We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely laid back place with super helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Impiana Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Impiana Inn to your Saves list
Impiana Inn
Lot 18, Kampung Genting, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Pulau Tioman B&B and Inns
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely laid back place with super helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had blissfully relaxing three night stay at the Impiana Inn. Stayed in deluxe chalets which were great, although fitting an extra bed in the kids' chalet was a squeeze, and the mattress was just a thin roll up on the floor. Other than that, the beds were great, the air con was excellent and the chalets were clean. The staff were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble for them and they organised snorkelling and fishing trips for us. The chef even cooked the fish we caught for our dinner. Don't understand why people don't seem to eat there in the evening as the food was great. There's also a great Chinese pace just behind Impiana. Head to the south end of the beach for the nicest sand and snorkelling.

Room Tip: Chalet one has the best sea view but is by the main "road" - the path down which motorcycl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Impiana inn is set in a garden just off Kampung Genting's Southern beach, about a five minute walk to the village and a stones throw from the beach.

The immediate grounds of Impiana are very well maintained, unfortunately the resort owners of Genting Village tend to only keep just their patch clean and in between resorts there are some areas, which would otherwise be very scenic,covered in rubbish. Its hard to say if this is due to the locals or tourists, but its really unnecessary and something that could be tackled with a little concerted effort from the business owners of the village. Having said that, its my only complaint about Genting, an area of Tioman which is strangely unpopular with Western tourists. Lonely Planet slated the area, damning it for the concrete area around the jetty and its lacklustre beach. True, there are one or two structures around the jetty area of questionable aesthetics but absolutely nothing on the level of Tekek or even Salang. The rest of the area has a quiet village feel to it. As for the beach, while the Northern Beach may be rocky and not great for swimming, its really beautiful with lots of spectacular boulder formations. The Southern beach is seriously underrated, really large expanses of sand at all tides and some great swimming areas at the very end by the headland. Genting's location is great for some easy trekking also, to the North there is a beautiful mostly paved track leading to Melina Resort and then on to Paya beach. To the South a more untamed path leading to a scenic deserted beach. We walked all the way to Tekek, foolishly wearing flip flops, which took two hours. On the way between Paya and Tekek there is a really stunning beach, Bunut, completely deserted other than a caretaker who looks after the beach as its a designated turtle sanctuary.

Impiana is really not worth mentioning on the food front, they have no dedicated chef and the breakfast is laughable, luckily the village is so close. Food in Genting is somewhat limited, at the jetty there is five food stalls selling simple Malay dishes, really cheap and quite tasty. There is also a couple of burger stalls and another selling Ikan Bakar (grilled fish) and satay. Heading North there is a nice Chinese restaurant selling home cooked style Chinese cuisine, the food is simple, fresh and a lot of the vegetables are grown in the adjacent garden. The staff are really lovely and its a great option in the evening as you can also purchase alcohol here. Further North up the path just before the final resort, Genting Bayu, are two small stalls selling Malay fast food and burgers. The first stall also does Nasi Campur at lunchtime (basically a Malay style mini buffet) its a great place to sample home cooked local cuisine. Really delicious. These stalls open quite late into the night as they mostly cater for the local villagers. One thing I have to praise the food in Genting for is that it caters to the local tastes more than the likes of ABC or Juara. I like my food spicy and I was well catered for. ;-)

Nightlife in Genting is very quiet. At the Sun Beach resort by the jetty there is a small beach bar and heading North towards the end of the village is a lovely beach bar called Bar Rumah. Bar Rumah's owner, Zaidi is a local and he has really done an amazing job decorating the place. He sleeps above the bar and is willing to keep the place open fairly late as long as there's customers about. Prettiest bar on Tioman in my opinion.

The rooms in Impiana are tiny but clean, the bathrooms are large and while nothing particularly special, are at a much higher standard than most places on Genting, ABC and Salang. The cleaning, maintenance and hospitality staff are incredibly welcoming, all of them really genuine in their interactions with the guests and very sociable. I'd have to say they really make the place what it is. An interesting aside is that Impiana is owned by one of Malaysia's leading kidney specialists, hence the dialysis facilities present at the resort. Many of the staff are actually the children of the owners patients, which I thought was quite touching.

I think Impiana would do well to hire a full time chef and maintain a regular food service. Offering the odd meal here and there is unreliable, on both occasions we were offered a meal we had already made prior plans. Other than that I can't really fault the place too much, rooms could do with a lick of paint but Tioman is all about enjoying the surrounding nature and not lounging around in your room.

I would definitely return to Genting and Impiana again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batu Pahat, Johor, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Food preparation too casual, Only 1-3 dish meal choices. Management of the reception was confusing. Suggest that you do not take their package include meals. Room sound insulation is not very well, others are also acceptable. If you just want a very simple accommodation is generally acceptable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is my bad experience with this chalet,my trip vacation is ruined and become worst by one old Chinese lady,(the chalet manager).

Without respect people,keep on shouted on her staff.Make us feel we are not welcome to this place.The morning breakfast also do not meet the good quality of food serving.The facility is not well maintained and running down.

I do not know which planet this old chinese lady came from,If she tried to talk nicely to customer,we can accept it but when people do not show a respect to people especially the customers,there is something wrong with this place.But the staff is ok and give the best service as they can.

For sure this my last visit to this chalet and giving me a very worst experience with them

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

When we first arrived there was a glitch with a double booking but Mrs Kee and Gusman ensured all was fixed for us. Mrs Kee and Gusman are always so friendly, helpful, happy and funny. Breakfasts were quite basic but varied from day to day.
They helped with ideas of how to get the most out of our stay and one night Mrs Kee offered to make our group of six a Malaysian curry for dinner one night. It was delicious.

Rooms are basic but clean enough with nice bright bathrooms, comfy beds and aircon. We had rooms 1,2 & 3.
Great location on the beach, out of the village but a short stroll.

Room Tip: Room one is best there, or rooms 2 to 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Visited Tioman in August and stayed in Impiana Inn
The rooms were decent, nothing to shout about
But the staff were really great..
Especially Shankar, Andy. Babu, Ali
These 4 guys really took care of every one of our need.
Thanks for the hospitality guys..
Hope to visit you guys soon..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I enjoyed my time here - after I got over the initial shock of how much rubbish there was on Genting beach. The little white chalets are set around a big piece of lawn - separated from each other so you don't hear your neighbours. The standard chalets don't have windows - just shutters, but they do have nice netting curtains that you can pull across the windows for privacy while getting fresh air. The staff are all very friendly. I feel that the lack of a chef is a problem - but if you walk to the pier or further along the path you will find plenty of places to eat. This is the best end of the beach to be staying at - away from the packed-in 'resorts' that fill up on weekends/holidays with locals on package tours.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Impiana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Inn

Address: Lot 18, Kampung Genting, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Impiana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Impiana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.