We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JapaMala Resort - A Samadhi Retreats Property

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JapaMala Resort - A Samadhi Retreats Property to your Saves list
JapaMala Resort - A Samadhi Retreats Property
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tioman Island, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Luxe for Less
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

It's my 3rd time here and I have to say that Japamala still does not fail to impress me. The staffs are as friendly and attentive as I remembered them to be. The resort is absolutely stunning, they have a new swimming pool overlooking the beach which is gorgeous. I will certainly be going back there again real soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    70
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
43
243
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puchong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Spend 2 nites at the resort and boy it was a totally relaxing experience, Penghulu, one of the biggest room available is unbelievable! Overall, staffs are friendly and ever helpful.

No fitness centre, but if you are a nature lover, be in for surprise workout in the jungle behind the resort. Kid's activities is limited but once your kids are confined to a safe and clean private beach, no complaint here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lijiang - China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

No words to say how I enjoyed stay in Japamala Resort - Malaysia. Experiences stay in Jungle will be the best place for people who like to escape from city.Design of rooms, staffs, food all match with the place.
Thank you Ms. La and Team, to take care of me during stay there.

I will be back sooner!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Everything you hope for in a boutique island experience...

Rooms are lovely, set into the jungle hillside, surrounded by wildlife. You will see (very naughty!) monkeys, possibly a HUGE monitor lizard, so many colorful butterflies, fish, and birds.

The design aesthetic of the property is exceptional - very nice authentic detailing, lovely use of lots of deep wood, spacious and comfortable. Well laid out to take full advantage of the natural setting, a beautiful walk out a long pier to an area for cocktails/snacks. Great framing of views and use of paths to create a sense of place and space.

In case it rains, not to worry. Your room is a terrific cozy retreat, there is a library with books (and a little python who lives in one of the rafters, sleeping all day), tons of video to checkout to your room, and lots of nooks to hang out in. (Suggestion to the resort: a few decks of cards on hand would be a great addition.)

Beds are on the firm side but very comfortable, I slept like a baby in my peaceful Hillside Sarang. The rooms are designed to take advantage of the natural setting, with views from small patios looking out over the ocean, shower walls of glass to enjoy the lush jungle surrounding you.

Open air cabanas on the beach with lounge chairs, large overhangs for shade, icy bottles of water refreshed constantly. The beach is small but plenty of space to feel uncrowded given there are only 13 bungalows on the property. 3 thatched roof cabanas are supplemented by cushions on the sand if you like them.

Staff are beyond gracious, friendly, accommodating. Atmosphere is very intimate as there are only 13 bungalows. And the place seems to attract cool people - we enjoyed interacting with other guests by the beach or over the open air scrumptious breakfasts.

Although I didn't experience it myself due to other priorities, other guests told me there is world class snorkeling in this area. We enjoyed jumping in off the pier and saw some fish by the coral head nearby. You can borrow snorkels from the staff or they can arrange expeditions. There are 2 kayaks on the property you can borrow any time, we really enjoyed easy paddles down the coastline to explore.

The food is very very good, especially for such a small property. Very large menu of scrumptious Thai & Vietnamese food, Italian food out on the pier, and staff was even kind enough to arrange a candlelit dinner on the beach for our party. Cocktails at the perfectly comfortable lounge areas on the pier were divine, no better way to start the evening.

Had several spa treatments, in the most relaxing open air rooms nestled into the jungle - unwinding to the sound of waves crashing below is a dream come true.

All this in the most rustic and secluded atmosphere, a wonderful break from the sterility and globalization of most luxury hotels.

I will definitely be returning.

Cons? Rooms are extremely clean and well maintained but you may see a few ants from time to time, wood sometimes shows age & use... to us, this felt like character and home but if you prefer a very sterile environment, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Hillside Sarang was excellent, loved the daybed by the plunge pool. Request higher rooms for better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

From the moment you get onto the jetty, your journey of discovery begins ... I have been to Japamala twice already and cant wait to plan my next trip back. An ideal place to relax, unwind and reconnect with nature.

If you are looking for a place to de-stress or spend quality time with your loved one, look no further- this boutique hotel truly is a gem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It's my first time been there even though is monsoon period and I have really enjoy two days stay.
Good to be away from SHOPPING MALL and traffic JAM!!
Peace and quite place to stay, staff are extremely helpfully and cheerfully.
Room are very unique and very comfortable bed...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ok so I admit- we've been here 4 times and plan to go back in 6 weeks. We love it- clearly- we very rarely go back anywhere twice (there's a big world out there to see!!) so clearly the Japamala is extra special for us.

The good: Five star service- incredible staff, intimate, boutique hotel- the opposite of those cookie cutter chain places - very private (and private beach), living reef directly in front of the hotel by the jetty- each time we've seen so many sea creatures- it's unreal. Incredible nature in the jungle which surrounds the resort. I've seen monkeys all over the place, the red flying squirrel of Malaysia, plenty of other SE Asian furry things too. oh and the food is great too!!!! The PERFECT place to relax. No (screaming kids) hanging around, no shady/dodgy guest making lots of noise and getting loud.

The bad: books up very quickly- only 13 'rooms', interiors of the rooms/houses need a bit of renovation job- nothing too un-bearble though. Mosquitos the size of bats! (hey it's the jungle in Malaysia so that IS par of the course- bring bug repellant!!).

A bit expensive but that's okay because it really is worth every penny- maybe that keeps out the screaming children and backpackers then so be it!

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms- you have your own private plunge pool on your balcony..that's pretty s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JapaMala Resort - A Samadhi Retreats Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JapaMala Resort - A Samadhi Retreats Property

Address: Tioman Island, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JapaMala Resort - A Samadhi Retreats Property 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JapaMala is Tioman Island’s only boutique resort, and one-of-a-kind in Malaysia. This small and exclusive resort of 13 rooms is hidden amidst 11 acres of lush tropical rainforest. A one-village-one-resort property, JapaMala has its own private and quiet beach. While some charming Malay village-style villas and chalets dot the jungle and beachfront, others nestle in the most breath-taking spots.Best described as an ‘eco-luxe’ resort, JapaMala transcends the experience of living close to nature by redefining it with a touch of luxury. Designed by natural streams, steep cliffs, towering boulders and where no trees are felled, the entire resort borrows from nature its elements to offer an exceptional sense of paradise, freedom from the real world. While serious relaxation is an elusive commodity for many, one can truly succumb to the healing effects JapaMala imparts through its holistic blend of sumptuous gourmet treats, intimacy between man and nature, unique spa experiences and truly unprecedented hospitality. Many say JapaMala is not just a place, but a state of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JapaMala Resort - A Samadhi Retreats Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Japamala Hotel Pulau Tioman
Japamala Resort
Japamala Pulau Tioman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JapaMala Resort - A Samadhi Retreats Property, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.