We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect diving Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaventures Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seaventures Dive Resort to your Saves list
Seaventures Dive Resort
Off Mabul Island, Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HLB Exclusive Programme
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Italy-China
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Perfect diving Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great diving.. Great Dive team. Unique location. coming here means the experience of a life time: such a strange set up, the amazing organization of the Rig and the Dive team, all professional. Sure it is not a 5 stars resort in the common way. If you expect every and each comfort, well remember you are going to be on a Rig. If you need something all the staff is friendly and try to satisfy at best your request , but absolutely the TOP, what makes your holiday here so different and so great at the same time is the professionalism of the Dive Masters. They can find ANYTHING underwater. The smallest little camouflage creature have no secret for them. Miji ( my absolute choice considering his never ending smile), Jacky, Taufiq and Ben my top choices. Watch out a couple of them are charmers....

Very nice on live music night you will discover that some Dive Masters are good singers and musicians.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    76
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
15
85
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Seaventures are a very professionally run setup....equipment is well maintained....if possible, try and dive with their divemaster Helmi...he will show you things you will not believe exist...all in all, a wonderful stay with excellent diving not only on Sipadan but also on the Macro dive sites of Kapalai and Mabul..

Room Tip: take the VIP rooms, 2 availible...they cost approx. 80 RM extra per day but are totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed there for 5days 4 nights in July and had 2 days diving at Sipadan and 2 days diving at Mabul & Kapalai. If you want luxury accomodation and a beach you'd probably be better off staying at one of the resorts on Mabul, but would definitely recommend it if if you're there for the diving.

All of the staff from dive masters to the guys manning the bar were always friendly, helpful and full of jokes and cheerful comments. Food was average to pretty good. Our room was basic (and not perfectly clean), but the converted oil rig has its own very special charm and we enjoyed staying there along with a bunch of other guests who were also there for the diving. There's not that much to do other than diving (though there's an activity room with pool table and some other stuff), but after long days of diving we were not really up to anything else than relaxing on the deck and chatting with the other guests anyway.

Diving was amazing at Sipadan (lots of barracuda's in big schools, reef sharks, turtles, bumpheads, good corals, you name it). There was also quite a lot to see on the dive sites around Kapalai and Mabul, which were especially good for all sorts of macro stuff - although these places are not in the same league as Sipadan. The house reef directly under the rig ,where you can dive as much as you like, was also quite good (no corals but a lot of strange fish and creatures around the artificial reefs).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Decided to stay at Seaventures rig as it seemed like a great idea having a house reef directly below and only an elevator ride away! Booked via their KK office and whole process was very easy. Lynda answered all questions promptly and clearly.

Was definitely not disappointed- dive masters we had (Ben, Jacky, MiJi) were all very good, friendly, responsible and helpful. Our boatman Awie was also great and always helped to make sure my 10 year old jumped off the boat safely. BCDs, regulators etc were always put on full tanks and carried to the boats for you for Mabul/ Kapalai/ Sipadan trips. You just need to sort out your mask, fins and weights. Very well organized dive station. Got 2 days diving at Sipadan out of our 6 diving days which was good as it was high season. Lots to see at Mabul, Kapalai and Seaventures house reef too! House reef is particularly amazing and we also did a night dive there. Look out for the enormous eel that lives in one of the structures- think they call him Elvis.

Briefings for both the rig and the diving on arrival was thorough and ensured everyone knew how everything worked. Staff are very efficient and everything runs smoothly. Great atmosphere.

Food is good considering the limitations of bringing ingredients in. Always have fresh fish of course and usually chicken and a vegetable dish. Fresh fruit. Bread and deserts are really good. Some of the crew have formed a band and they play sometimes in the evening. Even if not whole band plays, one of the dive masters will usually get his guitar out and sing in the evenings which is quite pleasant.

The rooms we got were a triple and a double. The triple was large but the double was much smaller - well it is a converted oil rig. Rooms were clean and the air-conditioning was good. Bathroom was clean and everything worked well. Lots of hot water. Electricity did go off a few times, but only for a minute or so before everything went back on again. Free WiFi but strange system to sign in everyday. Works well once you join though.

Bar is limited an closes around 10:00. Prices are ok for a resort.

Would definitely stay here again. Great base for diving and the week just flew by. The resorts on the islands may be prettier and more luxurious, but this is truly unique.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Overall we were satisfied with seaventures and agree with many of the previous comments - the room was large enough for a couple, the food decent (and plenty of it), knowledgeable divemasters (good English), dive gear we rented in good condition, good atmosphere in the public areas, and friendly staff. Although it was the high season there was only 20ish divers (capacity 50), so we got to go to Sipadan 3/4 days. Also a lot of opportunities to do additional dives to Sipadan (with additional cost of 200-300 rm). On the negative side - the bathroom was stinky and not very clean (but in other rooms seemed better - I guess we could have asked to change our room), the floor in the common living area was very dirty and slippery, and there is not much to do in the afternoon if you are not diving (definitely do not go to seaventures if you don't dive).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Volodymyr Potapenko, Ukraine. I stayed at Seaventures from May 18 to 23, 2012. I made the perfect choice because occupancy during the days that I stayed at Seaventures Rig was low. Seaventures contact person Emily was patient to me taking into account that I changed days of my staying their three times :-). Accommodation was good enough if you care fist of all about diving than about relaxation and than about size of room and bed. The most important thing on Rig is intention to give you only positive impressions. If you are going to catch negative impressions it is your problem. The Seaventures Rig is not 5 star hotel.
My biggest fear going to Seaventures was going all the way there to dive. I was lucky to do dives exactly on the Sipadan 4 of 5 days of my diving days + one last day I used for snorkeling. By the way we started to Sipadan at 6am. After three dives on Sipadan we returned to the rig near 1 pm. I recommend to spend at least some days on Borneo before diving for acclimatization and to decrease JET LEG.
I even refuse to dive one day on the Sipadan because did dive with camera on nearby Mabul and on Kapalai that is located 15min far away. You can sleep two hours more till 8am if you are going to dive on Mabul and Kapalai :-). Afternoon is free time or you can do some extra dives. I did night and one afternoon dive under the Seaventures Rig. Under the Rig you can find different metal constrictions and boats occupied by sea creatures. Creatures do not afraid divers at all.
I saw something new every dive. The biggest impression was during my anniversary 100th dive on Baracuda point of Sipadan. I had amazing dive inside huge schools of barracudas and Jack fishes. You can do this also because fishes too busy to afraid you. Impressions were fantastic. I am happy that had possibility to stay on Seaventures Rig and did my best dives there. Thanks for people on Seaventures Rig for their hospitality and for good organized dives.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Jus got back from Seaventures. What a great experience! Stayed 5 nights and got three days diving at Sipadan. Probably not normal, but it's the off season. Can only say good things about my time on the rig. The rooms were basic, but clean with hot showers. Food was good, and there was always more than enough for everyone. Deck area was great for socializing with the other divers and staff.

The best part of the rig was the staff. They were amazing! The local dive masters and instructors were knowledgeable about the area and kept good safety standards. (I've been out with local dive guides who poked and prodded and didn't keep an eye on the divers.) These guys made the dives fun, but made sure everyone was safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaventures Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaventures Dive Resort

Address: Off Mabul Island, Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Seaventures Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaventures Dive Hotel Pulau Sipadan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaventures Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.