We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort to your Saves list
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Kampong Paya, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good: near to beach, there are restaurants n shops nearby, nice landscape.
Cons: lots of mosquitoes, dated n tired, dirty at the pond, behind the hotel and beach, no wifi in the room, slow wifi at the lobby n restaurant.
Breakfast is just normal, should include eggs,sausage as the standard breakfast.
Staffs are friendly.
The resort needs some upgrades n renovations.
Compare to Thailand, Malaysia hotelier still far behind.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    135
    96
    40
    30
See reviews for
106
98
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 2 nights at Paya Beach in the superior chalets. Price was decent, RM220+ for a quad room with breakfast. Our room (801) was facing a dirty pond and 2 steps away from the pool. Behind our room was a swamp (hence the name Paya?) Quite a lot of mosquitos, so bring some repellent.
Reception is friendly, check in was swift. The door alarm to our room was beeping non stop when we reached our room and the maintenance guy came almost immediately to fix it. But his attitude.. hmm.. how should I put it, stop treating guests as children? Manners could do some good here.
Anyhow, we were overall satisfied. Breakfast is plain, nothing to shout about. There's no need to take the full board package as food is readily available and cheap there.
No wifi though, in a way it's good with no technology for a few days.

Will definitely come back in future.

Room Tip: The beachfront chalets are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PayaBeachResort, General Manager at Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Erein_Nic,

Greetings from Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, Tioman Island,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the overall services of our resort.

We will be honored to host you on your next visit again.

Warm Regards,
Zuresh Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been there for 2 night and it was best place to stay. i truly enjoy my short stay at the resort and had a great time.Thanks a lot to all staff especially GM Mr Zuresh ,Lily, Norlia and Kima for excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PayaBeachResort, General Manager at Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, Tioman Island,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the overall services of our resort.

We will be honored to host you on your next visit again.

Warm Regards,

Zuresh Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a fun experience with me and my friends, My room was 19A , it's a standard chalet. Everything was great, Cleanliness was above average & the service i received from the staff is awesome. I would recommend my friends and families to visit "PAYA beach spa and dive resort" for their getaway at TIOMAN.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PayaBeachResort, General Manager at Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kenson_Leocadio,

Greetings from Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, Tioman Island

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the overall services of our resort.

We will be honored to host you on your next visit again.

Warm Regards,

Zuresh Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon checking in I was greeted by a very rude indian women. She not even explain any info regarding the room or any other things that related to us. I did try to ask her about the room types but she rather be a HITLER than being a good listener to the resort guest. Highly dissapointed with the service of receptionist.
She not even smile or say thankyou to the guest. Other staff are very friendly and helpful but I think only her got mentally ill problem, Im sorry to say that. Rooms are very satisfactory. Thank you for the service given here. I wish that you can improve your services.

Room Tip: Deluxe Chalet Beach Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PayaBeachResort, General Manager at Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Nor I

Greetings from Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, Tioman Island

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. As a resort operator we are thankful and value to guest who stay with us.

Never less the resort has a zero tolerance to for its staff to abused vice versa whether in public or in any social media.

Warm Regards,
Zuresh Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm sorry to write this bad review but I would like to share with other travellers about my experience.
My paid package is on standard room but I upgrade by paying rm82/night for a superior beach front. We are only on a couple trip why would we need two queen size beds in the room? No bath towels have to request for 3 times. No fridge, no hair dryer. It's quite alright but my ultimate disappointment is the "included free breakfast" yes indeed the trays are free of food! Chicken curry left gravy. Only left fried bee hoon, sausages, bread and coffee. My partner and I decided to skip the free breakfast and went to get our food at the stalls nearby. It was only 840am that morning. Breakfast time is till 10am. Mattress spring left a "deep sinking in the middle" even without anyone lying on it. I would not imagine gg back in the near future.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in this resort between 11-13 April . Generally the rooms were clean but bedsheets were stained and not cleaned well. I was staying in room 114 and there were 5 of us in a room but the reception staff refused to give us one extra key stating it was hotel policy. I feel this could be improved as there were 5 people sharing a room. Toilets were generally okay but could see that housekeeping were not cleaning stains well. We took a full board package and had most of our meals there , food was generally okay . Things i loved were the beaches ane the road side food outside the hotel. I hope certain things would be improved would like to go back.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PayaBeachResort, General Manager at Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear hellosia,

Greetings from Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, Tioman Island

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. Your feedback on certain department on improvements and suggestions have been forwarded to the department head concern for rectification.

We will be honored to host you on your next visit again. I am reachable through my email zuresh@payabeach.com.

Warm Regards,
Zuresh Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort

Address: Kampong Paya, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#4 Spa Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to one of the world’s oldest mangrove swamps and the Tropical Rain Forest, this Beach Front Resort also boasts having a spectacular House Coral reef. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort is the perfect getaway on the Tioman Island, the infamous volcanic island covered in rainforest, white sands, turquoise water, and unforgettable experiences. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort is ideal for visitors who seek to enjoy the nature’s gift, nestled in a secluded beach with rooms overlooking South China Sea. The wide range of facilities at the hotel includes spa, outdoor pool, beach bar, Grill, conference and meeting rooms, restaurant, and PADI Dive Centre. Moreover, fishing, Snorkeling and Ecological trekking tours of the Mangrove Swamp and the Rain Forest can be arranged at the Activities Centre. Restaurant and Grill is driven by a passionate Executive Chef with the team who create the works of gastronomic art in the only open kitchen in Tioman Island. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort invites all visitors to come and experience the unforgettable experience of picturesque view of the sea from our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Beach Hotel Pulau Tioman
Paya Beach Pulau Tioman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.