We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in ABC beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tioman Dive Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tioman Dive Resort to your Saves list
Tioman Dive Resort
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kampung Air Batang (akka ABC) | Tioman Island, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia (Formerly B&J Dive Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Pulau Tioman B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel in ABC beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My sisters and I spent 2 nights in this hotel on August 2013. It was a great place to stay, nice and clean room. We also enjoyed our diving with Ella, the diving instructor from this hotel. I will recommend this hotel to anyone who plan to visit ABC (Air Batang Bay) village in Tioman either for staying and/or diving.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Ritter, Owner at Tioman Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Susie,

Thanks so much for your nice review and that you recommend our Tioman Dive Resort to anyone who plans to stay in ABC Bay (or generally on Tioman Island).

We're looking forward to having you with us soon again.

Best wishes,

Martin Ritter
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

very clean, daily maid service. Good air conditioning. Bathroom nice and good shower, toiletries nice touch. The dive centre is busy but plenty of instructors. James and Nic are superb instructors who go the extra mile with their students. Got my husband through his open water diving. Visits to dive sites on boats well organised and ran well by all the team.

Nice grounds with lots of wondeful wild life, butterflies as big as your hand, monkeys, squirrels, bats, dragon flies, sea eagles...
Beaches beautiful watch out for sand flies though where jungle fever or stay off sand! Go to sunset boulevard for dinner, try a Vikki Vikki.

Room Tip: stayed in room 1, 2, and 6. Room 6 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Ritter, Owner at Tioman Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hi and thanks for the review!

We're glad that you had a good time with us and would generally agree that Room 6 was the one with the best view. This has changed in the meantime we have a second building with 5 more rooms and it's Room 11 that has now the nicest view. The new rooms are by the way even larger, have even nicer bathrooms and the same comfort as rooms 1 to 6.

Tropical Greetings,

Martin Ritter
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

My family of four spent five nights here and loved it. The dive center is very busy, helpful, friendly, organized, knowledgeable. The room was spacious, modern, clean and had all the amenities you could want. The beds are comfy and bathroom clean. The water sometimes stopped but the staff had that fixed in minutes when they were notified (pump issue). It was a refreshing change to the other Malaysian places we stayed in that are bare-bones, outdated and don't really care about service. Unfortunately the beach isn't that great but it's full of sand flies so you don't really want to be there. There is a real warm atmosphere at this place and they make everyone feel welcome. And Yogi the dog is very cute! I would definitely recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Ritter, Owner at Tioman Dive Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed review. It's great that you loved our place and for your information, we have in the meantime installed back-up pumps and since then there was not a single water interruption.

Yogi the Dog and all the rest of the team send you their tropical regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great facilities, friendly staff, impeccably clean. This resort is faultless and easily one of the most high-class resorts on the island. It is also adjacent to the dive centre, which is very handy. I loved every minute of my stay here and would definitely return again! Great value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We love this place! We just got back from a week there. The entire family (me, my wife, and our 11 & 13 year old daughters) got the PADi Open Water Certification. The room was great and the convenience to the dive center cannot be beat. Our instructor Megan Humphreys at B&J was fantastic! She was always supportive and helpful but cut no corners!!! My girls especially had a GREAT experience. They have gone from no experience to dive enthusiasts over the course of a week. The whole staff both at the resort and the dive masters etc. were very helpful.
The niche for this place is people who at any level of experience want to dive and would have been fine staying in a hostel at 21. However in our 40s we really prefer to have decent sheets and a clean bathroom.
Note if you are not interested in diving or at the very least snorkeling, you should stay somewhere else. This is really the hub of quality diving activity for Tioman & ABC. At certain times of the day the activity organizing dive boats etc. is overwhelming.
I think a few folks find this place on the internet and see it as reasonably priced place to stay and see Tioman. It is really pretty far from any other activity. There is a great international flavor in this place but the folks here eat, sleep and live scuba diving. If you have no interest you will be bored. Don’t get me wrong were absolute novices coming in the door and folks could not have been more helpful and friendly. If you want to “give diving a shot” I cannot imagine a better place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and love this hotel. First of all, air conditioning and hot showers were a must for me as Tioman is rather hot and humid. The island is very simple and beautiful and a wonderful place to relax. Tioman Dive Resort is basically a very nice new motel with outstanding well appointed clean rooms. I would recommend staying here even if you don't dive but if you do, it's even better. B & J dive is just steps away and they offer awesome guided trips with highly trained dive masters and great equipment. After time in the water, you can hang your stuff to dry on racks outside of each room. The folks at the hotel and dive center are the best and can help you with almost anything. This area of Tioman (ABC) is chill with nice restaurants and places to gather for drinks in the evening. I will definitely stay here on my next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin_Ritter, Owner at Tioman Dive Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Carl,
It was an absolute pleasure to having you stay with us at Tioman Dive Resort and we're all looking forward to your next visit. We always strive to provide the best service possible and to ensure that our rooms are well maintained. Rest assured that by the next time you come to Tioman Island our guest rooms will look (and feel) the same or even better.

Your Tioman Dive Resort / B&J Diving Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 4 nights and had a great time. The rooms are vey new and very, very clean! Also staff is extremely friendly and we felt very welcomed. I would definitely recommend going there to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tioman Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tioman Dive Resort

Address: Kampung Air Batang (akka ABC) | Tioman Island, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia (Formerly B&J Dive Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tioman Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tioman Dive Resort (TDR) is right behind B&J Diving Centre located in Air Batang Bay (ABC Bay) on Tioman Island. The resort offers by far the best rooms in northern Tioman. All rooms are non-smoking and equipped with Air-Conditioning, Ceiling Fan, LED/LCD TV, DVD Player, Satellite TV channels, Fridge, Personal Safe, Hair Dryer, Wardrobe, Balcony. TDR is owned and operated by B&J Diving Centre, a leading PADI 5 Star IDC Centre which is offering all PADI scuba diving courses as well as daily dive excursions for already certified divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tioman Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tioman Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.