Water temp beaut!
thanks to Craig and Ben especially!
Love you boys!
Emma and Gareth

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    78
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
15
85
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Cerrito, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

If you love to dive and love a friendly atmosphere, great staff and crew, yummy food and really comfortable accommodations, look no further!
I have had the very good fortune to dive these past few months in a lot of great locations: Madagascar, Mauritius, the Seychelles, the Maldives (resort and liveaboard boat safari) and Sri Lanka. I say this not to brag but to simply say that Seaventures Dive Resort is by far my #1 choice. I liked it so much I not only came back for 5 more days, but also chose to do my Padi Rescue Diver and EFR courses here. Criag is my instructor, and is a super teacher; calm, methodical, kind, caring and has a great sense of humor. The ratio of permits is excellent here: I went to Sipadan 3 days in a row on a 4 day/3night stay, unprecedented access to Sipadan Island. The dives locally are also excellent - regular and pygmy seahorses, flamboyent cuttlefish (!), So many turtles, octopi...heaven. Staff is great - you can rent cameras, they'll burn DVD's of your photos and videos free of extra charge. They are generous with rental equipment and really care about your safety and well being. Food is delicious and fantastic, beds are comfy, shower is hot! Hot! yeah!
I also stayed on Mabul Island while I was here, and although it was nice, I really looked forward to coming back to the rig!
My vote for best dive center, diving since 1978.

Room Tip: Lower 3 rooms are loser to rig platform, but all are excellently located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is the best place to stay if you want to dive Sipidan as it's only a short boat ride away. The rooms are basic, but clean and sufficient for a dive holiday. The best thing about the rig is that it's set up perfect for diving. It's got a lift that takes you down to the water to do some diving under the rig itself, or to the boat which will take you surrounding dive sites including Sipidan. When you get back, there's places to clean and store your kit. All very convienient.

You can't dive Sipidan every day because there is a quota for the number of tourists. So you don't find out till the night before if you are one of the lucky ones. We dived there twice out of a possible four days.

The food on the rig is great. I ate very well. There is also a bar on board which is reasonably priced.

It's unsuitable for small children. It's set up for diving and nothing else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went to Seaventures in mid march for a seven nights and ended up staying 12, I found this place fantastic, all the people staying there are there for one thing the diving, and stories and photos are shared around dinner and a beer or soft drink at night. The food was really good and I helped my self to more than one plate on many occasions. All the staff are really happy and helpful from the cleaners, chefs, bar stafff, administraion, boat captains to the dive masters and instructors. Felt like a home away from home for me. If what you're chasing is a comfortable bed, warm shower, good food and great people definitely give this place a go, If you're after a luxury resort I'd look to the luxury resorts on Mabul island. Excellent value and 100% I'll be back, sooner rather than later

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I spent 4 nights at Seaventures in December and am so thrilled I made that choice. I really wanted to get in some great diving but was traveling for 6 weeks so was on a serious budget. I was willing to splurge on this part but only within reason. My research left me with a dearth of affordable options, particularly if I wanted to ensure that I could get a permit for Sipadan (side note...Sipadan has great diving but I'm not sure it deserves the stellar reputation it has...there were tons of other dive spots that were equal to or better than Sipadan). At any rate, this place seemed like such a unique place at a good price but I was not sure what to expect. I was extremely pleasantly surprised. One nice thing is that everything is included. You aren't nickle and dimed once "aboard." Everyone does two dives in the morning and you can dive as much as you want off of the rig (but note the current there is VERY) strong so be careful. You could add afternoon dives for a very reasonable price. Food was very good, equipment well maintained and the staff was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. It is important to note that this is not a luxury getaway. This is a place for people who want to DIVE. The rooms are clean but simple. And if you are a solo traveler they won't charge you double for the room if you are willing to have a roommate where available). You will be so busy that you only need the room to sleep and nap so it shouldn't be a problem but if you are looking for a luxurious, relaxing beach holiday (or if you are a diver who is traveling with the aforementioned person) this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Extended my stay because I was having such a good time. Sipidan diving in incredible.. no wonder it is some of the best diving in the world. The bad reviews are ridiculous...its not the hilton its a dive resort on an oil rig ... it is what it says on the tin. The rooms are clean and hot water in shower. Managed to go to Sipidan more than once, the staff are lovely & Craig was a brilliant instructor, really patient and helpful :0) ! Food is good, left about a stone heavier because i ate so much cake and treats from the fridge!
it was recommended to me by a girl i met in New Zealand and i would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalung
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I want a bed i can sleep in thats clean - check. I want hot water shower - check. I want lots of diving - check. I want friendly atmosphere - check. I want good food - check (the bbq night with the band was great).

I expected a rig when I booked and guess what I got - a rig. I didn't get the 4 seasons because I'm broke by spending too much on diving and guess what I got when I arrived - diving! if you want to dive this is the place. if you want something fancy, then dont come here. simple.

There are more chances for Sipadan permits. I've been 3 out of 5 days so far (Lucky me). Better than what others around offer. Im here for Sipadan. I got it and thanks to Seaventures I got it good. If I want a tropical getaway I'd go to perhentian island - absolutely gorgeous! But not much in terms of diving. Im heading there to wind down after all this awesome diving.

Room Tip: Another good reason to stay at the rig, you have a nice view at a tropical Island! At the end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaventures Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaventures Dive Resort

Address: Off Mabul Island, Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Seaventures Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaventures Dive Hotel Pulau Sipadan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaventures Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.