We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bagus Place Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bagus Place Retreat to your Saves list
Bagus Place Retreat
Pulau Tioman | No 1C, Pasir Sarang, Kg Mukut, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 5 NITES PAY 4 NITES
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We have just returned from a holiday to celebrate my 60th birthday. This included 10 days at Bagus Place Retreat. This resort is wonderful! It is hard to describe the mood it invokes, you really have to be there. We had arranged to meet our son & daughter-in-law, who live & work in Shanghai, both in pretty stressful jobs. At the end of their week at Bagus they didn't want to leave - ever! I must mention the staff, especially Anish & Krishna, (hope I've spelt their names correctly), who manage this paradise. They never failed to do all they could for their guests, working, what seemed like 24 hours per day. We stayed in Rock House - wonderful and built partially over the beach. No complaints and a view to die for. Food was great and with seemingly inexhaustible amounts available (unfortunately for our waistlines!) The snorkelling was top class - turtles, sharks, the lot. Walk (& ride back by boat) to/from the waterfall via a beautiful Malaysian village highly recommended as is an additional boat trip to snorkel around Ringis island. We even attempted the 'Twin-Peaks' trail & made it to (nearly) Check Point 6. That was quite an experience - 2 hours in virgin rain forest. I wouldn't have missed it for the world. Bagus is a rare thing, a discrete, eco-aware, uncrowded, (there were never more that 16 guests), unspoilt and unbelievably beautiful place. I started by calling it a retreat. It's not! It is, or at least quickly becomes, a way of life. I must finally mention Claire - the person you contact re: booking etc. We have only ever communicated by e-mail but ...I think I'm in love!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    40
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
67
161
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights and we extremely love the place. The resort is exactly like what is being pictured on their website. Secluded beach, pool-like clear water, good food, great staff and the list goes on. Snorkeling is by far the best thing to do at Bagus. We encountered a turtle and reef sharks on the first day itself. As Malaysians, we were a bit skeptical in the beginning. We didn't expect Bagus Place to be this bagus (Bagus is a Malay word for good) but in this case, we give Bagus Place an exception. The only thing that we are worried is the new development located a few hundred meters away from Bagus Place. They look like they are going to spoil the natural setting that Bagus Place has.

All in all, the two nights that we spent at Bagus Place were too short and for that we will definitely be coming back to Bagus Place in the near future!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Bagus Place was exactly what we had expected and hoped for from looking at their website and reading other reviews. A gorgeous tropical island setting, clear turquoise water, fabulous and accessible snorkelling, warm and friendly service, great locally sourced food in a low impact, low tech setting - a great place to get away from it all. We were there for 5 days and it felt much longer. We enjoyed the snorkelling at Ringis Island so much that we went twice!
Just a tip on the walk to the waterfall - a little more strenuous than we expected and a bit difficult to find the path in a couple of places. Once you reach the next resort and get to the phone tower make sure you go to the left of it to continue the walk. Take a small amount of cash for a cold drink or an ice block in the village.
We certainly hope to return some day.....

Room Tip: Boat House quite dark downstairs though there is a day room upstairs which is very pleasant. I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Idyllic location in a tropical paradise. Bagus Place Retreat has great views, excellent meals and limited accommodation (7 chalets) so is an ideal choice for a relaxing holiday. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed for three magical nights with our children 7,6 and 1. If you love nature and your children are happy playing in the sand, snorkelling, reading and playing board games then this is the place for your family. However, if you need a lot of activities to keep the kids happy then maybe try somewhere larger. This is a small, quiet place to connect with eachother and truly relax. I LOVED it. Thanks Bagus!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Me and my husband went to Tioman Island in April and stayed 4 nights at the Bagus resort for our anniversary, we have never seen anywhere like it. The island itself is beautiful, we were picked up from the airport and took a 25min boat ride to the resort. The view was amazing, it was like a postcard. We met the staff who were all so helpful and welcoming.
We stayed in the new Rumah Laut chalet, i would definetly recommend this chalet if you can get it. It was spacious, and located closest to the sea with a fantastic view. The four post bed was so comfortable and pretty.
The food was really tasty and there was a great variety, something for everyone. We had fresh fish on the beach one night by the bon fire.
My husband did some snorkelling which he really enjoyed, i saw some baby sharks and colourful fishes without even getting in the water. We also did a trek to the waterfall led by Krishna, I wasnt sure about going initally, not my idea of fun but i actually really enjoyed it and was so glad i went after seeing the waterfall area.
Overall we had the most relaxing time here, the view and nature is like nothing we have seen before. I will definetly be going back.

Room Tip: i would definetly recommend Rumah Laut, best chalet on the resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This place is magical....
When we got picked up at the airport by Krishna we knew this place was going to be special. The boat ride was a smooth 25 minutes to Bagus. When we arrived it looked spectacular. Just like a postcard. Anish met us at the bar and we got advised of how Bagus worked, the staff and had a complementary drink. And shown to our chalet. The rock house is amazing. We spent 3 nights here and every night we fell asleep with our door open listening to waves and watching the water from our bed. Amazing.
There is no pressure into doing anything so you can snorkle, read or relax on a sunlounge when ever you want. The trip to the waterfall is a must. When you get there it is refreshing, cold flowing water.
The food was good. I loved our first dinner the most (indian), although bbq night was good eating on the sand, gazing at the stars, with a bon fire.
Yono was a great man to talk to, he provided us with alot of info.

Room Tip: All the chalets have different characteristics, choose what you feel suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bagus Place Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagus Place Retreat

Address: Pulau Tioman | No 1C, Pasir Sarang, Kg Mukut, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagus Place Retreat is nestled quietly on one of the most beautiful islands in the world called Tioman.A peaceful sanctuary of breathtaking natural beauty we invite you to rejuvenate body and mind and be enchanted by the sights and sounds of nature. Our guests will find luscious and unspoiled paradise. Clear waters and lush jungles provide plenty of opportunities for outdoor activities such as jungle trekking, snorkeling, kayaking and diving, and beach ball games. Outdoor activities not your thing? Pick up a book from our library try out our sun-loungers on the long secluded beach. Our activities are child friendly so your little ones will be occupied at all times. Our long wooden jetty provides for exciting walks and a fascinating look at coral fish and turtles. Snorkellers will be rewarded with views of the living tropics reefs of Tioman Island. Bagus Place aim to work in harmony with the environment and local community, offering a unique holiday experience to our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Bagus Place Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagus Place Retreat Hotel Pulau Tioman
Bagus Place Retreat Pulau Tioman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagus Place Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.